Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.914295
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

Michelle ChicagoMom - User308301 - I’m not sure if you have a Son/Daughter/Husband/Wife in the military – but if you do shame on you! My son just returned from a 9 month deployed protecting our freedom (yours too) and Molly’s Adopt a Sailor brought his ship happiness during a very very long deployment by send care packages (filled with all kinds of things from magazines, candy, food snacks, cards, socks, shaving kits, shampoo, body wash, ladies products my list could go on) to the ship. Molly’s Adopt a Sailor is just not for the Navy, but Air Force, Army, Marines and Coast Guard. We are all volunteers and 100% of every dollar raised goes directly to supporting our deployed military by sending these care packages from home all over the world. Molly’s wants our deployed military Men/Women to know that there sacrifices are appreciated and to know that they are loved, missed and not forgotten. It is hard for our deployed Men/Women to miss family/friends events but they know they have a job to do yes a job to do protecting our freedom. As for your comment that this group is ran by a group of emotional military moms – that may be true and thank God it is. This group is passion, emotional about giving back and doesn’t expect anything in return. So please don’t forget to include ours passion/emotional group of Dads, Wife’s, Husbands, Sons, Daughters, Brothers, Sisters, Aunts, Uncles and Cousins that come out to volunteer.

Molly’s adopts a Sailor ROCKS! I’m honored to be a part of this wonderful group. So User 308301 consider me Emotional as well as Passion about volunteering my time for our Men and Women serving our country!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

I have been volunteering with Molly's Adopt a Sailor since 2010. It has become a passion for me to help our deployed troops know that they are not forgotten and that their service is appreciated and needed. My son has been out of the Navy for almost a year now but I continue to support MAS and send care packages and pillowcases to the deployed heroes and the combat hospitals. Getting Thank You's from those who have received them is just blessings I never expect!

Not every service member has a loving supportive family waiting on them or some can't afford to send needed items to those who are deployed and that is where Molly's Adopt a Sailor helps! MAS supports all branches!

MAS may have started out as a group of Navy moms but it is such a diverse group now. There are moms, dads, aunts, uncles, grandparents, siblings, friends and just those who support our military who are involved now. I am from Oklahoma and I have friends who live all over the USA with one thing in common...we all support our military!

Whoever wrote the negative comment should be ashamed that they are spreading gossip! Unless you were there and witnessed this so called misappropriation of funds, then you have no business trying to smear the good work that MAS does!

To all of our military, present, past and future, THANK YOU FOR YOUR SERVICE!!! As long as you need us, we will be here supporting you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It is a great organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

I became aware of Molly shortly after our son completed Navy Boot back in 2009. Through her ALL our Military benefit from the donations and generosity of this organization! We are constantly in motion providing support from cards and letters to packages to homemade with love pillowcases and blankets for all our service men and women.
This is a 100% full on give it all to our Military Personnel group of people. I know that the Admins of this organization try to do all for all and do the best they can to distribute funding where needed.
Very PROUD to be member of this organization and what it represents.
Lynne M.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 23, 2014

more

February 23, 2014

Molly's Adopt a Sailor is a fantastic all volunteer group. 100% of every dollar raised goes directly to supporting our deployed military by sending care packages from home.

I am offended by the comments posted by "user308301". The group is not comprised of a group of "emotional military
moms". Dad, husbands, brothers and sisters are all members of the group. The majority of the volunteers have degrees and advanced degrees. The group is organized and refined.
No funds were ever used or misused by anyone in this group. 100% of every dollar supports our military!
As a volunteer I can testify that we care deeply about the happiness & welfare of all of our deployed military. In addition to the military units that contact Molly's for a monthly adoption, Molly's also supports several combat hospitals, assisting with their special requests.

The motto "We Ship Love" is 100% accurate for this fantastic group of volunteers!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get more media coverage for all of the good works done every month.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Molly's is a great concept but ran with too much emotion and lack of expertise. Funds have been misappropriately used and donations from companies for the group to hand out have been used far to often for some of the moms "kids." It has been reported that during a trip to san diego a group of molly's moms bought many alcoholic drinks for marines and sailors at a well known restaurant, half of which were underage. It was said that there was a bit too much partying and favoritism involved. There is a lot of bias involved which is somewhat understandable from a group ran by emotional military moms. It is a fantastic concept and a group full of big hearted people. I hope to see some changes in the future and their overall goal is a great concept.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be much more organized and fair across the board.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unlikely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 21, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

Molly's Adopt a Sailor is a group of military Moms who check out a new adoption each month and send care packages to deployed sailors, soldiers, Marines, Air Force and even Coasties. It is so much fun... more

February 21, 2014

It's not only a great feeling to send some much needed items to our military around the world, but sometimes you even get back a thank you and it just makes you feel great. I have been a fairly regular participant for two years. Molly's Adopt a Sailor has a great mission to all our military and is a project that really makes their day!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think everything runs smoothly and there is lots of helpful information to help new participants get started. When a question is asked it gets answered quickly. The organizers do a great job. If there is any way for them to improve, they will figure it out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

Molly's Adopt a Sailor is a group of military Moms who check out a new adoption each month and send care packages to deployed sailors, soldiers, Marines, Air Force and even Coasties. It is so much fun that I'm addicted! I was in charge of one of the adoptions this summer. Now I'm even doing the Special Hugs project most months by sending packages to some military hospitals overseas. Whether we send one box or organize a packing party with many boxes being prepared, it's something I look forward to each month. Each Mom of the Month tries to bring out the fun in each adoption so our military are best served by our efforts. Some of the thank you's have included comments like "I haven't received any mail in months. Thanks for your package!" It's very satisfying to know we have lifted their spirits and let them know they're not forgotten. Molly's is a great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 21, 2014

more

February 21, 2014

It continually is an honor and a privilege to volunteer with Molly's Adopt a Sailor. Through the efforts of our volunteers we manage to cover adoptions of every type imaginable. From our first of 250, to a largest of over 2,300, our volunteers group together across the entire country to send love to our deployed troops of all military branches, and our overseas hospitals. We sew pillowcases, we collect goodies requested, we pack boxes every month, and we sometimes end up adopting a recipient as a family member.

The sense of family cannot be stressed enough. I have met and made the best friends through our volunteer work. While we know we cannot always hear back from those who receive our boxes or pillowcases, we know in our hearts that our work is appreciated. When someone is able to write or email, the thank you's literally make us tear up.

Come join us for warm fuzzies through your volunteer work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 21, 2014

more

February 21, 2014

I have now organized five Molly's Adopt a Sailor "packing parties." Through donations of needed and desired items for the military, we've sent shipments of 2, 6, 45, 65, and 76 boxes. It just gets better as word spreads to the public. Our military loves MAS and so does our community. It's a great way to be involved and feel helpful and hopeful. My American Legion Auxiliary donates a place to hold our party; churches, schools, banks, Girl Scouts, Boy Scouts, military veterans and families, other civic organizations, and individuals have all become involved donating and packing the day of the party. MAS has helped with all the information we need to be successful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
July 23, 2012

Molly's Adopt A Sailor has been a truly amazing experience. We adopt a deployed unit every month, support combat hospitals in Afghanistan, and do Welcome Home events. We have moms who sew pillowcases ... more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Molly's Adopt A Sailor continues to demonstrate to all our deployed troops that their service and sacrifice are appreciated. We want them to know that they are loved and not forgotten. We adopt large groups, small groups, and Combat Support Hospitals in Afghanistan. We do this with the special bond that we are all military moms. We continue to be 100% volunteer and 100% of all donations goes to our troops.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

Molly's Adopt A Sailor has been a truly amazing experience. We adopt a deployed unit every month, support combat hospitals in Afghanistan, and do Welcome Home events. We have moms who sew pillowcases so each month every adoptee receives one. We recruit family and friends to bring supplies to packing parties where boxes are filled for shipping. This group is 100% volunteer and 100% of all funds received are used to purchase items requested by the troops and to ship those items. The thank you notes we receive, bring us all close to tears. It is, indeed, an honor and a privilege to be a part of this wonderful organization. It is also an honor to make a difference in the lives of our deployed troops.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

Molly's Adopt a Sailor is a great organization! Each month they "adopt" a deployed military group (or groups) and send a little bit of love from home! Some times it is just cards and letters, other times it is pillowcases, candy, personal care items. One year we sent a Christmas tree! Since I am married to a retired Navy Chief, I know how much these little acts of kind mean to our troops so far from home! Great organization to be a part of!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers