Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.952385
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

This organization has been an integral catalyst with respect to my teaching and my environmental awareness and activism. I've attended workshops and Summer institutes, participated in contests and programs, all meaningful and valuable. The staff are knowledgable and very helpful. Their newsletter is top notch and their communication...timely. Hands down the best non-profit I've ever been associated with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to include southern Kern County.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

When I was a school principal my students loved MEEC essay contests and often won. MEEC would have, and still has, celebrations for students and field trips and trainings for teachers. At the end of the year they honor teachers. Most of what they do is free or low cost. They support girls in science and other fields. I'm glad our community has MEEC.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make use of more retirees and volunteers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

MEEC is an amazing organization that provides opportunities for our students that we may otherwise not taken advantage of. We have received transportation grants to a variety of places that deal with STEM activities. I have attended workshops where supplies were given to us for classroom use (I teach science). Members of MEEC are on our board of directors for the STEM Academy at Barstow High school. I have used the environmental curriculum developed by MEEC professionals in my classroom. I am so thankful I have become involved with this program my students have benefited tremendously.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people involved.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

My experience with MEEC has been entirely positive. MEEC connects industry leaders with educational groups to promote environmental education for students. MEEC provides Youth Environmental Educational Seminars for students and recognizes teachers of excellence in environmental education.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

If you take the time to become involved in MEEC it is very apparent and does not take long to see the dedication and passion that MEEC, its sponsors and educators have… not only towards the environment but more importantly towards the environmental stewards of tomorrow…our children. With the uncertainty in today’s budgets and the strain placed on teachers everywhere ….MEEC is providing relevant curriculum and funds for our classrooms. MEEC also places emphasis on Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics just another reason why their corporate sponsors support them. These programs are training our children for the future.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Several of our teachers and dozens of our students have benefited greatly from working with MEEC. The Youth Environmental Leadership Conference gave our students the opportunity to practice valuable skills including creativity, collaboration, and communication. Teachers have taken advantage of several opportunities for professional development, including desert photography and environmental studies. I am proud that Discovery School is working with MEEC!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

MEEC is an amazing organization!! They have provided me an insight on ways to spread awareness. In addition, many opportunities to take my students on field trips, enter contests, for rewards, and ... more

September 4, 2013

MEEC is an outstanding organization! They offer many opportunities for both student and the teacher. I was taken back by the measures that the specialists have taken to provide insight, with respect to STEM curriculum. I have been to many fantastic workshops, that allow me to expose my students to various , hands on methods of instruction. In addition, I was given a list of organizations that were willing to come to the classroom and make toothpaste! So many students left school that day, eager to become scientists. Furthermore, I was lucky enough to attend Keystone Science School over the summer. I am at a loss for words! It was an amazing experience! One of which I have taken to my classroom, daily! I can't remember teaching before I found MEEC. I can assure you it has made me love my job even more!

Heather Hansen
Third Grade Teacher
Esperanza Elementary

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

MEEC is an amazing organization!! They have provided me an insight on ways to spread awareness. In addition, many opportunities to take my students on field trips, enter contests, for rewards, and classroom visits. I was so impressed with all of the curriculum I was offered, for my classroom. Many of the materials are from garden ideas, coupled with grant opportunities, to NASA and space information. Everything provided is age appropriate, and everyone is so friendly and eager to help in any way. Also, my students have always looked forward to the "Going Green" poster contest, as well as, the many essays made available, for a reward. Lastly, my last classroom visit, was amazing!! My students were able to make toothpaste from sodium carbonate. They added food coloring, and flavoring. They learned about the MOHS hardness scale. They were so excited about that lesson. Many walked away saying that they wanted to be a scientist when they grew up. I am extremely pleased, and I feel very blessed to have found this organization, with respect to the classroom environment!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

When I was the principal of Victoria Magathan Elementary in the Adelanto School District, I always advertised your contests and opportunities to the students and teachers. I was so proud when my students won essay and other contests and were awarded with certificates and ceremonies and were featured in the Daily Press. Your end of the year dinner honoring outstanding teachers (one of mine) was also inspirational. I love how you work in tandem with the schools and districts to educate students, teachers, and administrators on the environment. My hat is off to you! Dr. Mary Thompson

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers