Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.951225
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

An organization that ensures STEM is an integral part of learning beginning in the lower elementary education and beyond. I am an educator that has taught grades 1 - 8. As a first, second and third grade teacher over multiple years MEEC equipped and enhanced my abilities to educate the students in earth, life and environmental sciences. MEEC provided training, resources for both teacher and students, Expert Presenters and busing to community businesses where students were provided hands on real life experiences of the sciences. Past students have excelled in Middle and High School sciences due to the strong foundation that began in 1st grade! The emphasis on STEM and ensuring that educators are provided funding and resources in a format easily adapted to the mandates and standards of the district and state at no cost to small cost ensures future students will be equipped to enhance our world. Truly and organization that needs to be recognized for actively partnering with educators to ensure we have future scientists equipped to enhance the environment and living for all.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change but enhance the organization would be my goal. Enhancing by getting more community businesses to partner with them to equip with more funding, resources and experts from all the science fields so more students can be touched and the hidden scientists ignited in elementary schools.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

As an 8th grade Science teacher, MEEC has been a huge resource for helping us. They have many hands-on trainings throughout the year, they are a huge component with our STEM teaching by actually having a wonderfully planned Symposium, and they have helped us take our students on a field trip to actually see what is going on in our desert and how NASA and JPL work together using the Goldstone Deep Space Network. MEEC continues to work tirelessly to send us updated information regarding the statewide initiatives as well as what's going on in our neighborhood. They are much appreciated!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Show more appreciation to their staff.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

MEEC is a great resource for myself as a high school earth science teacher. Most classes and resources are free or low cost. The activities lessons are great hands-on for my students. One year I received the bus bucks grant to take a 100 high school students to the Angeles National Forest to study faults. There just isn't money for high school science programs and field trips. It was great to have that opportunity.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

MEEC is an outstanding resource for educators in the High Desert area. They are a point of contact for everything environmental. From their library of books, videos, and other assorted items, to their excellent field trips that may last from a few hours to a few days, MEEC is your answer to anything environmentally related. From Christy to Samantha, the staff at MEEC are always friendly, available, and want to help you.

I have used their library, I have gone to many workshops, I have invited guest speakers to my classroom through MEEC, and I will continue to be a great supporter and user of MEEC. Finally, their big event is the Youth Environmental Leadership Conference. While I have not yet been able to attend this with my students, this year I am hoping to get a group of students together to go.

Keep up the great work MEEC!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of a way to change the organization. The fact that they have corporate supporters that are very generous to MEEC is huge, and without their financial support, it would very difficult to offer all the services that they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

This organization helps educators resources for free. They provide workshops for teachers and grants to help with purchasing material for science related lessons! Excellent organization!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 20, 2014

more

February 20, 2014

This is one of the best sources to find help with environmental curriculum, materials, and teacher professional development in the high desert. It has provided workshops for me as a teacher as well as workshops for my students. Every one of their events has been a success.

Mrs.
Houk
Pathways to College Teacher

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

MEEC is an outstanding orgnization that works closley with High Desert educators to provide them with many opportunities that they are then able to share with their students back in the classrooms.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

MEEC provides outstanding (and generally free!) resources to our teachers for the benefit of students at all grade levels. In addition, their activities are not only educational and socially responsi... more

October 2, 2013

MEEC provides not only outstanding written and electronic resources to teachers and students, but also provides wonderful professional development opportunities, scholarships, and events. They are a great organization, and one which I would heartily recommend to others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Even wider dissemination of their resources.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

MEEC provides outstanding (and generally free!) resources to our teachers for the benefit of students at all grade levels. In addition, their activities are not only educational and socially responsible, they are also very engaging. The staff are both professional and caring and we so appreciate them!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

I was introduced to MEEC several years ago, and I have nothing but WONDERFUL things to say about them. As a teacher, they have provided me with a wealth of resources to educate myself and my students on relative issues in my own community and our environment! They provide free teacher workshops (after school hours) that are awesome! Not only do they educate those of us that attend, but they also feed us dinner AND provide the materials to use what we've learned in our classroom. They provide funding for field trips that may not have taken place without them. This gives our students real life experiences that they need. They also provide opportunities for teachers to gain hands on experience that enables them to teach with enthusiasm in their classrooms. They also send us information on contests for our students, both writing and art contests, that motivate the students to participate and gain knowledge on environmental issues. I can't say enough good things about the organization and ALL of their staff members!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of even one thing that I would change!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

MEEC is a wonderful organization. They have provided me with a variety of professional development opportunities. Each experience has been practical, educational, and included materials for me to ta... more

September 5, 2013

I have had many positive experiences with MEEC. The organization is focused on increasing awareness of local environmental issues and they seek to do so through a variety of ways. I have benefited from professional development workshops that they offer for teachers. My students have benefitted from essay and project competitions, scholarships, and hands on workshops that MEEC has sponsored. One opportunity in particular that makes a huge impact on students is their annual YELC, Youth Environmental Leadership Conference. Students are challenged to come up with their own environmental project ideas and supported by teachers and local business partners to make their ideas come to life. The most exciting part of the project is that students are tasks with taking what they've learn and using it to inform others about it, so that the community as a whole benefits. I always look forward to the next opportunity to work with MEEC.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would expand their program to include additional student and teacher development opportunities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

MEEC is a wonderful organization. They have provided me with a variety of professional development opportunities. Each experience has been practical, educational, and included materials for me to take back to the classroom. We are fortunate to have such a dedicated and committed organization here in the high desert.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers