Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.952385
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 27, 2014

more

August 27, 2014

MEEC is an invaluable resource for teachers. They offer FREE workshops for teachers and hands-on curriculum for our students. They encourage us to use EEI curiculum the materials and lesson plans help keep teaching FUN and keeps our students engaged. The EEI curriculum challenges our students to learn vocabulary and to be caretakers of Earth, animals and plants and their own surroundings. We are very fortunate to have them here for us. My class was awared Enviro-bucks last year to take a field trip to Forever Wild. They provided the money needed for the 2 buses that took our 4 first grade classes on that field trip. We do not have money for field trips so we were VERY APPRECIATIVE of the opportunity!
August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

An organization that ensures STEM is an integral part of learning beginning in the lower elementary education and beyond. I am an educator that has taught grades 1 - 8. As a first, second and third grade teacher over multiple years MEEC equipped and enhanced my abilities to educate the students in earth, life and environmental sciences. MEEC provided training, resources for both teacher and students, Expert Presenters and busing to community businesses where students were provided hands on real life experiences of the sciences. Past students have excelled in Middle and High School sciences due to the strong foundation that began in 1st grade! The emphasis on STEM and ensuring that educators are provided funding and resources in a format easily adapted to the mandates and standards of the district and state at no cost to small cost ensures future students will be equipped to enhance our world. Truly and organization that needs to be recognized for actively partnering with educators to ensure we have future scientists equipped to enhance the environment and living for all.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change but enhance the organization would be my goal. Enhancing by getting more community businesses to partner with them to equip with more funding, resources and experts from all the science fields so more students can be touched and the hidden scientists ignited in elementary schools.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

As an 8th grade Science teacher, MEEC has been a huge resource for helping us. They have many hands-on trainings throughout the year, they are a huge component with our STEM teaching by actually having a wonderfully planned Symposium, and they have helped us take our students on a field trip to actually see what is going on in our desert and how NASA and JPL work together using the Goldstone Deep Space Network. MEEC continues to work tirelessly to send us updated information regarding the statewide initiatives as well as what's going on in our neighborhood. They are much appreciated!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Show more appreciation to their staff.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

MEEC is a great resource for myself as a high school earth science teacher. Most classes and resources are free or low cost. The activities lessons are great hands-on for my students. One year I received the bus bucks grant to take a 100 high school students to the Angeles National Forest to study faults. There just isn't money for high school science programs and field trips. It was great to have that opportunity.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

This organization has been an integral catalyst with respect to my teaching and my environmental awareness and activism. I've attended workshops and Summer institutes, participated in contests and programs, all meaningful and valuable. The staff are knowledgable and very helpful. Their newsletter is top notch and their communication...timely. Hands down the best non-profit I've ever been associated with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to include southern Kern County.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

MEEC is a wonderful resource to have in our community. I know first hand about the benefits of the many programs, competitions, and workshops that they provide. The staff of MEEC, have went out of their way to make sure that my students who wanted to do so could participate. My students have gained valuable experience with S.T.E.M. through the YELC conference, mini grants that have provided us with the funding needed to do scientific investigations, the Solar Oven competitions which my students worked all year long to build a solar oven that would meet the requirements and then go to participate in a live event that put their learning to the test. Moreover, the Envirobus grants are super! In the past I have gotten to take my students to the Fort Irwin Base to learn about our desert habitats and how the Natives of the land lived and what type of technology they used. In addition, the teacher of the year, teacher of excellence, and student of the year program is heart-wrenching and amazing to participate in. I have had student participate in the essay and video contests as well. The teacher workshops that are provided are exceptional, and you can tell that the leadership: Ms. Christie, Ms. Samantha, and Ms. Roberta really believe in what they do. I have found no other non profit to match what MEEC does for us as educators and parents in our community. And I could go on and on about how grateful I am to be able to participate in the many programs that they offer, and as to how it has opened the eyes of the students that we serve to be knowledgeable and capable of competing in the future at a higher level. Thank you MEEC!!! Thank you sponsored, I am much obliged.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the awareness, and show people how really easy it is to get their students involved. However, it is up to those who believe in the vision to put forth an effort to make it happen for their students.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

MEEC is an outstanding resource for educators in the High Desert area. They are a point of contact for everything environmental. From their library of books, videos, and other assorted items, to their excellent field trips that may last from a few hours to a few days, MEEC is your answer to anything environmentally related. From Christy to Samantha, the staff at MEEC are always friendly, available, and want to help you.

I have used their library, I have gone to many workshops, I have invited guest speakers to my classroom through MEEC, and I will continue to be a great supporter and user of MEEC. Finally, their big event is the Youth Environmental Leadership Conference. While I have not yet been able to attend this with my students, this year I am hoping to get a group of students together to go.

Keep up the great work MEEC!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of a way to change the organization. The fact that they have corporate supporters that are very generous to MEEC is huge, and without their financial support, it would very difficult to offer all the services that they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

When I was a school principal my students loved MEEC essay contests and often won. MEEC would have, and still has, celebrations for students and field trips and trainings for teachers. At the end of the year they honor teachers. Most of what they do is free or low cost. They support girls in science and other fields. I'm glad our community has MEEC.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make use of more retirees and volunteers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

This organization helps educators resources for free. They provide workshops for teachers and grants to help with purchasing material for science related lessons! Excellent organization!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

MEEC has supported educators in the high desert and is well known for its amazing and relevant environmental curriculum. They also directly and indirectly affect members of the public in many positive ways! MEEC hosts YELC which has greatly influenced and educate my daughters! The Youth Environmental Leadership Conference addresses dozens of stewardship topics for a wide range of age groups. It educates kids and inspires them to take ownership and action in the conservatorship of our world/communities and resources. My family truly appreciates all of their efforts!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more funding! and let them run even more programs!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers