Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
1234.428575
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a loyal and enthusiastic donor to the Mohonk Preserve since 1972. It has provided a place of respite from my busy workaday life and served as a spectacular destination for my out of town guests. Over the years, my appreciation for the value of the Preserve has only increased. I especially admire their conservation and education programs. If we don't teach our children and grandchildren to value and protect the natural environment, it won't matter what we do ourselves. The Nature Conservancy honored the Shawangunk Ridge by tagging it as one of the "Last Great Places." It truly is a special place and deserves all of our effort to protect it for future generations. I plan to do my part.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help it to increase its donor base so it can continue and expand its conservation, stewardship, and education programs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

We are Ulster County residents and neighbors of the Mohonk Preserve. We donated property to the Preserve precisely because we have such faith in its stewardship of the acreage it owns and our satisfaction over many years with its conservation ethic. This opinion was formed in over 50+ years of climbing, hiking and nature appreciation at the Preserve.

We are Clove Road owners and residents because the Preserve exists. Without its protection of nearly 8000 acres, development and commercial ventures would have long since destroyed our interest in being here.

b & a angrist

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope for additional members and donors to support its mission now and in the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 31, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 31, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been an ardent member of the Mohonk Preserve since the fall of 1972. During these years, I have hiked, skied, bicycled, rock climbed, and currently volunteer weekly on one of their trail crews. I and my family look forward to many more years of enjoying the wonders of the Shawangunk Ridge now protected by the Mohonk Preserve and it's members, donors, volunteers and staff. The Mohonk Preserve's efforts to educate, protect and preserve insure that we will be able to continue enjoying this significant environmental resource for generations to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have lived in the Hudson Valley since 1973. My relationship with the Preserve has involved the following: i hike and snow shoe on Preserve property, my children have been positively impacted through Preserve education programs in the New Paltz school district, my business was the first Business Member supporter of organization . I am a local resident and proud Donor

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I am a donor whose livelihood is dependent on the Mohonk Preserve. That said, I have spent a tremendous amount of time on the Preserve since the early 1980s and have been impressed with their stewardship of the land as well as the recreational opportunities they offer. I am grateful for their outreach to the residents of surrounding communities and to schools in our region promoting and teaching the ideals that, If embraced, would lead to a better world. A world of beauty, adventure, friendship, community, and shared responsibility.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue on the current path protecting lands and access.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I'm a land owner that borders Mohonk Preserve. Negative issues that lead many to believe donating to this organization needs a thorough investigation of all law suits, lack of transparency and presented facts by Mohonk Preserve.

.Tax issues with the town of New Paltz.
.High entrance
fee per person
.Answers are vague about plans around the townships they have land in
.Over reaching onto private property
.Posting on private property on a regular basis on lands that are not theirs
.Law suits with private land owners on a continual basis
.Bait and switch with OSI and other large land groups
.Inconsistency from leadership (saying one thing and then another)
.Unhappiness with paid staff who feel unable to talk about jobs for fear of loosing positions.
.No Guidestar reporting for years

Please do your homework before donating to this organization. They look VERY good on the outside with incredible adulations, money in the form of grants and donations from people like you and me. The inside is riddled with issues from leadership to rubber stamp board, growing bigger everyday.
Well meant and caring local 501(c)3 seems to have gone astray and turned into a “who cares, I see land and I want it” corporation”!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would put in leadership that has solid background in community interaction. Create trust and open dialog with all the land owners that border the Preserve. Put people on the board that ask the hard questions and are not afraid to "kick the tires" to get the facts. Listen and invite dialog from local people. I would stick to my mission statement and stay out of town business.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2010
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2010
4 people found this review helpful

I have been bringing my fourth grade class to Mohonk for education programs for about 12 years. The programs enhance my curriculum in numerous ways, including supporting my students in learning to compare and contrast, to engage in scientific observation and to create hypotheses and test them to reach conclusions. In addition, we attend several hikes throughout the year, and many of my students are visiting the preserve for the first time. My culminating activity for every year is a guided rock scramble that is often a transformative experience for my students!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

working with my students, whose lives are consistently enriched by their visits to Mohonk.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers