Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
156 Reviews
1234.852565
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I have been contributing to many charities for a long, long time. Modest Needs remains my favorite because it feels a HUGE short term need in someone's life and keeps from from losing their home, or gets their car repaired or some other short term issue. All of us need help from time to time and the idea that we would let someone fall into a terrible situation for a small amount of money is very discouraging.

MN fills that gap and does it so well that deserving people in short time situations are able to find the help they need, something they would not find anywhere else and then move with their lives.

It's a genius idea, and really my fav place to give a few extra bucks!

Hillary
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is by far my favorite charity to contribute to. Provides a very direct, personal, and impactful link with our neighbors in their time of dire need. From necessity, to impact, to effectiveness, to support network - I enjoy every interaction with this charitable organization, and whole-heartedly support Modest Needs founding objective (to help prevent people from entering the poverty cycle - with a simple one-time hand up). I cannot say enough nice things about this organization, or my experience with it.
October 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Modest Needs is AWESOME, the way they help and have helped innumerable individuals and families! I don't have much to give, but when I can afford to donate, Modest Needs comes first!
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I came across Modest Needs through a happenstance meeting with CEO Keith Taylor. His passion and dedication to Modest Needs is infectious. Becoming a donor was easy, and I always felt well taken care of by his staff. I was especially impressed with their Social Media presence. They post such uplifting, wonderful content that I anxiously look forward to seeing posts from their page. I hope that Modest Needs continues doing this great work for years to come.
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Dear Modest Needs. Thank you for serving those who work hard but don't qualify for any kind of help when an unexpected emergency threatens their livelihood. I've been a donor for a few years and feel great about making a difference in people's lives.

October 23, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I heard about Modest Needs when it was a question on Jeopardy, I look it up and what I read about how they help people who are stuggling with an unexpected financial emergency, not asking for a hand out but a hand up, made me want to be a part of the Modest Needs Foundation.
These recipients
are not asking for charity they are facing an immediate financial crisis. To give and know that you are helping honest, hard working families and Veterans that are faced with a financial need is rewarding. I believe we can make a differnce in the world 1 family at a time, Modest Needs does exactly that. I am so glad I can be apart of this charity that makes a difference on such a personal level.
September 25, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
January 23, 2013

Modest Needs is my favorite charity, and I have a monthly automatic donation applied. Needless to say, I was concerned when I saw the "Donor Advisory" recently posted. I immediately emailed the Dire... more

September 25, 2014

Modest Needs is my favorite charity. It helps individuals and families struggling to avoid a financial crisis, including automobile repossession, loss of housing, loss of utilities, and lack of medical care, from sinking into poverty, job loss, and homelessness. It is very straightforward, and you are donating person-to-person, understanding what the need is and hearing afterwards through thank you emails what you have helped these struggling families avoid. The funds go directly to the vendor for the unexpected expense that the family cannot pay and help stop the spiral of desperation into poverty. Individuals and families requesting assistance are vetted, and the funds are targeted at working families facing a crisis and returning military and veterans. A very worthwhile charity, and very personal giving.
January 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Modest Needs is my favorite charity, and I have a monthly automatic donation applied. Needless to say, I was concerned when I saw the "Donor Advisory" recently posted. I immediately emailed the Director of Modest Needs, Dr. Keith Taylor, and within an hour had a very detailed explanation of the circumstances and the perspective of his organization about the issues raised. There were follow up emails, as well, to myself and the other member of this household, who also has a monthly automatic donation. The advisory posted by Charity Navigator does not tell the full story, and if you have concerns, do not hesitate to contact Dr. Taylor and receive a very reassuring and detailed response. Both members of this household are continuing our monthly automatic contributions without concern about any possible impropriety. This is a wonderful charity that directly touches and improves the lives of many working Americans.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2012

I have an automatic monthly donation going to Modest Needs Foundation because I feel that it is an invaluable asset to those in need. Working folks facing a crisis that might result in homelessness, unemployment, or bankruptcy can apply for a donation to cover an extraordinary, unexpected debt. The recipients are vetted, and the money goes directly to the vendor to pay the debt--a medical or car repair bill, for example. You receive an email when the recipient is funded, and a thank you email from the recipient as well. If you want to impact individuals in need very directly and help working Americans avoid a catastrophe in their lives--this is the charity for you. I love this charity, as it is a very transparent organization, so you know exactly where your money is going.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have been donors at Modest Needs since 2005. I believe in helping people right here in our own country with getting a car payment made or a car repair or an unexpected high heating bill paid or whatever keeps these usually self sufficient people out of the cycle of poverty. I am sure we have all had bills come up that we did not expect that came at what seemed to be the worst time. This company checks out every claim for assistance so I know that my donation goes to pay what has been asked and nothing more. Truly people helping others who just need a helping hand for a short time. All these people are hard working folks just like me and I get to reach across the miles and just be a little sunshine in what appears to them to be a cloudy day. God bless all your donors and recipients.
August 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Being a donor to Modest Needs has enriched my life. I'm privileged to have this vehicle to identify good people with pressing needs and can help them through a temporary rough patch. The organization is transparent, efficient and effective. Please join me. In supporting Modest Needs to continue its good work. The knowledge and engagement of knowing exactly where your money is going and the uplift it gives to people going through tough times to know that there are strangers willing to help is so gratifying.o

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage donations from private foundations so they could help more people.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

Modest Needs is a wonderful organization that is there to assist the "working poor" who are normally unable to receive assistance during periods of crisis. What I believe makes it unique is that they do not necessary fund your situation directly but rather post your difficulty (minus personal info) and have others in the community assist you. You do not have to be rich to support someone in a difficult time either. As a contributor, you can do a little as a dollar to help an individual or family out of a temporary crisis. I was personally in a situation where I was behind on my mortgage due a string of life circumstances. Modest Needs was able to assist me and helped to get me back on my feet. I now donate on a monthly basis to this wonderful organization as well as pass their information on to others I know going through difficult times. Thank you again Modest Needs for being there!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The orgainzation is so well organized and accessable I would not change a thing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers