Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
156 Reviews
1234.852565
Write A Review
September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

I'm very grateful for Modest Needs and I thank God for them. They helped me with a car repair that kept my car running. If I had lost my car, I would have lost my job. The job requires me to use my car and I had just got the job when my car needed the repair. Being a single mom living in a homeless family shelter at the time, I had just got the job and I was about to lose it. The situation was very frantic for me. So again I say I thank God for their gift.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

Modest needs helped me when i was in desperate need of help . i had a bad experience with a dentist in mexico . Stetic implant & dental centers , i needed emergency surgery after leaving the clinic and my bills over whelmed us . modest needs helped me pay one of the hospital bills , i am forever greatful , and cant express enough how much it means to me that someone was there when i needed help . thank you modest needs , great respect Holly Strehlow

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I am a wife and mother of two children. In October 2012, our house in Staten Island, NY, like so many others, was severely damaged by Hurricane Sandy. We were so confused on what to do next and how to get help. Someone told me about the Modest Needs non-profit organization. I have never asked for help from any person or organization in all my life; I thought it would be humiliating. However, it was not humiliating at all dealing with Modest Needs. We needed a washer and dryer to help us get our home back together. After providing the requested information, Modest Needs came through within a week. They bought a washer and dryer for our home. I am so thankful for the Modest Needs foundation. Their communication with me throughout the process (which was only a week long) was timely, clear, and concise. It was a pleasure dealing with Modest Needs and I am so thankful for their existence. They really helped us in a time of need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Cannot suggest any changes; it is a very well run organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I had to replace my 15 year old service dog, I began training my own because to buy a trained Service Dog was out of the question. I was able to place her with a wonderful trainer, but with all the vet bills, food, etc. I had no money for the specialized equipment she needed to be a mobility assist dog.
Thanks to the help I received from Modest Needs, I now have that equipment, my independence, and a renewed belief that there are wonderful people willing to help others through the rough times. Living on a fixed income from the VA has its limitations, thanks for all you have done for me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I stumbled across Modest Needs last year doing an internet search. I had recently finished cancer treatment, and we had gotten behind in some bills. Winter was coming, and we had no propane, or money to get any. I was desperate, so I tried. I really did not think I would get any help, but I did! They helped us when we needed it the most, and I am so thankful! They were also very kind and helpful when our propane company sent back the check (I guess they didn't know who's account to credit the check to), and were quick to send out another one. :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make any.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

Modest Needs is a non-profit organization. It has helped so many, including myself. Their website is www.modestneeds.org, and there you will be able to read and understand all of the good things they have been able to accomplish. The help given makes the difference between someone having a place to live or not, or having assistance for other unforseen challenges. For this I am personally grateful, and would highly recommend them as a source of guidance and help when you've tried all other practical avenues. They care and will help guide you through the application process, as well as keep you posted on the progress being made on your behalf. I will always, always remember the professional guidance, as well as the great relief I felt when I had an urgent need filled. Respectfully yours, a former and appreciative client of Modest Needs. Ms. Kat

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

Hi my name is Candace and would love to tell you a little bit about my experience with modest needs. Being a single parent and having a special needs child is very challenging. Sometimes just a little help or a simple need being fulfilled means all the difference in the world. I was absolutely amazed by the generosity that was shown from people that had never met my family or I . Having an incontinent child I was at a total loss when our washing machine had given out. I saw the modest needs foundation online and within 60 days to my surprise a brand new one was delivered to my door. I will be forever grateful to modest needs and everyone that makes this kind of organization possible. Thank you

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing at all

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

I was in need of some assistance twice and was able to get some help from Modest Needs twice. I was without a job for awhile. I was able to secure employment but had fallen behind in my rent while I was out of work. That is where Modest Needs came to the rescue. They helped to get back on track with my rent when I found employment. I am so very grateful to them for helping me out.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

I never heard about the Modest Needs Organization until the MS Society referred me to them. I am post polio & was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis in the prime of my life. I am 73 now and need more home modifications to make things easier for me. I did not believe that I would be chosen to receive the financial assistance needed to make any of these things occur. This Organization is the greatest & the donors are so very special and giving. My front steps were sinking and needed to be replaced. I received the money needed and will always be eternally grateful to this Organization & the special & giving donors. Colleen

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2013

more

September 22, 2013

After losing our home to flooding during Hurricane Sandy, we are faced with many obstacles. The stress of paying our mortgage payment on our empty, uninhabitable home as well as paying rent on our temporary apartment and trying to keep it all together has been such a challenge. We received monetary assistance from Modest Needs to assist with one of our mortgage payments and it was such a huge help and relief for us. My family (husband, 2 sons ages 4 and 5 and myself) thanks you from the bottom of out hearts!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers