Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
156 Reviews
1234.852565
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

Modest needs brings the working poor to the attention of the public. Each case is vetted, partially funded, and recommended prior to being made public. And in all cases, the need to help the family or individual in question is a relatively low dollar amount. But the needs are central to continued employment/keeping together a family, and in that sense, in the public interest.

Highly recommended as a great non-profit.
-SR
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I have been contributing to many charities for a long, long time. Modest Needs remains my favorite because it feels a HUGE short term need in someone's life and keeps from from losing their home, or gets their car repaired or some other short term issue. All of us need help from time to time and the idea that we would let someone fall into a terrible situation for a small amount of money is very discouraging.

MN fills that gap and does it so well that deserving people in short time situations are able to find the help they need, something they would not find anywhere else and then move with their lives.

It's a genius idea, and really my fav place to give a few extra bucks!

Hillary
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is by far my favorite charity to contribute to. Provides a very direct, personal, and impactful link with our neighbors in their time of dire need. From necessity, to impact, to effectiveness, to support network - I enjoy every interaction with this charitable organization, and whole-heartedly support Modest Needs founding objective (to help prevent people from entering the poverty cycle - with a simple one-time hand up). I cannot say enough nice things about this organization, or my experience with it.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I appreciate the transparency and accountability of Modest Needs as a charitable organization. Their 2012 financial statements show that 90% of donations go to program services - in other words, directly to those in need. They verify need, and share circumstantial information on the beneficiaries, and allow you to specify which individual or family receives help from your donation. We have included Modest Needs in our charitable giving for several years now.
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Modest Needs is AWESOME, the way they help and have helped innumerable individuals and families! I don't have much to give, but when I can afford to donate, Modest Needs comes first!
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I came across Modest Needs through a happenstance meeting with CEO Keith Taylor. His passion and dedication to Modest Needs is infectious. Becoming a donor was easy, and I always felt well taken care of by his staff. I was especially impressed with their Social Media presence. They post such uplifting, wonderful content that I anxiously look forward to seeing posts from their page. I hope that Modest Needs continues doing this great work for years to come.
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Dear Modest Needs. Thank you for serving those who work hard but don't qualify for any kind of help when an unexpected emergency threatens their livelihood. I've been a donor for a few years and feel great about making a difference in people's lives.

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I heard about Modest Needs when it was a question on Jeopardy, I look it up and what I read about how they help people who are stuggling with an unexpected financial emergency, not asking for a hand out but a hand up, made me want to be a part of the Modest Needs Foundation.
These recipients
are not asking for charity they are facing an immediate financial crisis. To give and know that you are helping honest, hard working families and Veterans that are faced with a financial need is rewarding. I believe we can make a differnce in the world 1 family at a time, Modest Needs does exactly that. I am so glad I can be apart of this charity that makes a difference on such a personal level.
September 25, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
January 23, 2013

Modest Needs is my favorite charity, and I have a monthly automatic donation applied. Needless to say, I was concerned when I saw the "Donor Advisory" recently posted. I immediately emailed the Dire... more

September 25, 2014

Modest Needs is my favorite charity. It helps individuals and families struggling to avoid a financial crisis, including automobile repossession, loss of housing, loss of utilities, and lack of medical care, from sinking into poverty, job loss, and homelessness. It is very straightforward, and you are donating person-to-person, understanding what the need is and hearing afterwards through thank you emails what you have helped these struggling families avoid. The funds go directly to the vendor for the unexpected expense that the family cannot pay and help stop the spiral of desperation into poverty. Individuals and families requesting assistance are vetted, and the funds are targeted at working families facing a crisis and returning military and veterans. A very worthwhile charity, and very personal giving.
January 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Modest Needs is my favorite charity, and I have a monthly automatic donation applied. Needless to say, I was concerned when I saw the "Donor Advisory" recently posted. I immediately emailed the Director of Modest Needs, Dr. Keith Taylor, and within an hour had a very detailed explanation of the circumstances and the perspective of his organization about the issues raised. There were follow up emails, as well, to myself and the other member of this household, who also has a monthly automatic donation. The advisory posted by Charity Navigator does not tell the full story, and if you have concerns, do not hesitate to contact Dr. Taylor and receive a very reassuring and detailed response. Both members of this household are continuing our monthly automatic contributions without concern about any possible impropriety. This is a wonderful charity that directly touches and improves the lives of many working Americans.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2012

I have an automatic monthly donation going to Modest Needs Foundation because I feel that it is an invaluable asset to those in need. Working folks facing a crisis that might result in homelessness, unemployment, or bankruptcy can apply for a donation to cover an extraordinary, unexpected debt. The recipients are vetted, and the money goes directly to the vendor to pay the debt--a medical or car repair bill, for example. You receive an email when the recipient is funded, and a thank you email from the recipient as well. If you want to impact individuals in need very directly and help working Americans avoid a catastrophe in their lives--this is the charity for you. I love this charity, as it is a very transparent organization, so you know exactly where your money is going.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I just received a lengthy email from a manager in charge of the customer service support division. This person berated me negatively for over 1500 words in the email. I was told that I am not living up to my user name, which has christian words I sent them an email on July 1st of this year asking for help. The computer cut me out in the middle of my application. This manager accused me falsely of deliberately saying I wanted to sign up for the newsletter, :in the hopes of bettering your chances to get money from us", this manager continued to berate be at length calling me all kinds of names and slanderous after thoughts against my person. This all came about since for the past three months I have been sent over 10 requests for money donations. I have repeatedly asked them to stop asking me for money I told them I have cancer and can not work my job and was attempting to ask them for money. THey refused to stop. I finally got mad today and wrote a rude email. The reply was what I am speaking of. I would definitely run from this place if I were you. The person who wrote me was obviously mentally disturbed ! Beware! A REALLY BAD PLACE!!!!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers