Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
146 Reviews
1234.876715
Previous | 1 2 3...15 |
Write A Review
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

My husband and I have been donors at Modest Needs since 2005. I believe in helping people right here in our own country with getting a car payment made or a car repair or an unexpected high heating bill paid or whatever keeps these usually self sufficient people out of the cycle of poverty. I am sure we have all had bills come up that we did not expect that came at what seemed to be the worst time. This company checks out every claim for assistance so I know that my donation goes to pay what has been asked and nothing more. Truly people helping others who just need a helping hand for a short time. All these people are hard working folks just like me and I get to reach across the miles and just be a little sunshine in what appears to them to be a cloudy day. God bless all your donors and recipients.
August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

Being a donor to Modest Needs has enriched my life. I'm privileged to have this vehicle to identify good people with pressing needs and can help them through a temporary rough patch. The organization is transparent, efficient and effective. Please join me. In supporting Modest Needs to continue its good work. The knowledge and engagement of knowing exactly where your money is going and the uplift it gives to people going through tough times to know that there are strangers willing to help is so gratifying.o

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage donations from private foundations so they could help more people.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Last year, my wife was forced out of work due to illness. The bills were piling up and we just couldn't keep up, much less get ahead.
When Winter came, we needed to fill our oil tank but there was barely enough money for food much less the $900 to fill the tank.
Modest Needs helped us by
obtaining a grant for us which covered this cost. Without Modest Needs, it would have been a long, cold, tragic winter.
I cannot praise them enough. They were a true blessing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2013

more

November 13, 2013

Modest Needs gave me the boost I needed in my time of need. I am so thankful that there is an organization that has members who sincerely care about the needs of others. I was skeptical at first, and didn't know what to expect, when I applied for Modest Needs assistance. They were very kind, and let me know what my status was, every time I got closer to my application being funded by caring members. To my surprise, my needs were promptly met with a check to pay my electric bill, and kept me and my kids out of the dark. Thank you Modest Needs, for helping me and others that have fallen on tough times! :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide vouchers for emergency food needs

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

When an expensive car repair set me back financially, Modest Needs was able to pay my rent! As a single mother of three, and no family members available to help us, I was facing eviction with no where to go! I can not begin to express the relief that I felt when Modest Needs said they had found a donor! I will be forever grateful to Modest Needs for fulfilling my family's need! I have recommended this site to several of my coworkers when they were in need. Modest Needs employees were always friendly, and helpful. They never made me feel like a "charity case" like some agencies do. They always treated me with respect and kindness, they empathized with me and went above and beyond to help my family. Modest Needs is truly a foundation you can count on! Modest Needs truly renewed my faith in humanity & the kindness of others!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The application process was quite lengthy but I can understand why they would like to be so thorough. There are some of my friends who were unable to apply for help because they do not have a bank account, perhaps an alternative way of viewing these people's incoming/outgoing finances could be made available?

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

Modest Needs was my guardian angel! In 2012 I relocated to Georgia for a nursing position with the VA. I was 6 months pregnant and had no family. It was my plant to work up until my scheduled due date of July 26th.; but I began to experience complications with my blood pressure. I went into premature labor three times and eventually delivered my baby at 36 weeks. I did not have enough vacation or sick time accumulated and exhausted my savings on relocating. I was afraid and alone but Modest Needs gave me hope and helped to pay my rent. It is a scary feeling not knowing whether you will have a roof over your head and I was a new mom. I became a nurse so that I could help others and it is a wonderful feeling to know that I had somewhere to turn for help. Thank you Modest Needs!

Love,
Malikha & Araya

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything, however, I wanted to clarify that I did not receive the amount that was indicated in my follow-up email.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Your organization really helped my family get back on its feet after Superstorm Sandy. I have never reached out for help in any way and it felt so good after serving 100 days in the storm to help others to finally be recongined myself. THANK YOU AGAIN from the bottom of our hearts. We really needed the help and way to modest to ever ask but we did!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOTHING EXCELLENT

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I want to say thank you for helping my family get back on our feet!!! We were very close to losing everything!! I cant thank you enough. Modest need is an amazing organization! We are in a great place in our lives now! The neurologist released my fiance and he is back to work, and im getting a promotion at work!!! It would have been alot harder for us to get here with out modest needs! Thank you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

Wow! What a Godsend Modest Needs has been for me and my family. Through generous donors I was able to get my two crowns on my teeth. Times were especially difficult at the time for me and my husband due to my husband having to take cut hours at his job. I needed his help to stay healthy at the end of my pregnancy with our sixth child. I have no help at home with our children except my husband so he had to stay home with me and our son for a couple of weeks before returning to work. This is a wonderful non-profit agency and I don't know what I would have done without them. Joanne.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change anything about the website but maybe give a phone call to the clients before the thank you note is due so their check is not forfeited.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

Modest Needs came through for me when every one else turned their backs or closed their eyes. I understand my need was not life threatening but it was an issue of health, self esteem, and generally over all cleanliness. My hot water tank died and I went for almost six months without hot water. I'm 57, I live alone, had just returned to college after 25 years, I've had numerous back surgeries and I have Fibromyalgia. Hot water helped me with both my back pain and my Fibromyalgia, and of course I could clean up in the sink by heating water, but I never felt clean. No one in my city of 50,000 was willing to help because they said hot water was not a necessity. Modest needs accepted my application right away, and on my last day I was approved. I wrote my thank you letter and my check arrived, in less than a week I had hot water. There really are no words to thank Modest Needs or the people who helped a complete stranger get back some comfort and feel better about herself and her life. Thank you so much.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...15 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers