Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
149 Reviews
1234.852355
Previous | 1 2 3...15 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I heard about Modest Needs when it was a question on Jeopardy, I look it up and what I read about how they help people who are stuggling with an unexpected financial emergency, not asking for a hand out but a hand up, made me want to be a part of the Modest Needs Foundation.
These recipients
are not asking for charity they are facing an immediate financial crisis. To give and know that you are helping honest, hard working families and Veterans that are faced with a financial need is rewarding. I believe we can make a differnce in the world 1 family at a time, Modest Needs does exactly that. I am so glad I can be apart of this charity that makes a difference on such a personal level.
September 25, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
January 23, 2013

Modest Needs is my favorite charity, and I have a monthly automatic donation applied. Needless to say, I was concerned when I saw the "Donor Advisory" recently posted. I immediately emailed the Dire... more

September 25, 2014

Modest Needs is my favorite charity. It helps individuals and families struggling to avoid a financial crisis, including automobile repossession, loss of housing, loss of utilities, and lack of medical care, from sinking into poverty, job loss, and homelessness. It is very straightforward, and you are donating person-to-person, understanding what the need is and hearing afterwards through thank you emails what you have helped these struggling families avoid. The funds go directly to the vendor for the unexpected expense that the family cannot pay and help stop the spiral of desperation into poverty. Individuals and families requesting assistance are vetted, and the funds are targeted at working families facing a crisis and returning military and veterans. A very worthwhile charity, and very personal giving.
January 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Modest Needs is my favorite charity, and I have a monthly automatic donation applied. Needless to say, I was concerned when I saw the "Donor Advisory" recently posted. I immediately emailed the Director of Modest Needs, Dr. Keith Taylor, and within an hour had a very detailed explanation of the circumstances and the perspective of his organization about the issues raised. There were follow up emails, as well, to myself and the other member of this household, who also has a monthly automatic donation. The advisory posted by Charity Navigator does not tell the full story, and if you have concerns, do not hesitate to contact Dr. Taylor and receive a very reassuring and detailed response. Both members of this household are continuing our monthly automatic contributions without concern about any possible impropriety. This is a wonderful charity that directly touches and improves the lives of many working Americans.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2012

I have an automatic monthly donation going to Modest Needs Foundation because I feel that it is an invaluable asset to those in need. Working folks facing a crisis that might result in homelessness, unemployment, or bankruptcy can apply for a donation to cover an extraordinary, unexpected debt. The recipients are vetted, and the money goes directly to the vendor to pay the debt--a medical or car repair bill, for example. You receive an email when the recipient is funded, and a thank you email from the recipient as well. If you want to impact individuals in need very directly and help working Americans avoid a catastrophe in their lives--this is the charity for you. I love this charity, as it is a very transparent organization, so you know exactly where your money is going.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I just received a lengthy email from a manager in charge of the customer service support division. This person berated me negatively for over 1500 words in the email. I was told that I am not living up to my user name, which has christian words I sent them an email on July 1st of this year asking for help. The computer cut me out in the middle of my application. This manager accused me falsely of deliberately saying I wanted to sign up for the newsletter, :in the hopes of bettering your chances to get money from us", this manager continued to berate be at length calling me all kinds of names and slanderous after thoughts against my person. This all came about since for the past three months I have been sent over 10 requests for money donations. I have repeatedly asked them to stop asking me for money I told them I have cancer and can not work my job and was attempting to ask them for money. THey refused to stop. I finally got mad today and wrote a rude email. The reply was what I am speaking of. I would definitely run from this place if I were you. The person who wrote me was obviously mentally disturbed ! Beware! A REALLY BAD PLACE!!!!
September 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have been donors at Modest Needs since 2005. I believe in helping people right here in our own country with getting a car payment made or a car repair or an unexpected high heating bill paid or whatever keeps these usually self sufficient people out of the cycle of poverty. I am sure we have all had bills come up that we did not expect that came at what seemed to be the worst time. This company checks out every claim for assistance so I know that my donation goes to pay what has been asked and nothing more. Truly people helping others who just need a helping hand for a short time. All these people are hard working folks just like me and I get to reach across the miles and just be a little sunshine in what appears to them to be a cloudy day. God bless all your donors and recipients.
August 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Being a donor to Modest Needs has enriched my life. I'm privileged to have this vehicle to identify good people with pressing needs and can help them through a temporary rough patch. The organization is transparent, efficient and effective. Please join me. In supporting Modest Needs to continue its good work. The knowledge and engagement of knowing exactly where your money is going and the uplift it gives to people going through tough times to know that there are strangers willing to help is so gratifying.o

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage donations from private foundations so they could help more people.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Last year, my wife was forced out of work due to illness. The bills were piling up and we just couldn't keep up, much less get ahead.
When Winter came, we needed to fill our oil tank but there was barely enough money for food much less the $900 to fill the tank.
Modest Needs helped us by
obtaining a grant for us which covered this cost. Without Modest Needs, it would have been a long, cold, tragic winter.
I cannot praise them enough. They were a true blessing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2013

more

November 13, 2013

Modest Needs gave me the boost I needed in my time of need. I am so thankful that there is an organization that has members who sincerely care about the needs of others. I was skeptical at first, and didn't know what to expect, when I applied for Modest Needs assistance. They were very kind, and let me know what my status was, every time I got closer to my application being funded by caring members. To my surprise, my needs were promptly met with a check to pay my electric bill, and kept me and my kids out of the dark. Thank you Modest Needs, for helping me and others that have fallen on tough times! :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide vouchers for emergency food needs

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

When an expensive car repair set me back financially, Modest Needs was able to pay my rent! As a single mother of three, and no family members available to help us, I was facing eviction with no where to go! I can not begin to express the relief that I felt when Modest Needs said they had found a donor! I will be forever grateful to Modest Needs for fulfilling my family's need! I have recommended this site to several of my coworkers when they were in need. Modest Needs employees were always friendly, and helpful. They never made me feel like a "charity case" like some agencies do. They always treated me with respect and kindness, they empathized with me and went above and beyond to help my family. Modest Needs is truly a foundation you can count on! Modest Needs truly renewed my faith in humanity & the kindness of others!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The application process was quite lengthy but I can understand why they would like to be so thorough. There are some of my friends who were unable to apply for help because they do not have a bank account, perhaps an alternative way of viewing these people's incoming/outgoing finances could be made available?

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

Modest Needs was my guardian angel! In 2012 I relocated to Georgia for a nursing position with the VA. I was 6 months pregnant and had no family. It was my plant to work up until my scheduled due date of July 26th.; but I began to experience complications with my blood pressure. I went into premature labor three times and eventually delivered my baby at 36 weeks. I did not have enough vacation or sick time accumulated and exhausted my savings on relocating. I was afraid and alone but Modest Needs gave me hope and helped to pay my rent. It is a scary feeling not knowing whether you will have a roof over your head and I was a new mom. I became a nurse so that I could help others and it is a wonderful feeling to know that I had somewhere to turn for help. Thank you Modest Needs!

Love,
Malikha & Araya

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything, however, I wanted to clarify that I did not receive the amount that was indicated in my follow-up email.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Your organization really helped my family get back on its feet after Superstorm Sandy. I have never reached out for help in any way and it felt so good after serving 100 days in the storm to help others to finally be recongined myself. THANK YOU AGAIN from the bottom of our hearts. We really needed the help and way to modest to ever ask but we did!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOTHING EXCELLENT

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...15 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers