Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.862755
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
October 8, 2012

more

October 8, 2012

I've seen these young women live the values they stand for by providing their time, money, life stories and living examples of what it means to be successful and most importantly, happy with who you are as a woman. It truly is inspiring to see and worthy of the credit awarded.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

Mademoiselles Alumnae have been giving back to not only the women, but also, the community in general since 1960. I'm a current member of the Mademoiselle's organization and I can't wait to be apart of the alumnae. The impact that they make on the community shadows the impact that they have on us as young women trying to be successful and charitable.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

The MLLES Alumnae is an AWESOME community service organization dedicated to uplifting the community. I am more than honored to be a part of this prestigious group of women helping young ladies reach higher heights.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

positive feedback from the the young ladies we serve. Evidence of our effectiveness has been obvious as many young ladies have shared stories with us of their change.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

conduct the citywide conference twice a year. The content presented in these conferences is so valuable, everyone should be able to benefit from it more than once a year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

This is a great organization. They teach you how to dress professionally, also how a young lady should act and carry herself. They host a college prep every year to prepare students who are about to enter college. They are also very dedicated in serving the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 24, 2012

more

May 24, 2012

The MLLES Alumnae, Inc. and the young the group that they support, The Mademoiselles, has operated in Houston schools for over 40 years as a service and support group for predominately African-American young ladies. They participate in numerous leadership, business, and community service programs that seek to develop leadership and the emotional well-being of the young ladies in the organization.
For the last 7 years, they have hosted a city-wide conference that brings together all of their local chapters (over 100 young women) for a one day leadership conference. I have participated in the conference three times, as a member of their male panel. The work that they do significantly changes the trajectory of the lives of many of the young ladies because they young women in their organization gain access to a life beyond their neighborhood, the trappings of urban America, or the perfunctory roles afforded to those without access. The young women in the program have gone on to be successful college students and professionals in many fields. Without the support of the Miles Alumnae, I am sure that their lives would be totally different.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012

more

May 23, 2012

The Mademoiselles Alumnae is great because they still find time to help high school young ladies to become more of a lady for the future and they are always giving back. If it wasn't for them I wouldn't know the proper ways to dress for a job and I wouldn't have a strong sisterbond that I do now have with my friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2012

more

May 15, 2012

I've had the honor of being a part of the Mademoiselles Organization since 2009 and I'm thankful for every lesson learned. I credit the Mademoiselles for guiding me on a path of a successful young woman. Each mentor of the alumnae has set the bar high on what I can accomplish in my career and how I can make a difference in my community. The Mademoiselles gives young women an opportunity to grow in areas that'll benefit them in the future. Regularly I think back to the business apparel tips or college advice given in workshops the Alumnae gave. During high school the Alumnae were the role models for me and now that I'm entering college & in a business setting, I can be the example to others. The Mademoiselles produces a great cycle of successful, determined young women. I'm proud to be member of this 52 year legacy.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 14, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 24, 2011

MLLES ALUMNAE is a great organization that provides great opportunities to young ladies, as well as positive female role models. They host a variety of workshops and seminars including topic such as e... more

May 14, 2012

The programs and events that the Mlles Alumnae provide are very empowering to the Houston community. From their Project Prom, City Wide Conferences, and Educational seminars, there is a wealth of knowledge for young women to use in their everyday lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 24, 2011

MLLES ALUMNAE is a great organization that provides great opportunities to young ladies, as well as positive female role models. They host a variety of workshops and seminars including topic such as educational and health. I was apart of the Mademoiselles Social & Service Organization in HS. I'm glad to see the the traditions of community service and finer womanhood are being continued through the Alumnae Organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the growth and impact this organization has had over the years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help with finding funding, so that the Mlles Alumnae would be able to continue to host programs.

May 14, 2012

more

May 14, 2012

I began working with organization about four years ago and I can truly say that they are doing a great work! Many young ladies are on the right track now versus the road they were treading down toward mediocrity. They were given hope and now know that the circumstance in which they were born does not have to determine their future outcome. The sky is the limit and they are flying high :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2011

more

April 30, 2011

The MLLES Alumnae, Inc. was founded because of the significantly positive impact that the Mademoiselles organization had on the lives of its founders and other young ladies of color during their high school years.

When I joined the Mademoiselles Club in high school (circa 1996), I could
not even fathom the level of influence that it would have on my personal and professional growth. Being around such positive people, serving the community, being exposed to college life all over the country, holding leadership positions, and the list goes on thoroughly enhanced my high school and thus undergraduate and now graduate school careers.

Within the MLLES Alumnae, Inc., we cultivate even greater experiences for all of the Mademoiselles. We strive to ensure that the accomplishments of the young ladies of our future far outweigh our own. Through personal and professional development workshops and scholarships at our annual conferences, intermittent seminars when and where we see a need, and continual service and social events; we equip them with the knowledge and resources to succeed in all facets of life -- from public speaking to relationships to exercise and nutrition. It is our intention that each young lady not only leaves more confident and informed, but she is also positively infectious to her community and environment.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the exchange and sharing of skills and experiences with the current Mademoiselles and other alumnae.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give more human and financial resources to help the organization make a global impact.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

recruit more volunteers

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

increased my self-esteem, comfort in the spotlight and confidence in public speaking

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I felt like a rock star. I felt like we REALLY made a positive impact on so many lives.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

chaperon annual events including our annual conference, college prep workshops, and Officers' retreat.