Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.844445
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

The Mlles Alumnae group is is one that should be replicated across the nation. The goals, objectives, consistency, and dedication of this group have helped so many young women to grow into productive participants in our society. I appreciate their efforts and believe that any accolade they can receive is well-deserved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 22, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 22, 2011

This past weekend the MLLES hosted the 7th Annual Citywide Conference. It was one of the best yet! Teen girls get to participate in various workshops free of charge. This year's workshops focused on F... more

October 22, 2012

It is an honor and pleasure to work with THE MLLES Alumnae, Inc to provide programming to teen girls of color across the Houston area. It's amazing to see so many women give unselfishly of their time to nurture and mentor teen girls.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2011

This past weekend the MLLES hosted the 7th Annual Citywide Conference. It was one of the best yet! Teen girls get to participate in various workshops free of charge. This year's workshops focused on First Lady Michelle Obama's 'Let's Move' Campaign and involved nutrition, fitness, health/hygiene, and public speaking! It's a great opportunity to see positive images and influences in the lives of teen girls of color!! This organization is helping to shape young women who will be leaders of tomorrow!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the change in teen girls before versus after a day of the conference. They are more motivated, excited, knowledgeable, and confident!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Assist in identifying sponsors and grants to be able to provide more resources

October 21, 2012

more

October 21, 2012

When they helped us out they were very polite and caring. The never questioned us and did everything with a smile in their face. Even though it was community service, they were very much enjoying themselves and even helped us enjoy the event a little more. Some even stayed until the end and helped us put up everything and clean. I really appreciate their service. When i heard about these reviews i just had to participate. Thank you

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

This organization has chapters in several Houston area high schools. The purpose of the group is to foster a spirit of learning, cooperation, sisterhood and service to others. The organization is run by volunteers that donate their time, talents and monies to mentor area high school girls. I have seen the organization grow and continue as girls graduate and new ones become involved. The graduates continue to advise and volunteer when possible. The spirit of the advisors is remarkable and a beacon to us all. They continue to mentor without fanfare or recognition!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2012

more

October 8, 2012

I've seen these young women live the values they stand for by providing their time, money, life stories and living examples of what it means to be successful and most importantly, happy with who you are as a woman. It truly is inspiring to see and worthy of the credit awarded.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

Mademoiselles Alumnae have been giving back to not only the women, but also, the community in general since 1960. I'm a current member of the Mademoiselle's organization and I can't wait to be apart of the alumnae. The impact that they make on the community shadows the impact that they have on us as young women trying to be successful and charitable.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 21, 2011

Being part of the Mlles. Social & Service Club, is a great experience! Not only does this group benefit a lot of young ladies by preparing them for the future, but they also serve their community. We ... more

October 3, 2012

I personally love being a part of the Mademoiselle Social & Service Club. It gives a great opportunity for young girls to grow mentally and professionally. They offer all of their support to the community, and they all look forward to offering the community a better future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2011

Being part of the Mlles. Social & Service Club, is a great experience! Not only does this group benefit a lot of young ladies by preparing them for the future, but they also serve their community. We seriously need more organizations like these, to preapre young ladies for the furure mentally & professionly!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

participating with them in community services and learning lot of stuff that i wil defenitly use in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to have more chapters around the city of houston.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing actually, it was great!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, I learned a lot of new things.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Helpful, to my community.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

The MLLES Alumnae is an AWESOME community service organization dedicated to uplifting the community. I am more than honored to be a part of this prestigious group of women helping young ladies reach higher heights.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

positive feedback from the the young ladies we serve. Evidence of our effectiveness has been obvious as many young ladies have shared stories with us of their change.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

conduct the citywide conference twice a year. The content presented in these conferences is so valuable, everyone should be able to benefit from it more than once a year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

This is a great organization. They teach you how to dress professionally, also how a young lady should act and carry herself. They host a college prep every year to prepare students who are about to enter college. They are also very dedicated in serving the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 24, 2012

more

May 24, 2012

The MLLES Alumnae, Inc. and the young the group that they support, The Mademoiselles, has operated in Houston schools for over 40 years as a service and support group for predominately African-American young ladies. They participate in numerous leadership, business, and community service programs that seek to develop leadership and the emotional well-being of the young ladies in the organization.
For the last 7 years, they have hosted a city-wide conference that brings together all of their local chapters (over 100 young women) for a one day leadership conference. I have participated in the conference three times, as a member of their male panel. The work that they do significantly changes the trajectory of the lives of many of the young ladies because they young women in their organization gain access to a life beyond their neighborhood, the trappings of urban America, or the perfunctory roles afforded to those without access. The young women in the program have gone on to be successful college students and professionals in many fields. Without the support of the Miles Alumnae, I am sure that their lives would be totally different.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

chaperon annual events including our annual conference, college prep workshops, and Officers' retreat.