Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.947375
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

Mission India is special because they have succeeded in being efficient and effective at the same time. I've witnessed firsthand their commitment to controlling costs and making every dollar count. And at the same time, I've been impressed with their focus on results with an enduring passion to truly see people changed by Jesus Christ in India. On a personal note, I love how Mission India has engaged my family as well, with video tours of India, invitations to banquets, and engaging opportunities to give.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Before I say anything, I should probably note that my wife and I have been raise-your-own support staff members of two evangelical mission agencies. We served on those agencies for the better part of 9 years.

I have served on the boards of two agencies (including Mission India) and as a
kind of board consultant to a third agency. My wife is a member of the board of the third agency that I have served as a kind of consultant.

It was about 10 years ago that my wife and I decided seriously to focus our charitable giving on "only" four or five specific organizations and to deliberately turn aside donation requests from others. That decision to focus has meant our giving has been very much more strategic; we have had very much more interaction with the various leaders of the different organizations to which we have given; and we have been able to have strategic input into these organizations far beyond mere financial donations. As noted above, we have now served (and are currently serving) on two of the organizations' boards of directors. . . .

Now for my "story" about Mission India. . . .

Mission India was one of the four agencies to which my wife and I committed ourselves 10 years ago. Honestly, at the time, it was "only" one and, frankly, we were only just barely aware of what it was all about.

Since that time, however, Mission India has become our favorite charitable group. We still give to all four organizations to which we originally committed ourselves, but when we have the opportunity to give a little more, we find ourselves always turning to Mission India.

Our reasons for feeling and thinking and acting as I have just outlined include the following:

* Mission India's ministry OBJECTIVE (church planting among all the people groups of India) in the world's spiritually neediest/least reached country.

* Mission India's METHODOLOGIES (enabling--without creating dependency--indigenous ministries to run effective evangelistic/church-planting Children's Bible Clubs and Literacy programs; and training effective and self-sustaining Church Planters), and these programs' proven EFFECTIVENESS (see next item). . . .

* Mission India has a proven (almost unbelievably strong) commitment to INTEGRITY IN MEASUREMENT of results, in tracking what its funding is used for and how its projects are being carried out. . . . What is particularly gratifying: these measurements are clearly NOT pursued primarily for self-promotion (though I think it would be foolish of the agency NOT to mention its statistics!), but, far more, it measures its outcomes in order to ENSURE EFFECTIVENESS and to PROVIDE GROUNDS FOR ONGOING IMPROVEMENT. I can attest to this commitment both as an outside DONOR and as a kind of "inside" BOARD MEMBER. I have seen this commitment worked out in practice.

* Mission India seeks to FOLLOW ALL SPIRITUAL DISCIPLINES and to walk with integrity as humble servants who are DEPENDENT WHOLLY ON GOD. At the same time, however, it CONDUCTS ITS AFFAIRS LIKE A WELL-RUN BUSINESS. The Mission India board of directors is composed of more than business owners only, but it is strongly guided by [one could almost say, dominated by] business people who ask the kinds of questions and demand the kinds of accountability that savvy business owners should ask and should demand. This leads to what is, in my mind, an astonishing balance . . . and a hard-headedness that I have found less visible in other charitable organizations with which I have been associated.

* Mission India demonstrates a PRACTICAL COMMITMENT TO FUTURE GENERATIONS. --My wife and I have seen this not only in their Children's Bible Clubs programs, but in their investment on vision-building and educational programs for children in the United States. (My wife and I have had the privilege of helping to encourage all four of the agencies we support to create vision-building, educational fund-raising programs for children in the U.S. Mission India was the first agency to take us up on our offer to create such programs. They entered in enthusiastically, even though the potential payoff for such a commitment was unproven. Having done it once, they did it a second time. [See their www.mypassporttoindia.com program.] And we are working together on a third such program to be released in the fall of 2013. . . .) Clearly, Mission India has the LONG VIEW in mind.

* Mission India has shown the highest commitment we have found (among any of the agencies we have ever worked with or given to) to COOPERATE with and HELP other agencies who are intent on advancing the Kingdom of God. Put another way: the agency keeps THE BIG PICTURE in mind.

I just mentioned the children's programs. Following Mission India's lead, and at our urging, all of the other agencies my wife and I support have attempted to create similar programs for their own purposes. We have encouraged these agencies, then, to contact Mission India to acquire whatever insight Mission India may be able to provide.

My wife and I have seen Mission India readily, willingly, wholeheartedly and AT THEIR EXPENSE not only speak to these other agencies on the telephone and/or answer these other agencies' emails, but actually SEND STAFF MEMBERS to VISIT every one of these other agencies in order to provide them every kind of help, support, information and/or insight they might need to benefit from Mission India's experience.

I should note: this kind of cooperation often began without my wife's or my knowledge. It was certainly not a result of any arm-twisting or finagling on our part.

I am "just" really impressed with this organization and feel honored to be able to serve on its board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

We first heard about Mission India (MI) when I was the Missions Chairman for our church. What intrigued me from the first meeting was the unique approach that MI has to missions. By focusing on teamwork with the Indian members and partners on the ground, the gospel is presented without it being in a Western “voice” or an invasive outside force. I have many family members on the mission field today and others who have gone home to the Lord or are retired. I have never even heard of any ministry that works as efficiently or as effectively as Mission India. When our family heard about the literacy training program and the children’s programs (how lives could be completely changed by the introduction to the Gospel for so little money), we were moved by how God was using humble means and humble, passionate believers to transform a nation for Christ.

Over the years I have met MI staff both from the US and from India. This year I had the incredible opportunity to travel to India and meet with the Indian partners. I have never seen a more passionate or committed team. When you look at the sheer scale of population in India, it seems impossible to reach the nation. I am 100% convinced that God has given MI a strategy for reaching the nation of India and that we will see India as a Christian nation. I consider the MI team in the US and in India Champions of God’s Kingdom, on par with the “Mighty Men” that we read about in Scripture. Just as in the days of the early church God, is raising up men and women who are sold out to Him. He is using these ordinary men and women in extraordinary ways to advance His Kingdom.

I am talking to other groups that we have been involved with to get them to study what Mission India is doing, applying the lessons of India to their own nation. I introduce MI to every Christian businessman I know – I highly recommend that you support this incredible mission. The harvest is plentiful, the laborers in the field are plentiful – laborers are needed who have a passion for God’s Kingdom to partner and supply the resources that are needed. Not a penny will be wasted. There are millions of children on waiting lists, thousands of pastors on wait lists for training, untold numbers awaiting new literacy projects – the fields are white for the harvest and we need all be about the business of bringing in God’s Harvest while it is still day.

May God Grant us passion for the gospel to be fit co-laborers supplying our resources for the laborers in the harvest fields in India that together we will see India come to Christ.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

I have done Video and Photography work for Mission India and have gotten to see what they do and how they do it firsthand. This is one of the best organizations working in India today and I'm proud to work with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have donated to Mission India for the past 5 years, having appreciated their mission and ministry only from the literature I have seen. In July 2012, I had an opportunity to visit India, so I asked if it would be possible to see their work in action. They arranged for me to visit an adult literacy class in a remote village. We arrived at dusk to a group of about 30 adults meeting outdoors. I saw that the group greatly valued the literacy, math lessons, and simple trade skills that were offered by Mission India. Several of the students shared their stories with me via a translator. I felt quite privileged to have them share their touching stories with me. Some were sold into slavery as children, some were abandoned by their spouses and left to care for the children with no skills or source of income, some suffered from health issues that kept them from schooling. All expressed great appreciation for the free education that Mission India was providing. This education gave them back their dignity and allowed them to live independently. But, the greatest value of this training was that they came to know their Lord and Savior in the process. The students told me that knowing Jesus has provided them with hope, purpose, and a future. The expressions on their faces told me much more than their words - that they had found true joy through this program. Mission India has found a very effective means of reaching the lost while teaching valuable skills. I applaud their strategy and I praise God for the fruit that they produce!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 27, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
August 27, 2012

We are happy to support Mission India, knowing that the funds we contribute go a long way to help local Indian churches reach their neighbors through adult literacy classes, children's Bible classes, and even church planting.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We started partnering with Mission India several years ago with the Rice Bag Project. At that time, my daughter was learning to read and we really connected with the life changes that are made possible for those in the Adult Literacy program both in terms of literacy and, most importantly, the opportunity to learn of Christ and accept Him as Savior. We have continued partnering with Mission India for both adult literacy and Children's Bible Clubs. My children have loved participating with Chris' adventures as he takes us to India for inside looks. We also love the fact that we are supporting the national people to do God's work in their own country.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2009

more

October 10, 2009

I have seen first-hand the work that this organization does. I have never seen an organization that has done more with the limited funds that they have. Through there extensive volunteer network the limited funds are magnified and significant life change has been the result for many Indian people. I would strongly encourage people to look at this organization for future contributions!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Travel to India to see their work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Heart, service, and effective methods of achieving their goals.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Exceptional in all ways.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Reach out to over 10 million people as it only takes a dollar per person.

Ways to make it better...

There is really no negitive comments to make about the organization.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Growth of the number of people in India, and the limited funds that this organization has to work with.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers