Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
178 Reviews
1234.786525
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I am so proud and honored to be on the Board of The Mission in Citrus County. My heart is for people and that is the heart of Jim Sleighter, the Director. (I believe that is why God connected us ...love for people) Jim is not a man of politics but a man of compassion, who truly cares and is concerned for the homeless. There are so many misconceptions about the homeless, but I still have fond memories of the first time I walked into the shelter....the warmth and the love. I pray that God will bless this ministry beyond measure as Jim continues to do what God has called him to do in spite of hardships and trials. "Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me...Inasmuch as you do it unto one of the least of these my brethen you did it unto Me. Matt. 25: 34-36; 40. This passage truly describes the heart of Jim Sleighter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I have been connected to the Mission In Citrus for about 18 months. The church that I minister to began interacting with the people from the MIC. It has been a great blessing to me and to my church. The MIC is truly a unique place. It is a place where people are caring, loving, willing to hold another to account, willing to give so that the MIC can sustain its ministry. Lives are being changed. The residents there are not looking for a handout, but need a hand to help them out of their current difficulty. As the only emergency shelter , their door is always open to help someone. I am convinced that the MIC is able to do more with less than any other organization I know of. Jim and the volunteers are doing a great job providing help to all who need it. Just because an individual is homeless does not mean that they are not important. That is evident from the minute you walk into the shelter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2012

more

August 30, 2012

I am very proud of the Mission since founding it in 2008. The homeless have proven me right that they could help themselves with the proper resources. We live by faith and thank God in all we do.

Photos

Videos

Life of the homeless

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Four years without a day off.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand to help many more in need

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Founded in 2008.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Funding

What is its top priority in the long run?

Ending homelessness and the waste of money concerning administration expenses.

July 17, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 17, 2012

I have been a part of Mission in Citrus Inc. as a Volunteer Employee for over a year now. I volunteer 40 hours a week for this amazing charity. Not one person who helps here gets paid. We all do it because we see a program that is non-traditional but IT WORKS!!!! The Mission has results unheardof. I am also a Member of Mission in Citrus Inc.'s Board of Directors. This charity is on it's way to bigger and better things, and I just wish we had more dedicated volunteers willing to help us with grants and fundraising, then this mission will have the funds it needs to operate and have programs desparately needed for the residents. What little programs this mission has its amazing the people it has helped.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

I am very proud of the homeless and have been blessed since I founded it in 2008. They have proven that they can help each other without paid staff when given the proper resources.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 26, 2012

more

February 26, 2012

My name is Robert Brown. I moved back to Florida after a loss in My Family in 2009. After a couple months of being home I found myself down on my luck and homeless. I was at a appointment at the VA where I explained to the secretary my situation. She gave me information on a homeless shelter. I called the Mission In Citrus and talked to Jim Sleighter. After talking to him and said he would have someone come and get me and I could stay at the shelter. There I was able to make contacts with VA reps about Disability as well as Veteran Housing in Gainesville. I stayed at the Mission from June until October of 2009. Because of respect and dignity I was given and a warm family-atmosphere I was able to get to Gainesville and finish my disability case with the VA. With in 7 months I was back on my feet receiving my VA disability and moving back to Citrus County to live with My Future Wife and be closer to My Youngest Son. Because of the Love Shown I recently Joined on The Board and help out the Veteran's Shelter in Inverness,FL. Thanks Again Mission In Citrus and Mr Jim Sleighter!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide budgeting or parenting classes Volunteer