Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
201 Reviews
1234.810955
Write A Review
August 30, 2012

more

August 30, 2012

Hi my name is Joshua Varkett. Me and my 2 kids have been a resident since June 2011. We found the Mission because my wife is an assistant director of the crystal river shelter. Thanks to the Mission my family is back together. They have help our lives out in many ways. Jim has helped me find a full time job through the shelter and on my time off i help with the driving and anything else needed around the shelter to help give back.If it wasn't for the Mission my wife would not be alive and my 2 children and I would be in the woods. I gratefully thank the Mission and everyone involved for all they do and have done!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2012

more

August 30, 2012

my name is Jessica Groom. i am 18 years old i arrived here on august 21,2012 after aging out of foster care and loosing everything i found myself in a desperate situation . I was homeless and had no where to turn .I heard about a lot of good things about the mission. I got here and was greeted with open arms .it is a great place for a new start .you really feel like family they do not judge we all know there is a reason for your being here and everyone has a story.everyone is treated fairly and with respect. when there is an issue it will be resolved .the mission is a great place they really help you to get back on your feet . the mission has helped me in so many ways physically ,emotionally ,and mentally. i and grateful that there are still places like this .

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2012

more

August 30, 2012

hi my name is janice groom . i am 18 and in the 12 grade i have been in and out of foster care for most of my life. my father was deported in 2007 back to El salvador and my mother is in a nursing home suffering from brain cancer . with all of that going on my twin sister and i had found ourselfs homeless .the mission for me has been a blessing in our desperate time of need. walking in i felt scared and alone, that was until the staff greated me with open arms. they made me feel like part of a family. they have showed me so much love never making me feel hopeless always there to incourage me when feeling down on life. i belive the mission is an amazing place for a fresh start. the staff really care about how you feel , always willing to help you with what ever it is you need to . the mission will teach you alot about yourself, it is a good safe place to grow and mature into a productive member of your community. being here will teach you team work, as well as being independent. we each have our own responsibility in tending to house work. the mission makes it a priority in finding a job. they always keep your spirits up in incouraging you to getting back out on your own. i feel the mission is a blessing to have for people who need some help in what could be the lowest part of their life. the mission really cares about the well being of the people that come in and out . they want to help and see them grow in every aspect of their lives. wheather that be mentally, physicaly, emotionally, or spiritually. if we need someone to pray with, or just someone to talk to they are here for you. if you want to go to church they will get you there. always there for you , never to judge, but lisen and give you support when you have no one else. we have group meetings every day . there is also alot of group stuff we do to. its kind of like group theripy it is optional ,you do not have to be recovering from drugs you can just go to learn life skill and tehecnics that can help you cope through the struggles of life. although i have not been here long i strongly belive that the misson is an amazing constructive place to grow.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2012

more

August 30, 2012

My name's Tommy. I am a veteran of the US Army. I relocated here from Nashville to meet my family. It didn't go as I expected and I was left stranded in an area where I knew no one. I came to the mission and was welcomed with open arms by Jim and the other guests. I have been here a week, and I have had the opportunity to find a job and make extra money helping patrons of the mission. I had no where else to go, and if it wasn't for the mission, I have no clue where I would be or what I would do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2012

more

August 30, 2012

Hi my name is Jonathan Spear i have been a resident at the Mission in Citrus since August 1,2012. since i have been here the Mission has been a great place to reevaluate my life and get a head start on a new and better life. They have helped me in many ways. If it wasn't for the Mission i would be living in the woods. So i thankfully say i'm happy i found the Mission!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2012

more

August 30, 2012

My name is Larry Donovan I have been at the Mission since July 11, 2012. I can not say enough good about the Mission as they have helped me when there was no where else. They have done more than just put a roof over my head they have helped me become a better person. They helped me find work and allowed me to give back by working on the house.And I appreciate every opportunity they have given me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2012

more

August 30, 2012

I have been at the Mission for two years now. I have a wonderful home, a wonderful papa, and wonderful brothers and sisters. I pray every morning together at the morning meetings. It has been wonderful and thoughtful being at the Mission In Citrus with my loved ones. I would be lost if it wasnt for the wonderful people like Momma Sheila, Marilyn, Kat, and the other wonderful ladies that I live with. Papa Bear is very special to me.... signed Wilma.... AMEN!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2012

more

August 30, 2012

I first met the director Jim at the Father's House. We became close friends pretty quick. At the Father's House he was giving us all ideas on how to work together. We shared opinions on how to help people and what the perfect shelter would be. But then he left and I was sad. I felt led to come to the Mission In Citrus to help Jim (Papa Bear). He has a big heart and likes to help people and see people help themselves. God runs the Mission 100%. Jim has helped me alot and I look up to him.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2012

more

August 30, 2012

I came to florida with a friend but she left me at the Greyhound station here in Crystal River. And I didnt have any where else to go. I met this guy named Mike who was on the same bus as me said that he was going to a shelter called the Mission In Citrus Homeless Shelters. And he said that they told him to bring me along. I was an alcoholic for four years and I have been sober since I got to the Mission. I would definitely recommend the Mission In Citrus to any of my friends and family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 21, 2012

more

August 21, 2012

The mission is a place of love and bonding it helps you to know that you're not alone by GODS GRACE he is giving us another chance we are no longer on the streets and we are a family sharing different stories of love and accomplishing things to share with others as they come in off the street .MR.James is so kind as well as gentle with a heart of compassion for all people he's truly a blessing he also has a staff who helps you get your paperwork done so that when you get ready to get your own place you will be equipped to advance in this life.They have helped me realize that i'm not alone in this and we can achieve our dreams when given a chance this is a life changing experience for me and yet I know that we're'gonna be alright.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide budgeting or parenting classes Volunteer