Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
209 Reviews
1234.803835
Write A Review
October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

When I arrived at The Mission in Citrus, I was homeless, jobless, alone, and scared out of my mind. I was welcomed into the family type atmosphere with open arms, given the emotional support I so desperiately needed. Jim the director helped me get a job housekeeping in a hotel. I quickly worked my way up to front desk. A year after I arrived at the Mission I was living on my own, have a job that I love, a new family and friends I'll keep for a lifetime. There is no better place in the world to start over when you have nothing. Thank You Jim and all of the staff members of The Mission in Citrus. God Bless You!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

living in Seminole County with my Boyfriend of 11 years and doing Telemarketing from home (full time job) and I am happy with my life ! Also, I want you and The Mission to know what an important part that you ALL played in my life. If it wasn't for 'yall, I may have ended up in a very, very different place. Thank You for having been there for me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

M'y family and i were There for 10 months , they are loving Ppl andtvey care ! Jim is great ! Hé provides a safe , caring and happy place

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

i hurd of the mission of citrus from a ex co-worker i stayed here for about a week it has been a huge help in getting my and my family life back on track not only did they give us a safe place to stay but also helped in getting a plan to fix our lifes and helped makeing sure that plan was followed with out the help of the mission me and my family would have had no place to turn now because of them i am now able to move on and have a better life for me my wife and kids and will alway be greatfull the help they gave to use in our time of need

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

I had gotten in contact with The Mission in Citrus when my family couldnt help no longer with housing. We had been staying in a hotel for 3 days before I could get a free bus ride to the shelter. They were full, but was willing to take my husband and 2 children in no questions asked. Jim, the director of The Mission in Citrus helped us with bus tickets to Mississippi where a friend of my husband had told us he could get us jobs and a place to live. We only stayed a week, but everyone here welcomed us as family. This has definately been the most life changing experience of my life, and I wish Jim and everyone at the shelter the best of luck!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2012

more

September 18, 2012

Hi my name is Michelle I had came to the Mission june of 2010. I thought i had came there on accident but it wasnt, god diffently had a better plan for me there! I was at the wondering around Dunnelon sleeping under the bridge when the police departmant brouhgt me to the Mission In Citrus! I had came to Florida only to see daughter who i hadnt seen in over a year. The only problem was i had a dug problem and my ex husband had a alcohol problem and them together was a real problem! I had asked for help, but that only got my kids taken away for almost 2 years! The Mission in Citrus was the only place that would take me in! There i had meet Jim and what blessing that was for me! They helped me go through detoxing without medicine, got me clean and let me stay there so i could get my life together! With all the help and love there i was able to get my life back with my kids, get a decent job, and get my own apartment! Now ive been clean from herion for over two years and i could of never of made it through, without ALL the help and Love from the Mission ( JIM) and all the angel there!!! Jim I could never thank you enough, you are a true blessing and I couldnt had done it without all your help!!!!! My family and I would like to thank you for all the help, love and hope you provide to people, such as myself!!! Love you all, Michelle Nacy (barbie)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 16, 2012

more

September 16, 2012

MY NAME IS CHARLES, I CAME TO THE MISSION IN NEED OF SHELTER, I WAS ACCEPTED ON THE SPOT AND WHEN I EXPLAINED THAT I HAD A WIFE AND YOUNG SON STILL IN THE BAD SITUATION OF WHICH I HAD LEFT, JIM TOLD ME HE WANTS TO GET MY FAMILY BACK TOGETHER ASAP, IT TOOK A TOTAL OF ABOUT 2 DAYS AND WE WERE REUNITED AND GIVEN A BED IN A FAMILY SHELTER IN FLORAL CITY, WITHIN A FEW DAYS I FOUND WORK AND WITHIN 2 MONTHS I WAS ABLE TO MOVE MY FAMILY INTO OUR OWN PLACE, WE WOULD NOT BE WHERE WE ARE TODAY WITHOUT THE MISSION, THANK YOU JIM, AND ALL THE KIND PEOPLE AT THE MISSION FOR ALL YOU HAVE DONE FOR US, SPECIAL THANKS TO JOSH FOR BEING A FRIEND TO ME AND SOME ONE TO TALK TO, THANK YOU DELVA FOR WELCOMING MY WIFE WITH OPEN ARMS, AND TO THIER CHILDREN WHO MY SON BILLY LOVES AS HE WOULD HIS OWN BROTHERS AND SISTERS, THANKS TO RICKY AND HIS NEW WIFE WILLIEFOR ALL OF THIER HELP, THE MISSION IS BY FAR THE BEST HELP FOR THE HOMELESS AND VETS THAT I HAVE EVER EVEN HEARD OF, AND I SPENT A BIT OF TIME TRYING TO FIND A PLACE TO ACCEPT US AS A FAMILY, OR EVEN JUST ME FOR THAT MATTER, THANKS AGAIN I WISH THERE WAS A WAY TO SHOW MY APPRECATION, BUT THERE ARE NO WORDS THAT CAN TRULY EXPRESS THAT!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2012

more

August 30, 2012

Hi my name is Joshua Varkett. Me and my 2 kids have been a resident since June 2011. We found the Mission because my wife is an assistant director of the crystal river shelter. Thanks to the Mission my family is back together. They have help our lives out in many ways. Jim has helped me find a full time job through the shelter and on my time off i help with the driving and anything else needed around the shelter to help give back.If it wasn't for the Mission my wife would not be alive and my 2 children and I would be in the woods. I gratefully thank the Mission and everyone involved for all they do and have done!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2012

more

August 30, 2012

my name is Jessica Groom. i am 18 years old i arrived here on august 21,2012 after aging out of foster care and loosing everything i found myself in a desperate situation . I was homeless and had no where to turn .I heard about a lot of good things about the mission. I got here and was greeted with open arms .it is a great place for a new start .you really feel like family they do not judge we all know there is a reason for your being here and everyone has a story.everyone is treated fairly and with respect. when there is an issue it will be resolved .the mission is a great place they really help you to get back on your feet . the mission has helped me in so many ways physically ,emotionally ,and mentally. i and grateful that there are still places like this .

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2012

more

August 30, 2012

hi my name is janice groom . i am 18 and in the 12 grade i have been in and out of foster care for most of my life. my father was deported in 2007 back to El salvador and my mother is in a nursing home suffering from brain cancer . with all of that going on my twin sister and i had found ourselfs homeless .the mission for me has been a blessing in our desperate time of need. walking in i felt scared and alone, that was until the staff greated me with open arms. they made me feel like part of a family. they have showed me so much love never making me feel hopeless always there to incourage me when feeling down on life. i belive the mission is an amazing place for a fresh start. the staff really care about how you feel , always willing to help you with what ever it is you need to . the mission will teach you alot about yourself, it is a good safe place to grow and mature into a productive member of your community. being here will teach you team work, as well as being independent. we each have our own responsibility in tending to house work. the mission makes it a priority in finding a job. they always keep your spirits up in incouraging you to getting back out on your own. i feel the mission is a blessing to have for people who need some help in what could be the lowest part of their life. the mission really cares about the well being of the people that come in and out . they want to help and see them grow in every aspect of their lives. wheather that be mentally, physicaly, emotionally, or spiritually. if we need someone to pray with, or just someone to talk to they are here for you. if you want to go to church they will get you there. always there for you , never to judge, but lisen and give you support when you have no one else. we have group meetings every day . there is also alot of group stuff we do to. its kind of like group theripy it is optional ,you do not have to be recovering from drugs you can just go to learn life skill and tehecnics that can help you cope through the struggles of life. although i have not been here long i strongly belive that the misson is an amazing constructive place to grow.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide budgeting or parenting classes Volunteer