Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
209 Reviews
1234.803835
Write A Review
June 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was brought in two days ago and have been treated really well. They gave a bed that was clean to sleep in. I am also a US Army Veteran for fours years. I proudly served my country. I would definitely recommend the Mission to my friends and family if they were to become homeless.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 24, 2014

more

June 24, 2014

I was in a group home up in Marion County and i was threatened. I started walking from Marion County and was picked up by a lady who brought me to the Mission In Citrus. The staff has treated me wonderfully ever since i got here. If my friends and family ever got in my situation, I would definitely recommend this place to them. I have found that it is the best place to be when you are homeless. They treat you like you are part of their family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make no changes. It rund perfectly just the way it is

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 6, 2014

more

June 6, 2014

I am a 49 year old female. I was homeless. I called around Citrus County all the way up to Jacksonville to at least 15 different shelters. I was turned down by all except Mission in Citrus because of my health and physical ability. I had a stroke back in October 2013. All turned me down because I have to have a walker to assist my walking. I was told if I couldn't work and stand for 8 hours they couldn't assist me. Mr. Jim and the Mission took me in like family, willing to help any way they can. I was and am treated like family not like a outcast.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More assistance and funding for the homeless and disabled.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 6, 2014

more

June 6, 2014

I found my son and myself homeless, and scared to death. I couldn't imagine where we were going to end up, and I was told about The Mission of Citrus. I called and was greeted with such warmth on the phone and eased my mind. I felt awful cause all I did was cry. The next day I was brought to the Mission and when I drove up, I was surprised that it looked like a real home. I walked up and was greeted with such warmth, love and understanding. My we were welcomed with opened arms into a home an not just a house. This man Papa Jim took my son and myself in and all my son can say is that Papa rescued me and my mommy. The short time I have been here they have been loving, friendly and given us the tools to help us have something in life, I didn't think was possible. They have show grace and loving mercy. If it wasn't for Papa Jim and the Mission we would not have a chance because no one has ever loved and cared for us in my life. We have a chance because of this man who my son calls his rescuer and he is.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 6, 2014

more

June 6, 2014

i split up with my wife i had heard of a shelter here in crystal river so i got on my bike and made my way here i dont know what will happen in my relationship but i am very thankful for the help i have been given. i am looking for work and will continue until i find something.everybody has been very nice.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 6, 2014

more

June 6, 2014

My name is Tom and I was sent here by Seven Rivers Hospital because there was no other place for me to go due to the injuries that i received. I have been treated really well at the Mission even after I had to have my right leg amputated. The staff and residents at the Mission have been very helpful to me. I would definitely recommend the Mission to my friends and family if they ever became homeless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make any changes to the Mission.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 23, 2014

more

March 23, 2014

Was living with my father and he wanted some personal space. That is how I became homeless. Since I came to the mission everyone has been kind, helpful with providing resources that I could use to get back on my feet. My goals are to find a job and permanent housing of my own. While talking to people I recommend the mission for help if that is what they need.
March 23, 2014

more

March 23, 2014

as a veteran, I have seen this mission as a great jumping off point for those in need. Here to help others, this staff is kind and considerate, both in Inverness and Crystal River. The mission in citrus should be commended for their actions in helping those in need.
August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
March 21, 2014

john ive been sober 9 months inlaws n x sister didn't like that so x sister in law said I was cheating on my wife which I was not but they all belived x sister inlaw so I lost everything n also x sist... more

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been at the mission in Citrus Veterans shelter for 4 years now. Over the past 2 years I had to fight cancer and beat it. Two and a half years ago I started to have severe tremors and now because I had a great VA doctor I am tremor free. I now have rods in my spine and am diabetic. I also have to wear a shoe that has a 2 inch lift on it. How many shelters do you know that would go through all of these problems that one man would have. At one time I was going to leave the mission but when I told my doctor my plans she told me that with my health the way it is I need to stay right where I'm at. Dr. Kirchech told me that I couldn't be in A better place. Now I am able to help out the Mission that I love so much and praise god for every day I wake.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

john ive been sober 9 months inlaws n x sister didn't like that so x sister in law said I was cheating on my wife which I was not but they all belived x sister inlaw so I lost everything n also x sister said family never liked him anyway they held that in for 18 years so that is how I became homeless they said at the drop of a hat get out so I found this place n they r good people n we are all on hard times but we all make it work
July 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Jim Sleighter has been a very good person to me. when i first came to the mission, i had never been in this homless situation and needed a place to stay. Jim made me a director over a two year period. Dureing that time i started to get sick. This is my third year here and at present I half to use a wheel chair or a walker if posible. Jim and the mission are my family now and i praise god for giving me a family like them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 13, 2014

more

March 13, 2014

I became homeless because of a house fire over a year ago. I had been going to college and had to drop out because I was forced to leave because of the family issues. I am looking for work so I can get my own place and get my kids back. When I first got here I was scared but now its family. They have helped me get my ID and social sercuty card. They even let me know when and where there are job openings for me to apply for.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide budgeting or parenting classes Volunteer