Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
194 Reviews
1234.804125
Previous | 1 2 3...15 |
Write A Review
July 23, 2014

more

July 23, 2014

I first came to the mission four years ago, my ex husband had sold our home in new jersey and had abandoned me, I came to florida to reconcile with him, and things did not work out, I only had one night left in the hotel and was facing being on the streets with all my belongings, I asked the lady at the hayes motel for shelters in the area, and she gave me an article about the mission in citrus, I called and spoke to Jim, and he told me he had a bed and to come on over the next day, he even provided a ride for me. I was nervous when I first came here, but everyone was so warm and welcoming, that I started to relax and feel right at home, They helped me get food stamps and gave me time to find employment. I even met my husband here. The Mission in citrus is such an awesome shelter, everyone is so warm, friendly and welcoming. It"s more like a home than a shelter. It"s the best shelter in citrus county. They truly offer a hand up, not a hand out. They do everything they can to help you become independent and get back on your feet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change one thing about the mission. Everything they do is to help you get back on your feet and be on your own.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 23, 2014

more

July 23, 2014

I had got my self in trouble and went to jail! When I got out I had no were to go! So I looked on line and found the mission and gave them a call! When I spoke with the lady on the phone and she took my information and told me she would call me back! In about 30 min she called me back and told me that they had a bed for me! Then she told me about the things that they could help me with! Like helping me find a job, get me to a doctor if needed, tranportation, most of all a place to sleep and food in my belly! An for all that I am truly greatfull!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to help raise money to expand the place so that more people could get help!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 23, 2014

more

July 23, 2014

The Mission is the place where i can sleep, fix meals, and use my oxygen. The Mission has helped out quite a bit since I have been here. Without the Mission I wouldn't be able to use my oxygen. I would tell people about the Mission and tell to come and check it out.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 23, 2014

more

July 23, 2014

My name is Dan, I came to the Mission in Citrus on 7/9/14 after two weeks of hospitalization in a dual-diagnosis facility for depression and substance abuse. I had never been to a shelter, nor had ever been in such a state as how I came to be here, without home, vehicle, money, food, even clothing. The Mission is amazing, I have been given a bed, clothing, food, a sober facility and structure to remain sober, and encouragement to find work and get back onto my feet, Two weeks later I am amazed at how well this facility helps the community and think it should be recognized as a model for all shelters across the country, if only more homeless and despondent people could be blessed so much. Thank You all who donate anything to the shelter(s), including time and resources.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand it to more cities in our county

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 23, 2014

more

July 23, 2014

my name is angela, i came two this shelter on 7/16/14 at about ten at night cause where i was staying the guy could not handel my children fighting and yelling and argueing,so he told me to pack my things and he had hi daughter inlaw bring me here she works at walmart and she knows the people here and also donates things from walmart to here,so i have been treated with the up most respect and everyone here is like family to me eveyone is awesome kind respectful and loving to me and my children,so i am very greatful for them letting me and my to children come in to there home and letting me stay till i find a home of my own,i also just got my children back with me from being in the states custody fromm being removed almost one year ago because of child abuse,i had locked my son out of the house cause he was trying to hit my three other children witch are girls,so the police came and said that was child abuse and i whent to jail about six days and they took the children from me so ....i am sincerly greatful for them letting me and my children come in there home and letting us stay till i get my own place.....thankyou so so much the missons of citrus county.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 23, 2014

more

July 23, 2014

I was in a bad spot in my life and prayed out to god to give me some direction in life. What I got was 2 months in jail, my children were taken by DCF, and I lost my place. When I got out I had nowhere to go and because of my charge the Mission was leery about allowing me to stay with them. Then they called back because the Director had a big heart and allowed me and my wife to stay here and allow us to begin rebuilding our life. I thank god for the Mission everyday and hope that one day I can repay the kindness afforded to me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 23, 2014

more

July 23, 2014

I came to Mission Of Citrus after the home I lived in for almost 2 years was foreclosed on due to my grandparents passing since they owned the place. I was treated like family even thought the people here didn't have to. If it was for Mission I would be out in the streets

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more people help donate

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

my parent kicked me out and they gave me a place to say no questions asked.i would definitely recommend the mission to anyone in need .they are great people at the board and are very caring.If you need something they will find a way to get it for you if you cant find it . I would also like to give a shoutout to jim, chip and mrs cat for all they have done its been an awsome time staying with yall .

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get a basket ball for the basket ball hoop

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 23, 2014

more

July 23, 2014

hello my name is Mario i became homeless four months ago and here at the shelter helps me find my heart again now its my turn to help others out more then ever my helping them helps them means more then anything in then the world I would definitely recommend the Mission to my friends and family if they were ever to become homeless themselves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i would recommend not to make any changes

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was brought in two days ago and have been treated really well. They gave a bed that was clean to sleep in. I am also a US Army Veteran for fours years. I proudly served my country. I would definitely recommend the Mission to my friends and family if they were to become homeless.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...15 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide budgeting or parenting classes Volunteer