Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
178 Reviews
1234.786525
Previous | 1 2 3...13 |
Write A Review
March 23, 2014

more

March 23, 2014

Was living with my father and he wanted some personal space. That is how I became homeless. Since I came to the mission everyone has been kind, helpful with providing resources that I could use to get back on my feet. My goals are to find a job and permanent housing of my own. While talking to people I recommend the mission for help if that is what they need.
March 23, 2014

more

March 23, 2014

as a veteran, I have seen this mission as a great jumping off point for those in need. Here to help others, this staff is kind and considerate, both in Inverness and Crystal River. The mission in citrus should be commended for their actions in helping those in need.
March 21, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 18, 2012

Jim Sleighter has been a very good person to me. when i first came to the mission, i had never been in this homless situation and needed a place to stay. Jim made me a director over a two year period.... more

March 21, 2014

john ive been sober 9 months inlaws n x sister didn't like that so x sister in law said I was cheating on my wife which I was not but they all belived x sister inlaw so I lost everything n also x sister said family never liked him anyway they held that in for 18 years so that is how I became homeless they said at the drop of a hat get out so I found this place n they r good people n we are all on hard times but we all make it work
July 18, 2012

Jim Sleighter has been a very good person to me. when i first came to the mission, i had never been in this homless situation and needed a place to stay. Jim made me a director over a two year period. Dureing that time i started to get sick. This is my third year here and at present I half to use a wheel chair or a walker if posible. Jim and the mission are my family now and i praise god for giving me a family like them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 13, 2014

more

March 13, 2014

I became homeless because of a house fire over a year ago. I had been going to college and had to drop out because I was forced to leave because of the family issues. I am looking for work so I can get my own place and get my kids back. When I first got here I was scared but now its family. They have helped me get my ID and social sercuty card. They even let me know when and where there are job openings for me to apply for.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 14, 2012

your the best jim if the lord didnt send me to the mission i dont know where my life would be , i have my freedom back and im around people that understand day to day life and reality god bless u jim more

February 24, 2014

i have been a resident on and off four times now. yes i could not get it right and i had to go back.this last time i was laying in a hospital bed with blood clots that almost killed me.thats when jim showed up to citrus memorial to see me. and he sat with me for about 15 or twenty minutes . then we prayed for my recovery .ladies and gentelmen you have to understand that jim runs all four shelters,his phone is constantly ringing , theres always something that pops up daily good or bad but that is everyday life.i have called him when i was in dallas texas , california ,washington , no matter what time i called he was always there for me. if it was not for the mission and the kind hearts of the staff i dont know what would of happend to me. all i can say is thank you all . im starting a new life again . may GOD bless you all

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2012

your the best jim if the lord didnt send me to the mission i dont know where my life would be , i have my freedom back and im around people that understand day to day life and reality god bless u jim

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2014

more

February 15, 2014

JUNE,26 2009 I was riding my bicycle on the side of the road 19 in Homosassa Fla. When I stopped and talk to a man who was known as Hobo Joe. A homeless man. I ask him him where he lived and he told me where evr he could find a a place to lay his head. Then I told him about a program I was at and who was the director and he told me that he left that place not happy.Well at the time I was not happy there either. Hobo Joe told me about the Mission in citrus homeless shelter and that I should go and talk to a man name Jim. He told me what Jim looked like , That he was a big man. So I road my bicycle al the way from Homosassa to Crystal River and found the mission in citrus homeless shelter. It so happens that the big man Jim was standing right out side. I road up to him and told him that Hobo Joe sent me to him to talk to him about geeting into his shelter. And I told him all about me and how I was a country boy raise out of the Ocala National Forrest, That I know how to fish, hunt, track and trap animals. And he then said to me. Do you know that "GOD" sent me to him. And I said no how. He said you just told me you can track animals . can you track people also. I said yes That I can tell the differance between Animal trails and human trails. Then he ask me if I would go out and track and find people in the woods and bring them back to the shelter so we can help them. And I said yes. Then my job in the shelter as we called it bicycle patrol began. Jim really took me under his arm and loved me and taught me alot about love that I did not have in me. And the love from total strangers was so much of a spiritual builder in the mission in citrus that I was at total peace. Each person had there place and job to up hold in the shelter and no one had to ask for help because if someone saw someone needing help they would just join right end and help without being told . they did it out of love for that person in need of help. I have never in my life seen or felt so much love as the LOVE that I felt in a place with people that I did not know than the mission in citrus homeless shelter. People who came from all back grounds of life came together as one happy family full of love for each other working together to help other nw comers coming into the shelter. I WILL SAY "GOD" is the focus in the shelter. people are not made to go to church in there but they go everyone of them. And Boy at the Miracles that I witnessed in the shelter was Amazing, Finacial Miracles, Physical Miracales, Savational Miracales. I am now out and working and living life on lifes terms a better man, a changed man in my heart because of the love that "GOD" showed me in the mission in citrus homeless shelter that was giving to me from people that loved me for who I was and did not judge me for the things in my past but help me get up and go forward to my future. So I say , don't judge people for their past, don't kick a dog when their down, Help people to a better future, give a hand to help them up. And he has no sin cast the first stone. One last words to say. THANK YOU. "GOD" For Mission In Citrus Homeless Shelter. And thank you for Jim Sleighter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to the organization, I would not change a thing. Because "GOD" is in it all the way.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 2, 2014

more

January 2, 2014

Hello, I came to the Mission the first of November after getting out of Jail on probation. I had nowhere to go, I was living with my mother-in-law but she passed away when I went to jail. I have been working on getting my kids back and finding a place of my own. The Mission has helped me get around to all of places I need to go to get back on my feet. They are so kind and open hearted to everyone. I am extremely thankful for all of their help and assistance!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 2, 2014

more

January 2, 2014

Thanks to the mission i was given a safe place to stay. They help all in need who come to there door step. Im thankful for everything they have done for me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 2, 2014

more

January 2, 2014

I became homeless on December 1, 2013 and Citrus County Officer Deputy Bruno informed to go to a shelter on Grover Cleveland in Homosassa. It was called The Grace House. When I went there, they informed me that I was too much of a high risk individual and they did not want me there because of all my medical conditions. So they gave me the phone number and address to The Mission and told me to go there because they couldn't help me. So I came here in a renter U-Haul and Mr. Jim said I could stay and I've been here ever since. I was terrified being first time homeless; they all made me feel welcomed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I really wouldn't know of anything since it's my first time being homeless.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 2, 2014

more

January 2, 2014

My daughter found this place on the internet, I think. I called and did a pre-intake interview and was immediately approved. I was told to come on in and bring my clothes. I have been treated fine since coming in. The residents are peaceful, there's plenty of food and the accommodations are fine.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not make any.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...13 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide budgeting or parenting classes Volunteer