Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
209 Reviews
1234.803835
Write A Review
February 16, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 16, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

my name is Katherine I have come so far since coming to the mission I am now helping and also have a family that loves me for who I am
August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
March 21, 2014

john ive been sober 9 months inlaws n x sister didn't like that so x sister in law said I was cheating on my wife which I was not but they all belived x sister inlaw so I lost everything n also x sist... more

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been at the mission in Citrus Veterans shelter for 4 years now. Over the past 2 years I had to fight cancer and beat it. Two and a half years ago I started to have severe tremors and now because I had a great VA doctor I am tremor free. I now have rods in my spine and am diabetic. I also have to wear a shoe that has a 2 inch lift on it. How many shelters do you know that would go through all of these problems that one man would have. At one time I was going to leave the mission but when I told my doctor my plans she told me that with my health the way it is I need to stay right where I'm at. Dr. Kirchech told me that I couldn't be in A better place. Now I am able to help out the Mission that I love so much and praise god for every day I wake.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

john ive been sober 9 months inlaws n x sister didn't like that so x sister in law said I was cheating on my wife which I was not but they all belived x sister inlaw so I lost everything n also x sister said family never liked him anyway they held that in for 18 years so that is how I became homeless they said at the drop of a hat get out so I found this place n they r good people n we are all on hard times but we all make it work
July 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Jim Sleighter has been a very good person to me. when i first came to the mission, i had never been in this homless situation and needed a place to stay. Jim made me a director over a two year period. Dureing that time i started to get sick. This is my third year here and at present I half to use a wheel chair or a walker if posible. Jim and the mission are my family now and i praise god for giving me a family like them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I'm proud to donate my time and resources to the Mission in Citrus. They are saving lives in our community and providing people with a hand up not a hand out. The Director and The Board work tirelessly to help people get their lives back in order with dignity and compassion,
They not only
provide a secure environment for the residents, they offer assistance in areas like job training and money matters, they help them in obtaining the resources they need to get back on their feet, help obtaining health and dental care etc.
The Mission strives to keep families together, help Veterans in need, and in general give people HOPE.
I'm grateful they exist in times like these and I'm grateful to know such a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been treated fair ever since I came to the Mission. I was told about the Mission by a friend at a campground that I was staying at. I would recommend the Mission to anyone. The staff here does a really good job.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

The first day I met Pastor Jim I knew his heart was to help the homeless. I have watched him help so many people in need regardless of race, ethnicity, or background. His shelter has given people hope... more

March 25, 2014

I am just a willing vessel for the Lord. I have found over the years that Pastor Jim has a heart of gold. He goes endless days and nights without rest just to be sure the needs of people in this community are met. He fights for a good cause and pushes people to be their best. Pastor Jim is truly on a MISSION FROM GOD and may his efforts be richly rewarded. Many abundant blessings to Pastor Jim and all the residents who have come through these doors.

A Quiet Little Angel
Love You All ... Big Hugs
October 25, 2012

The first day I met Pastor Jim I knew his heart was to help the homeless. I have watched him help so many people in need regardless of race, ethnicity, or background. His shelter has given people hope, love, spirituality, and forgiveness. He treats others as equal and never looks down on people. His mission is to help the homeless but at the same time is also on a mission from God. I believe because of his faithfulness to serve the homeless and the Lord he is rewarded in more ways than money could ever buy. May he continue in good health and in good spirits with the Lord's hand of protection around each and every person there. God Bless You Pastor Jim. Just a quiet Angel sent to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working here at Mission in Citrus since December and I must say that I look forward to coming to work everyday. It is such a nice environment, I am treated like family, as is everyone who comes here. Jim, the executive director, loves to help people and wants to help as many people as he can. He especially has a heart for veterans. If you give a donation to Mission in Citrus, your donation is going to a great cause!! And if you need a place to stay, I definitely recommend coming here.
January 2, 2014

more

January 2, 2014

I love the Mission in Citrus! The people are very nice. I have plenty of food and I'm welcomed here with opened arms.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 2, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 16, 2012

We fell on hard times and a friend took us by there and they were so kind and respectful and have always been helpful with any problem that has come up along the way. They have most of the time had ... more

January 2, 2014

It was fine I thought it to be a lot worse but it ain't to bad accept getting up early

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let ppl sleep ril 10:00

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 16, 2012

We fell on hard times and a friend took us by there and they were so kind and respectful and have always been helpful with any problem that has come up along the way. They have most of the time had an answer to whatever the situation was at the time without feeling left out in the cold. The group at the mission is a very caring group that can do a lot of good for what little we have to work with at times.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 26, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 21, 2013

The Mission in Citrus serves over 90% of the homeless in Citrus County, Florida. No one gets a salary for working there but give back to the mission for what the mission has done for them, turn their ... more

December 26, 2013

The Mission in Citrus is an inter-faith homeless shelters with four locations serving veterans, women and children and families. The Mission in Citrus serves over 90 % of the large number of the homeless in Citrus County, Florida. It constantly has to fight the county government administration who feels that homelessness does not exist in Citrus County. The Mission also serves countless homeless in the woods throughout Citrus County. If given the opportunity the Mission in Citrus could eliminate homelessness in Citrus County.

The annual budget to serve over 1,200 souls in 2013 is less than other homeless organizations marketing budgets with only 35 people being served.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Mission in Citrus serves over 90% of the homeless in Citrus County, Florida. No one gets a salary for working there but give back to the mission for what the mission has done for them, turn their lives around. 100 % of funds donated go directly to programs that help build up the self-worth and self-esteem, get jobs and help the homeless find future homes so they can become independent and self supporting.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help the director get more rest.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 15, 2012

My name is Bernie and a professional volunteer advisor working with the Mission In Citrus in developing new programs that will help the people build self confidence, experience in development/planned giving, public relations, media contact and learning about the needs of the homeless. They are wonderful, hard working, dedicated and focused on getting back into the work force and eventually getting their own place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I work with the homeless students in Citrus County. I attend Community meetings in Citrus County and work with people from other counties that also serve homeless students. I know firsthand what a blessing it is to have a place that will allow children to stay when their family is need. There are many counties in Florida that do not have any type of Shelter and most cannot take children. It is such a joy to see children safe, clean, fed and ready to go to school without worrying where they will sleep at night. Thank you, Jim and all of the Missions’ supporters. Great things come from a Manger.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide budgeting or parenting classes Volunteer