Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
209 Reviews
1234.803835
Write A Review
August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
March 21, 2014

john ive been sober 9 months inlaws n x sister didn't like that so x sister in law said I was cheating on my wife which I was not but they all belived x sister inlaw so I lost everything n also x sist... more

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been at the mission in Citrus Veterans shelter for 4 years now. Over the past 2 years I had to fight cancer and beat it. Two and a half years ago I started to have severe tremors and now because I had a great VA doctor I am tremor free. I now have rods in my spine and am diabetic. I also have to wear a shoe that has a 2 inch lift on it. How many shelters do you know that would go through all of these problems that one man would have. At one time I was going to leave the mission but when I told my doctor my plans she told me that with my health the way it is I need to stay right where I'm at. Dr. Kirchech told me that I couldn't be in A better place. Now I am able to help out the Mission that I love so much and praise god for every day I wake.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

john ive been sober 9 months inlaws n x sister didn't like that so x sister in law said I was cheating on my wife which I was not but they all belived x sister inlaw so I lost everything n also x sister said family never liked him anyway they held that in for 18 years so that is how I became homeless they said at the drop of a hat get out so I found this place n they r good people n we are all on hard times but we all make it work
July 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Jim Sleighter has been a very good person to me. when i first came to the mission, i had never been in this homless situation and needed a place to stay. Jim made me a director over a two year period. Dureing that time i started to get sick. This is my third year here and at present I half to use a wheel chair or a walker if posible. Jim and the mission are my family now and i praise god for giving me a family like them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 8, 2013

M'y family and i lived at the mission for 10 months , in that Time WE were treated good and helped alot! WE volunteered at évents through the mission and had fun too!!! WE also Made lots of friends !... more

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

M'y family and i stayer There from august 2010 till June 2011. WE were treated very well and learned how to help others who came after us !!! The mission is like a big family , if one person is upset ,everyone tries to cher them up !!! And lots of Love !!! Even though WE moves back to nj , WE still spread the word about the mission !!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

M'y family and i lived at the mission for 10 months , in that Time WE were treated good and helped alot! WE volunteered at évents through the mission and had fun too!!! WE also Made lots of friends !!! Its the best !!! The mission helps everybody !! Nô matter what !!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

M'y family and i lived at the mission for 10 monts before getting a place . They were Nice and helped us Get on our feet . I recommend this place to anyone .

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I'm proud to donate my time and resources to the Mission in Citrus. They are saving lives in our community and providing people with a hand up not a hand out. The Director and The Board work tirelessly to help people get their lives back in order with dignity and compassion,
They not only
provide a secure environment for the residents, they offer assistance in areas like job training and money matters, they help them in obtaining the resources they need to get back on their feet, help obtaining health and dental care etc.
The Mission strives to keep families together, help Veterans in need, and in general give people HOPE.
I'm grateful they exist in times like these and I'm grateful to know such a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

this place is great. the people here are very nice and loving. i would recommend this place to anyone who needs help. its a great environment to bring kids of all ages. its very friendly.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have only been here one day today, I ended up here due to a series of unfortunate events. I now realize it was nothing but a blessing. The people in here are the nicest people I have ever encountered it was a blessing to have found this place. If in the future I ever run into someone that is homeless and scared like I was only yesterday. I would tell them to come here to understand that there are still people out there who care.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am only one day into this program, but my 1st day experience was overwhelmingly like being placed in haven. So far, everyone is kind and generous. I go day by day, I anticipate a pleasant and productive and spiritual experience from my stay here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

At this time, I have no\t had enough experience to comment, on this subject.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first came to the mission four years ago, my ex husband had sold our home in new jersey and had abandoned me, I came to florida to reconcile with him, and things did not work out, I only had one night left in the hotel and was facing being on the streets with all my belongings, I asked the lady at the hayes motel for shelters in the area, and she gave me an article about the mission in citrus, I called and spoke to Jim, and he told me he had a bed and to come on over the next day, he even provided a ride for me. I was nervous when I first came here, but everyone was so warm and welcoming, that I started to relax and feel right at home, They helped me get food stamps and gave me time to find employment. I even met my husband here. The Mission in citrus is such an awesome shelter, everyone is so warm, friendly and welcoming. It"s more like a home than a shelter. It"s the best shelter in citrus county. They truly offer a hand up, not a hand out. They do everything they can to help you become independent and get back on your feet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change one thing about the mission. Everything they do is to help you get back on your feet and be on your own.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been treated fair ever since I came to the Mission. I was told about the Mission by a friend at a campground that I was staying at. I would recommend the Mission to anyone. The staff here does a really good job.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 23, 2014

more

July 23, 2014

I had got my self in trouble and went to jail! When I got out I had no were to go! So I looked on line and found the mission and gave them a call! When I spoke with the lady on the phone and she took my information and told me she would call me back! In about 30 min she called me back and told me that they had a bed for me! Then she told me about the things that they could help me with! Like helping me find a job, get me to a doctor if needed, tranportation, most of all a place to sleep and food in my belly! An for all that I am truly greatfull!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to help raise money to expand the place so that more people could get help!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 23, 2014

more

July 23, 2014

The Mission is the place where i can sleep, fix meals, and use my oxygen. The Mission has helped out quite a bit since I have been here. Without the Mission I wouldn't be able to use my oxygen. I would tell people about the Mission and tell to come and check it out.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide budgeting or parenting classes Volunteer