Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
178 Reviews
1234.786525
| 1 ... 12 13 14...17 |
Write A Review
July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

I am very proud of the homeless and have been blessed since I founded it in 2008. They have proven that they can help each other without paid staff when given the proper resources.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

My name is Scott and I'm a USMC and US Army veteran. A traumatic event in November 2010 left me jobless, penniless, without a support network, and homeless. I reached out to many nonprofit homeless shelters for immediate assistance but none responded. I was making plans, to my utter horror, to live in the woods when Jim Sleighter of Mission in Citrus contacted me. With his help I was able to find long-term housing in Gainesville and now I recently accepted a good job offer from the Veterans Administration. I've come a long way in the past 2 years, but I didn't come alone. Thank you, Jim.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 2, 2012

I just want to say thank you for all the help that you have giving me and my daughter. Without the Mission in Citrus we would be on the street and my daughter would be taken away from me. Jim has been there for me no matter what has been going on with me and won't give up. On the homeless no matter what the cost.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

It was a few years ago, i had just gotten out of jail, and couldn't return back to where i used to call home, so now left with nothing, and unable to go back and get my belongings, i called a few people whom i concidered to be friends, but low and behold, i quickly found out who my friends where, it took me a lil time to figure that out though, i struggled with the fact of not knowing what i was going to do, who do i turn to, thats when i turned to someone i would do anything for, and that man is James Sleighter, and te friends and family at the mission in citrus, he took me in when no one else would, showed me the way i should live and prayed for me, as he does anyone who steps through the door, im also glad to know that if anything ever happens where i need a place to stay, i have my good friend and someone im proud to call a brother James Sleighter, thanks so much!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 27, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
June 27, 2012

i came to the mission in citrus when i got into a bind with a friend that turned on me. i moved to florida on december 16th of 2012. from kansas. she was the only person i knew. and as most of theas storys that start this way i had gotten kiked out of her place, and i became homless. for about three days me and the father of my kids. slept in the woods. it was cold at nights and we knew no one. we had no food and i was two and half months pregnent. then a paster from a church that we went to told us about the mission. when we got there everyone was so nice and helpful. the manager (james sleighter) said he will help us as much as he could and he did he has helped me with shelter and food. he has taught me so many things finachualy and for my alot of other problems iv had. and i thank jim and all the wonderful people i met at the mission. if i didnt go to the mission i would probly still be living in the woods. and would have probly lost my baby do to lack of nuishment. and i dont know any other place that would have helped me. i want to thank and bless the mission and all who lives there andjim for having sucha good hart.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
June 27, 2012

Hi,my name is Kayla and I am 16 years old I am here because my family is having a hard time getting jobs and getting a home.My father's name is Chip,my mom is Peggy and my brother is D.j.I would do anything in the world for them.Jim is one of the most nicest people I know.He cares about everyone at Mission in Citrus.I'm very greatful Jim took my family in when we had no where to go,we would be on the streets if it wasn't for him.The best part about living at Mission in Citrus is a very special woman named Willma,we all call her Momma Willma.She works at a thrift store and brings home something for everyone every day.She has the biggest heart in the place besides Jim.People at Mission in Citrus have taught me that I'm not alone in the situation I'm currently in.I thank God veryday for Mission in Citrus!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
June 27, 2012

My name is ashley. I am a twenty-six your old with three children all under the age of eight. My husband and I have been married going on eight years. Recently my husband has became physically enabled, his spine is deterioating and had to quit working. On top of that I had also lost my job. Like day to night we went to living pretty decently to winding up in our very small compact car, My husband, three children and I literally had Only the clothes that were on our backs. Parking the car in some nearby woods and diving the dumpsters at night just to keep the hunger pains out of our bellys. Listening to my children cry from hunger until they fell asleep drove me to the brink of suicide. I knew that my husband and I could not take it no longer. From out of no where someone had told us of the missions in crystal river florida. Mind you we had been on the phone for half a day looking for a shelter and not a single soul would help us. When we told "papa" Jim about our situation without a thought he told us to come and that he would NEVER have children and a family live that way. That day we came here we were fed a wonderful meal, we were givin clean clothing and had a warm bed to sleep in. Since then the mission has takin us in and made us family. My children have three healthy meals a day and even the occasional happy meal from "papa". They love him and he loves them back as if they were his own. I have NEVER in my life seen such passion to help a complete stranger in need as I have here. I thank God everyday. Thank you for your love and compassion if not for you I would not be here today.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
June 27, 2012

I came here by my sister who had dropped me off.Jim has helped me out immesely.Though my seizres and all my problems.With my daughter and had the patients for me.I love him with all my heart and will always be here for him.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
June 27, 2012

My name is Peggy and I am grateful the Mission In Citrus was here for me and my family to come to when we fell on bad times. They welcomed us here with open arms and accepted us. They are currently helping us with trying to get back on our feet. It will be a place that I will recommend to my friends and family if they ever need a place to stay when they fall on bad times.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
June 27, 2012

i think that the mission is a very important part of our community it helps a lot of people and its help me become a better person but we are struggleing to help more if we had the funds we could help a lot more people we need your help if you can see it in your heart to help the less fortunate it would be kindly appreciated and it would be put to good use the mission has given me a roof over my head and has tought me the importance of helping others they have given me rides to work food to eat and so much more now i am a part of the mission and the staff is my family and i love each and everyone i have come in contact with and would do anything to give back to them i thank them and pray blessing on anyone that helps thank you and god bless

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide budgeting or parenting classes Volunteer