Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
201 Reviews
1234.810955
Write A Review
August 20, 2012

more

August 20, 2012

My children and I were living in an extremely abusive situation out of state. The Mission answered my desparate prayers to get my children to safety. I will be eternally grateful for the support given to me and my children. Life can be so hard sometimes and thanks to these wonderful people, I dont have to face it alone.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2012

more

August 20, 2012

The Mission In Citrus is one of the most home places I've been in a while. Me and my son have been here for a month now and they have helped me out in every way possible my son feels at home and I feel great safety for both me and my son. I want to thank Jim and the rest of the people that help run these shelters if it wasnt for them I would have a safe place for me and my son to sleep at night. Again Thank all of you!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 21, 2011

I was in The Mission in Citrus for about 3-4 months. James was a great guy - helped me out when he could. I had to go to probation and he always made sure I got there. They recieve donations of clo... more

August 16, 2012

I lived there for 7 months and received all the services available. The director, Jim, is a great guy. The shelter I stayed at was run smoothly with great concern for safety. When I needed a roof over my head, Jim took me in when there was no room. The only complaint about the shelter is that there is NOT enough beds.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 21, 2011

I was in The Mission in Citrus for about 3-4 months. James was a great guy - helped me out when he could. I had to go to probation and he always made sure I got there. They recieve donations of clothes which help everyone dress for jobs. One month after beginning my stay at the mission, God showed himself to me through a friend I had made there. James uses a Christian influence, without forcing everyone under it. He requires everyone to leave Mon-Fri to look for work, and on Sundays you have to leave in the morning until noon. He doesn't require you to go to church, but there is ample opportunity with multiple vehicles. When I first went in I was sleeping in a tent - as people moved out Jim moved others into the houses. Since then the tents have all been taken down unfortunately. Jim pushed the idea of opening my own business and going back to school, while working with local churches for others to get them to other states where they needed to be. Now I'm involved with another non-profit that works with several missions, and we love to help Jim when we can.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Getting people back on their feet - assisting people as much as possible without being their mother.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire or get a volunteer to help oversee some of the shelters so that it's not just one person running each of the missions.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Getting better for myself, and getting back on my feet never to go back to having to be dependent - but if the situation happens I won't be worried.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 19, 2012

more

July 19, 2012

I arrived at the Mission on 3/8/10. When I got here, I was in the middle of going through a disability case. After I was here for a while, I was trying yo adjust. I have been dealing with alcohol issues. I got into a little trouble while staying here. The Mission has helped me through the toughest times. I have started receiving my disability last year and was able to purchase a RV. Jim has been quite a mentor to me. I have learned a great deal of patience since I have been here. I thank GOD for Jim and the Misison because without them I would be wandering aimlessly wondering what to do or where to go. Since I have been here, I have a sense of direction on getting my life back on track and alcohol free

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 19, 2012

more

July 19, 2012

When I got to the Mission In Citrus I came across some good friends. They really helped me and my wife. The Mission is a good place to stay if you ever need the help with anything. They will help you change your life if you want to change it. They will help you get up on your feet. It was a blessing to my wife and I that we came across the Mission In Citrus.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 19, 2012

more

July 19, 2012

I came from Tampa Florida working our way north to Arkansas. And we heard about the Mission In Citrus. So we came here and they welcomed us with open arms and helped me and my husband find resources to get up to Arkansas. Without them we would have been in the woods. And being pregnant in the woods isnt a good thing and I am glad that they helped us out. We thank them for everything that they have done for us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2012

more

July 18, 2012

Being at the Mission has been the best rehabilitaion I have ever had. I volunteer and stay at the Mission. I am very thankful that they have provided me a place to stay. I thank GOD for the Mission every day.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2012

more

July 18, 2012

The Mission In Citrus is the most awesome program that I have seen. There is no other program like it in the whole United States. I would make sure that I would recommend the Mission In Citrus to anyone I come across that is in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 18, 2012

After traveling with the carnival for many years, the shelter is providing me with a place to start a new life. From here I can look for a job and anything else I need to get back into the mainstream. Being a Veteran these sevices ar greatly appreciated.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 18, 2012

My name is Walter Mowry, I am a Veteran of the Viet-Nam war period. Fortuneately, I was not called to serve overseas. Ever since my divorce and the many medical problems that I have developed along the way, as well as my alcohol abuse, I have not been able to hold down a job. I applied for Social Security Disabiliy and was approved. This allowed me to be able to get help from Veterans's Mission in Citrus, Fl. I have only been here for two weeks, however what I have recieved from my stay here, is an extremely comfortably clean place to lay my head. I have stayed in many shelters and this one is most assuredly the most pleasant in which I have been. There is plenty of food to eat and entertainment.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide budgeting or parenting classes Volunteer