Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: International, International Relief

Mission: Believing in the dignity of all people, we support education and share blessings, food, medicine, and shelter with our Haitian brothers and sisters.

Results: We have been able to build back better and stronger from the 2010 earthquake. Our elder care program has a new dormatory and new bathroom building. We are working now to raise money for better farm equipment. Also, we support and are looking for partners to support a new secondary school to replace one lost in the earthquake.

Target demographics: Children and the elderly.

Geographic areas served: Leogane, Haiti

Programs: Education, elder care, sustainable farming.

Community Stories

11 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Mission Haiti is an amazing organization. Mission Haiti partners with Haitians to support sustaining projects. In addition to supporting projects in education, agriculture, and care for the elderly - Mission Haiti supports individual Haitians to accomplish their hopes and dreams.

1

Donor

Rating: 5

Mission Haiti Inc is somewhat small in stature yet very large with the ongoing partnership that they continue to develop with the people of Haiti. All of the folks involved in the organization from volunteers to donors are ordinary folks who simply share the extraordinary goal of working towards parity and social justice to ensure that regardless of where one lives, all may have an opportunity at a rich and dignified life.

2 Shawn19

Volunteer

Rating: 5

My whole family went to Haiti with MHI president, Jimmy Dunn. The whole experience changed the lives of me and my husband and all our kids. EVERYONE involved with MHI is volunteer. All money raised goes directly to help the people of Haiti. It's amazing. Check it out.

Previous Stories
3

Donor

Rating: 5

My husband and all of our children have traveled to Haiti in the last couple years with members of the MHI board. I just can't say enough good things about what MHI is doing to change the lives of those in desperate need of help. I can say with confidence, after witnessing it with my own eyes and ears and hands and heart, that every penny our family donates is used in the most thoughtful, meaningful manner to help the people in Haiti.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ShelleyB 10/22/2014

We're so grateful that your family is part of the MHI family! Thanks for your kind words.

Donor

Rating: 5

Fantastic organization. Doing great things. I fully support them.

3

Donor

Rating: 5

Mission Haiti doesn't filter money -- it goes directly to Haitians in need for medical services, training, education, farming, schools, and elder care. The board members I know are exceptionally caring people and highly dedicated to the organizational goals. This is a truly exceptional organization.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ShelleyB 10/27/2014

Thanks for your support!

1

Donor

Rating: 4

While we haven't had the chance to travel to Haiti, we have been able to donate money, empty pill bottles, etc. We are proud to have many of the beautiful crafts our Haitian friends created hanging in our home. They are constant reminders that we need to help one another.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ShelleyB 09/20/2013

Nicely said. Thank you.

1

Donor

Rating: 5

their work reflects and reaffirms the power of the importance of ONE GOOD DEAD. and like Hemmingway's cats," one begets another". None of us are better off than the least of us and their work has given help when need and hope when it was difficult to hope for,

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ShelleyB 09/19/2013

Nicely said! Thank you.

1

Donor

Rating: 5

Mission Haiti works efficiently, and with very little overhead, and they inform their choices by much hands-on experience on site. They facilitate many volutneer trips to Haiti where not only are contributions used wisely, but also relationships are forged and sustained. The travellers to Haiti go on to engage more people with the good work of Mission Haiti, providing education and perspective to all the donors and potential donors.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ShelleyB 09/19/2013

Thank you for sharing your insight about Mission Haiti Inc. We on the Board so appreciate your support.

2

Donor

Rating: 5

I have been donating to Mission Haiti for years. They are a wonderful organization that supports kindness and communitiy building in Haiti, where it is needed greatly. By providing children with enducation, and adults with respect and dignity they are planting the seeds for sustainable economic growth and combating poverty where it is needed most.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ShelleyB 09/19/2013

On behalf of the Board of Mission Haiti Inc., thank you!

2

Donor

Rating: 5

My involvement with Mission Haiti, Inc. has been as a Director of the Congregation of St. Joseph Generous Promise Grant Fund. We, Sisters of St. Joseph have funded this extraordinary group for the past 3 years. I had the wonderful opportunity this year to be on site and experience the great work that is being accomplished by MH, empowering the Haitians themselves to making system changes especially in the area of education. The children were so full of life, so happy, and so wanted to be in these schools both elementary and secondary. MH is giving them the opportunity for learning by providing for good teachers and a stable environment run by the Haitian Sisters, the Companions of Jesus.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ShelleyB 11/01/2012

We are so very grateful to the Congregation of St. Joseph for awarding us Generous Promise Grants for three years. We have been able to provide services that we would not have been able to otherwise. Thank you!

1 Judd J.

Donor

Rating: 5

I live in Haiti and work with another organization in Leogane. I have worked on projects right next to MH in Leogane. I have been witnessing the good work there and am proud to have had a part by being a donor. The work is down to earth and worth it. I actually looked for this organization for some time--just didn't have the name or contact info. When I finally found out where they were I couldn't believe it--really close to where I live. They are not austentatious and from my conversations with folks who are a part of this I know that this organization is out to serve. One of the pioneers of this organization once gave me a small card which I had pinned to the cork board beside my desk. It read "You haven't lived today unless you have done something for someone who can never repay you. " I have worked in this community for more than a year and know how needy the people are. There is about 80-85% unemployment here. Many of the homes were destroyed by the earthquake. I have been helping with overseas projects on site for the last 26 years. In Latin America and the Carribean and the work in this rea is very challenging but very fulfilling, too. MH is one of the good ones!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ShelleyB 11/01/2012

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! This is an amazing story. I'm so glad that you found us.