Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
235 Reviews
1234.931915
Write A Review
November 3, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 5, 2012

I and 12 others from my church spent last week in Guatemala working with Mission Guatemala. It was a simply wonderful experience all the way around. We worked hard and felt a great deal of satisfact... more

November 3, 2014

This was my second trip to Mission Guatemala. It was such a blessing! Very well organized. It was a great mix of work, education and fun!
November 5, 2012

I and 12 others from my church spent last week in Guatemala working with Mission Guatemala. It was a simply wonderful experience all the way around. We worked hard and felt a great deal of satisfaction with the work we did. Our accommodations were better than any other mission trip I have been on and Tom and Dave were always there to answer any questions we had. A fabulous experience!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2011

I just spent the last week with Mission Guatemala and I'm still thinking about the wonderful experiences I had. Tom, David and Noah made the week of hard work, fun and meaningful. Tom has said he i... more

October 31, 2014

This was my second trip to Mission Guatemala. Tom and his team do a remarkable job. We learned the history of Mission Guatemala, visited the clinic, preschool, and feeding center. We worked all week on stuccoing a school kitchen. We were just part of a team effort of many volunteer groups to help build this kitchen for the children in the area. We enjoyed the people, culture and beautiful surroundings. We had gracious hosts, cooks, bus drivers, guide, construction crew, and interpreter. Thank you for a wonderful week.
November 1, 2011

I just spent the last week with Mission Guatemala and I'm still thinking about the wonderful experiences I had. Tom, David and Noah made the week of hard work, fun and meaningful. Tom has said he is all about developing relationships and we definitely did that with the friendly and appreciative natives.
I painted a house and fence, delivered and helped assemble fuel efficient stoves and played with the adorable preschoolers. Throughout the week a staff member was working along with us and helping us. Tom made sure that the volunteers needs were met while making sure that we had worthwhile projects to do to help the people of the villages.
Before Mission Guatemala existed these people had no one they could depend on to help them. Within a year's time there is a health and dental clinic and a preschool which is available to them. Plus a feeding center was built for children in another area. Many great things have been accomplished in such a short time.
I am so glad that I was able to be a part of this wonderful organization. I'm hoping to return and help Mission Guatemala improve the lives of their neighbors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Mission Guatemala is a well-organized, high-functioning organization that engages local participation from the Guatemalan community in determining the most urgent needs and building trust in the communities they serve. They give hard-working, appreciative people a hand up, not a handout that will have a dramatic impact on future generations! I just completed a 9 day mission trip there. I truly feel that I took away more than I gave. Elaine Palmer
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

This was my first experience with Mission Guatemala. The time spent was remarkable. Our team worked on a kitchen that will feed 500 Mayan children a substantial daily meal. The work was hard but rewarding. We were able to see first hand the benefits these feeding centers make during our visit to an existing center. We spent time in their medical and dental clinic. The organization provided an well rounded program for our 15 member team that included teens to us middle age folk and we all were useful in the construction project. Not only will this experience change the lives of Mayan children in this area of desperate need, it changed my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2011

With some missions I have questioned what percentage of my giving gets to the people in need. After my trip to Panajachel, I was absolutely amazed how gifts were multiplied by Tom and his staff. The... more

October 28, 2014

My second trip to Mission Guatemala. It was very rewarding to see the cumulative effect of many groups over time having a generational impact on the loving people of Guatemala. The entire trip was organized from the time we landed in Guatemala City until we left. We experienced an incredible week of working with the local people on a kitchen for the middle school. We visited the market in Chi Chi, the medical clinic, kindergarten and feeding center. We took the tuc-tuc to into Panajachel for dinner and market. Mission Guatemala lets you be part of the community with the people. I hope to go again.
October 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

With some missions I have questioned what percentage of my giving gets to the people in need. After my trip to Panajachel, I was absolutely amazed how gifts were multiplied by Tom and his staff. The things they can do, the lives they touch with one dollar was astounding. And the projects don't just effect those receiving, but impact generations: teaching the children Spanish, feeding them, dental care, medical care, and clean efficient stoves for their homes. Doesn't get any more basic than that. I plan to go back. I will give. And I will pray for Mission Guatemala.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Panajachel, Guatemala

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have to spend more time there understand the culture before answering. Maybe after next visit.

October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

We just completed a 9 day trip in Guatemala and have a great deal of positives to share. The staff was extremely helpful in assisting us thru the culture the mission and our impact to helping Mission Guatemala meet its vision. From the transportation and the drivers to and from Guatemala City to Panajachel, to the accomidations, food and preparations, to the onsite translators and staff everyone involved was deeply passionate about their role and purpose. The love of God and people is evident in the many interactions we had all along the way. We will be back and intend to bring other new volunteers with us. I am greatful for the opportunity they have provided us and the impact on those they are serving.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

This mission provide much needed help to the grossly under served in the highlands of Guatemala. They daily are doing life-changing work...especially with child malnutrition and health. Amazing people, life-altering work, permanent positive change!
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

Having volunteered in many U.S. based and out of country mission trips, Mission Guatemala was by far the most organized. We had a large team and the interaction with the local people and the facilities were first class. Thank you for the experience.
October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My experience with Mission Guatemala far exceeded my expectations. This was my first international experience. The relationship between Team Guatemala and the community seemed to be one of trust and cooperation. The program was exceptional in that it clearly paralleled the goals that the team shared. I will always remember the special relationships and the community experience I had with Mission Guatemala. God bless:)
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

Tom and his team certainly exceeded my anticipations. They are well organized, respected in the communities in which they serve and attentive to their guest's needs. They have accomplished much in the short time they have been working along with the Mayan people of Guatemala. Please research them and support their work. Tom's team is joyfully sharing God's love with the local Mayan people through programs to help them improve their health, nutrition and education.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers