Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
198 Reviews
1234.934345
| 1 2 3 4...20 |
Write A Review
March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

We were extremely impressed with the work of Mission Guatemala. They seem to approach helping communities from a really great place - they want to truly partner with the community and the individuals to help them help themselves. We were blessed in the time we spent with Mission Guatemala. Their staff are all very professional and caring people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

First, we would say that we had the opportunity to share a truly loving and joyous time in Guatemala with the staff of Mission Guatemala, our 12 other volunteers representing Calvary U. M. church, and the Guatemalan people.
Mission Guatemala is doing great things, and we think that one very
important aspect of their approach is that they require the local Guatemalan people to work alongside us in their desired village projects. Like the old saying "We are giving them a hand up - not just a hand-out".
March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

The most important part of Mission Guatemala is that they make sure the community you are serving is invested themselves in the service you are providing.

The volunteer accommodations and food is excellent.

I always felt safe.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

March 22, 2014

more

March 22, 2014

Personally seeing Mission Guatemala at work in numerous villages confirmed for me that supporting them through volunteer and monetary means is definitely worthwhile. By having folks embedded in Guatemala they are able to partner with the different communities to ensure their mission has the best possible impact on those in need. We just returned from serving at the school in Secune and are already planning another trip. A wonderful experience was had by our entire team!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 20, 2014

more

March 20, 2014

Thank you for the opportunity to work as a team with Mission Guatemala. We believe our work will help the children and community of the area. The staff at Mission Guatemala was great to direct us in the work and helped to clarify the needs of the people and better understand the culture. I would definitely recommend this experience to others and would be personally blessed to participate in another venture with Mission Guatemala in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find ways to encourage financial support as well as recommend to volunteer teams so the work will continue.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 19, 2014

more

March 19, 2014

Participating with the Calvary United Methodist Church group at Mission Guatemala was the most important and spiritual experience of my life. It is difficult to explain to others what working with the Mayans meant--sharing love, being uplifted by the mission staff and the group; feeling the spirit of God throughout the week are all part of the experience. Great job Mission Guatemala!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 19, 2014

more

March 19, 2014

I recently traveled with a group from Calvary United Methodist Church, in Brownsburg, Indiana. We worked at a school in a mayan village in Secune (sic). via Tom Heaton's Mission Guatemala. Our task was to do cement work on a basketball/soccer court at the school. This was a wonderful experience. The staff of Mission Guatemala are very dedicated and hard-working. We saw children being educated, fed, and well-cared for at another village. I was very impressed with his medical/dental clinic at La Mission. Our group feels that Tom Heaton's mission Guatemala is making a difference in the lives of the villages he serves. Our group is going to be sponsoring some of the children so that they can continue their education. We are definitely willing to return in the future. Not only did we work at the school, but we learned history and culture of the mayan people. Mission Guatemala-Tom Heaton by Darla Franklin

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 19, 2014

more

March 19, 2014

I had an amazing experience with Mission Guatemala. The staff welcomed us with open arms and were very helpful. The people of Guatemala have beautiful hearts. The work we did met the needs of the community. I have been changed by this mission trip. Gracias a Mission Guatemala!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it clear prior to the trip that there is not a need to help at the Medical Clinic.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My eyes were really opened by my experience with Mission Guatemala. I know that every penny sent their way is well-spent and meets a specific need in the community that has been assessed by the members of the community themselves and not assumed by the Mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 19, 2014

more

March 19, 2014

I would like to say , Praise God for MG. It was such a wonderful God filled experience. The staff there , Dave , Tricia, and Whitney ,do such a wonderful job. You go thinking you are making a difference in the people and you do to some degree , but the real change is the difference the people make in you. For what they have , they are the most wonderful , thankful , loving people in the world. All I can say is THANK YOU MG ! Jim Sebree

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes necessary.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers