Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
235 Reviews
1234.931915
Write A Review
February 20, 2015

more


1 previous review
March 2, 2014

Mission Guatemala provides a bridge of hope that allowed our church to connect with Native Guatemalans and help meet their needs all while making new friends. MG is well organized and works hard to f... more

February 20, 2015

Mission Guatemala does amazing work with the people of Guatemala who live in small rural communities. Their clinic in San Andres Semetabaj provides inexpensive medical with pharamacy, dental, and eye care to whoever needs help. Some ride the bus up to 2 hours to get low cost health care at the clinic. The MG staff is mostly native to Guatemala, which helps the communication with those being served.

Our church helped MG build an all-weather soccer/basketball court at Sucun last year and with constructing a new restroom for students at Marie Del Carmen school this year. The restroom replaces the current pit toilet being used by the students. The MG team provides good construction supervision and uses local materials that are purchased by the volunteers. Working at 8.000 feet in small mountain communities can be a challenge building things, but the MG team always found ways to overcome or work around every construction problem we encountered. I plan to return again next year to serve the wonderful people of Guatemala, and I thank God that Mission Guatemala provides us this opportunity to "go into all the world" for mission work.
March 2, 2014

Mission Guatemala provides a bridge of hope that allowed our church to connect with Native Guatemalans and help meet their needs all while making new friends. MG is well organized and works hard to focus on projects requested by leaders in the rural communities. Interpreters provided by MG allowed good communication with the children and adults in the communities being served. I grew in my faith through serving the wonderful people of Guatemala. The MG team members worked hard to make certain that all our needs were met, regardless of the hour of the night when a run to the pharmacy was needed. I will return again next year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Everything went fine with our mission adventure

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 20, 2015

more


1 previous review
March 3, 2014

Mission Guatemala is very well run and organized in helping in many ways the very poor Mayan people in the area of Panajachel on Lake Atitulan. The projects are important and you can see your progres... more

February 20, 2015

My 3rd year at MG. Very well run mission for very needy and appreciative Mayan people. As a volunteer you will work on projects that make a real difference in lives while getting to know the local children, seeing how they live, and enjoying the beautiful and safe area of Lake Attilan. The MG personnel, facilities and food are great. The local workers that MG hires to help the volunteers are knowledgeable and hard working. The city of Panajachel is delightful and there are some nice surprises during your mission week. Guatemala City is only a 3 hour flight from Atlanta, Panajachel is a 3 hour drive after that.
March 3, 2014

Mission Guatemala is very well run and organized in helping in many ways the very poor Mayan people in the area of Panajachel on Lake Atitulan. The projects are important and you can see your progress. The facilities and food are very good. The staff is extremely helpful and flexible. The area is beautiful and the Mayan's are warm and very appreciative. Very highly recommended.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes recommended.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 20, 2015

more


1 previous review
March 2, 2014

Mission Guatemala is helping people in the best way; they are fulfilling basic needs such as food and medical in a way that allows the dignity and active participation of those being served. I felt l... more

February 20, 2015

Mission Guatemala is outstanding because of how integrated they have become in the communities they serve. Involvement of Mayan staff and the requirement of involvement of the community who benefits in the selection, planning, and construction of projects is critical to their success and the level of trust that has developed for Mission Guatemala. We were warmly welcomed by the community and developed lasting relationships with those with whom we worked. In addition, the accommodations and food for the teams make serving on a team a real pleasure. This trip was my second to Mission Guatemala and I look forward to doing it again next year. It is a time each year that I can truly say I am the person God created me to be.
March 2, 2014

Mission Guatemala is helping people in the best way; they are fulfilling basic needs such as food and medical in a way that allows the dignity and active participation of those being served. I felt like my time and resources were more efficiently used than by any other charity I have been involved. I got to see and experience the benefits firsthand in Mayan communities in desperate circumstances. The organization and leadership of Mission Guatemala is simply the best!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 18, 2014

more

November 18, 2014

Did one of the first medical missions with this group & had an excellent experience. Very well organized!
November 4, 2014

more

November 4, 2014

Mission Guatemala is doing a great job of affecting the lives of children in Guatemala, well organized. The week we had building a new cafeteria was rewording, the crew waste nothing.

November 3, 2014

more

November 3, 2014

Mission Guatemala is an amazing organization. Tom Heaton has developed a staff that is dedicated and proficient in their jobs. They are continuing to serve more and more needs in the area. The project our team worked on was well organized. With the help of the MG staff and workers we were able to do more than we ever thought possible at the beginning of our stay. The accommodations and meals were exceptional, especially for the area. We were given tours of the clinic and area to better understand the real needs of the people. Overall I think MG is one of the finest organizations with which I have been associated.
November 3, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 6, 2012

Mission Guatemala does an awesome job of managing work teams. They line up meaningful work to be done. They pay attention to the details of accomodations. And most importantly they are intentional ... more

November 3, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful week of work at Mission Guatemala with a team from my church. Was wonderful.
November 6, 2012

Mission Guatemala does an awesome job of managing work teams. They line up meaningful work to be done. They pay attention to the details of accomodations. And most importantly they are intentional about giving team members opportunities to meet Guatemalans and learn about their culture and conditions. I have been on many mission trips over the last 20 years, several outside the US, and this trip was definitely the best.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2014

more

November 3, 2014

Volunteering with Mission Guatemala was a great experience. It was exciting to be a part of a continuing construction project to make a kitchen for a school. I like being able to help others and being a part of the many people and activities that have been and will be part of the project. Mission Guatemala is doing many different good things. In addition, the River House provided nice housing and the cooks made great meals.
November 3, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 5, 2012

What an amazing week we had with Mission Guatemala! The projects (helping to build an office for the teachers at the Jr. High School and installing efficient stoves); the beautiful children; the amazi... more

November 3, 2014

This is our second trip to volunteer with Mission Guatemala! And we'd go again in a heartbeat. The projects are extremely well organized and the staff and other workers are just great. The passion for the work they do is written all over them! Great balance of work and downtime. We were blessed far more than we blessed others I'm sure!
November 5, 2012

What an amazing week we had with Mission Guatemala! The projects (helping to build an office for the teachers at the Jr. High School and installing efficient stoves); the beautiful children; the amazing way God blessed us while we were there. We've already scheduled our return trip for next year! Thank You Mission Guatemala for all you are doing for the people of Guatemala!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

This was my second trip to volunteer for Mission Guatemala. This is an outstanding organization that has great respect in the San Andreas Semetebaj and Panajachel areas. They are very organized and consistently develop programs that exceed similar mission progams. From the staff, cooks, interpreters. drivers, and work leaders, Mission Guatemala does an excellent job of coordinating a true cultural emersion experience. The accommodations and food are excellent and you are well taken care of during your stay. Your experience includes the opportunity to work with the native people and explore areas that the normal tourist would never get to see on a regular tour. Mission Guatemala goes beyond being just a mission trip. They have developed trust and respect from the local people as well as creating a true international bond of friendship between the United States and Guatemala. They include cultural experiences to accompany the actual mission experience. I encourage anyone thinking about doing mission work abroad for their first time to give Mission Guatemala a try. It is amazing to observe the growth of this organization in such a short amount of time. I know that they will go far in the future doing all the good they can for the wonderful people of Guatemala. D. Martin, Evansville, IN

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers