Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
222 Reviews
1234.936945
Write A Review
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

This was my first experience with Mission Guatemala. The time spent was remarkable. Our team worked on a kitchen that will feed 500 Mayan children a substantial daily meal. The work was hard but rewarding. We were able to see first hand the benefits these feeding centers make during our visit to an existing center. We spent time in their medical and dental clinic. The organization provided an well rounded program for our 15 member team that included teens to us middle age folk and we all were useful in the construction project. Not only will this experience change the lives of Mayan children in this area of desperate need, it changed my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2011

With some missions I have questioned what percentage of my giving gets to the people in need. After my trip to Panajachel, I was absolutely amazed how gifts were multiplied by Tom and his staff. The... more

October 28, 2014

My second trip to Mission Guatemala. It was very rewarding to see the cumulative effect of many groups over time having a generational impact on the loving people of Guatemala. The entire trip was organized from the time we landed in Guatemala City until we left. We experienced an incredible week of working with the local people on a kitchen for the middle school. We visited the market in Chi Chi, the medical clinic, kindergarten and feeding center. We took the tuc-tuc to into Panajachel for dinner and market. Mission Guatemala lets you be part of the community with the people. I hope to go again.
October 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

With some missions I have questioned what percentage of my giving gets to the people in need. After my trip to Panajachel, I was absolutely amazed how gifts were multiplied by Tom and his staff. The things they can do, the lives they touch with one dollar was astounding. And the projects don't just effect those receiving, but impact generations: teaching the children Spanish, feeding them, dental care, medical care, and clean efficient stoves for their homes. Doesn't get any more basic than that. I plan to go back. I will give. And I will pray for Mission Guatemala.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Panajachel, Guatemala

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have to spend more time there understand the culture before answering. Maybe after next visit.

October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

We just completed a 9 day trip in Guatemala and have a great deal of positives to share. The staff was extremely helpful in assisting us thru the culture the mission and our impact to helping Mission Guatemala meet its vision. From the transportation and the drivers to and from Guatemala City to Panajachel, to the accomidations, food and preparations, to the onsite translators and staff everyone involved was deeply passionate about their role and purpose. The love of God and people is evident in the many interactions we had all along the way. We will be back and intend to bring other new volunteers with us. I am greatful for the opportunity they have provided us and the impact on those they are serving.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

This mission provide much needed help to the grossly under served in the highlands of Guatemala. They daily are doing life-changing work...especially with child malnutrition and health. Amazing people, life-altering work, permanent positive change!
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

Having volunteered in many U.S. based and out of country mission trips, Mission Guatemala was by far the most organized. We had a large team and the interaction with the local people and the facilities were first class. Thank you for the experience.
October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My experience with Mission Guatemala far exceeded my expectations. This was my first international experience. The relationship between Team Guatemala and the community seemed to be one of trust and cooperation. The program was exceptional in that it clearly paralleled the goals that the team shared. I will always remember the special relationships and the community experience I had with Mission Guatemala. God bless:)
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

Tom and his team certainly exceeded my anticipations. They are well organized, respected in the communities in which they serve and attentive to their guest's needs. They have accomplished much in the short time they have been working along with the Mayan people of Guatemala. Please research them and support their work. Tom's team is joyfully sharing God's love with the local Mayan people through programs to help them improve their health, nutrition and education.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I have participated in several U.S. based mission opportunities before, but Mission Guatemala was by far the most organized group I 've been associated with! They have created a comfortable, safe home base for team members to return to each day. The Mission keeps clear their vision as a viable contributor to the culture of Guatemala and the Guatemalan people with whom they work and serve. The Mission Guatemala staff exhibited knowledge of the people and communities they are serving and obviously have given much thought and planning to the programs they have implemented. It was great getting to know the staff and seeing how they integrated themselves into our group and made us feel at home. The opportunities were endless for us to get to experience the Guatemalan people in their own environments and communities and to interact with the school children and adults alike. This was a great experience, and I am very thankful for the opportunity to serve with all our group and be a part of the medical team.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I had such a wonderful experience on this, my first, mission trip. We worked alongside the wonderful and warm Mayan men as we prepared the walls and ceiling of the new kitchen for stucco to be applied. Our teens played games and made crafts with the happy, engaged children at a school while wellness checks were done by the medical team. It was a joy to see a culture proud of their heritage and preserving the traditional dress of the women and girls (the men stopped wearing their traditional clothing as it made them an easy target during the 20 year civil war).
Our work was balanced with fun as we experienced local maket day, a cultural dinner, and a visit to a local artisan community in our free time. Not only did we accomplish tasks, we made relationships and carried cherished memories back with us.
Mission Guatemala was well organized, is staying targeted to its' goals, and is doing a marvelous job on so many levels for this area!
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I was very impressed with the entire staff at Mission Guatemala. Each person had a true love for the Guatemalan people and had their best interest at heart. The desire to serve the people within their culture was evident. Because of the relationships the staff of Mission Guatemala have built, we were welcomed and able to interact with adults and children in spite of the language difference. Our accommodations were comfortable and the food was tasty.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers