Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
198 Reviews
1234.934345
| 1 2 3...20 |
Write A Review
June 23, 2014

more

June 23, 2014

Every encounter with Mission Guatemala allows me to walk away with a greater sense of what it means to live my faith. Counting the days until I can return!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 3, 2014

more

April 3, 2014

Totally impressed with Mission Guatemala. They were organized and we were able to accomplish a lot of work. They were also very fun to be around and supportive of our ideas to connect with the people we worked with. The accommodations were also very good.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 3, 2014

more

April 3, 2014

Our team helped build a basketball/soccer court during our week in Guatemala. Not only did we put in long hours to see the work completed so that children in the community could compete with other schools , but Mission Guatemala basically planned a surprise a day for us it seemed. One of those days was spent visiting a school where a similar court was built and watching students have a fun PE class on it and then got to see the trophies they'd earned as a community on display. Bringing pride to the community isn't a bad way to go. Mission Guatemala's focus on relationships first as they listen to community leaders describe their needs......extends to learning about individual team members. It's just the way they roll. What's become of that investment in relationships is simply mind boggling. They are making a difference in these Guatemalan villages....relationship by relationship!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

share everything Mission Guatemala with any incoming team member whose email was on file as soon as possible (i.e. packing list, project, pics of accommodations which are great by the way)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 2, 2014

more

April 2, 2014

When I signed up to go on the trip to Guatemala I was a little nervous. While I'd been on mission trips before it was my first time out of the country on a mission trip or otherwise. I was expecting something like humanitarian commercials on TV showing everyone being sad, wasn't expecting much in the way of food either. When we got out of the airport we met our leader for the week, she seemed like a nice person and was dressed nicely. When we got to Panajachel, the place we were to stay didn't look at all how I pictured it. It was beautiful, it had electricity, hot showers, and a bathroom as good as my own. Throughout the week we learned a lot. Whenever we had a question out leader, interpreter, or even drivers were happy to answer as best they could or find out if they didn't know. The food was incredible, way better than what I had pictured and the ladies who made it were so nice. The people I met while there were always smiling and new the names of all the Mission Guatemala people and most of our groups by the end of the week.When we were leaving everyone was sad to go because we had made so many friends. Mission Guatemala has a great operation going and their team leaders are outstanding. They look nice, work hard, and love god.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work on expanding people's awareness in the US so that they can attract more groups to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 29, 2014

more

March 29, 2014

I want to go back. My experience at Mission Guatemala changed my world view entirely. I'm a student at the University of Evansville who initially went down by chance on a Spring Break trip and now they have me thinking about the Peace Corps. Getting to work so closely with the team as well as the people we were serving was especially moving for me. Our work in Guatemala wasn't about the projects or donations, it was about changing us as people who will go back to our communities and make a difference because we see things differently now, with a more international perspective. Also, the leaders we amazing. They took so much personal time to make sure our questions were answered and needs met - it was inspiring and contagious to see people so passionate about what they were doing. Like I said, I'm planning when I can go down again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage them to have more groups come down at a time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 28, 2014

more

March 28, 2014

I spent a week with Mission Guatemala and it was fabulous! The people at Mission Guatemala and the people of Guatemala are great! I spent the week with a group of university students and we had many great experiences in the local schools. Would highly recommend this organization to others!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 28, 2014

more

March 28, 2014

I would recommend Mission Guatemala to anyone interested in serving a mission abroad. It is very well organized and thrives within the communities they serve. I was very impressed with the connections and positive relationships that Mission Guatemala has made with the people of Guatemala. The Mission Guatemala Team is dedicated to helping the communities of San Andres, but also committed to helping the team members grow in the process. I am very blessed to have had the opportunity to work with Mission Guatemala.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 28, 2014

more

March 28, 2014

Mission Guatemala creates an unrivaled mission experience. From administration to personnel involved in daily operations, the MG team is unrivaled in their ability to interact with the San Andres community and accommodate diverse mission groups. Their dedication to serve permeates the surrounding communities and is further evidenced in post-return lives of missionaries.

I am excited at the prospect of returning; Guatemala is a beautiful country filled with the most benevolent people I have seen. Mission Guatemala truly goes above and beyond to make positive change in many lives.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 28, 2014

more

March 28, 2014

MIssion Guatemala has a great relationship with the community. They choose to work with the people of Guatemala in a truly inspiring manner. The organization thinks through the impact it has on the community and listens to the community needs before committing to a project. The accommodations are great and the people are better. It's a great place to really examine your life while giving a helping hand to others. It was a life-changing experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

Extraordinarily well organized mission organization. Our trip was flawlessly executed by the Mission Guatemala staff during our recent short term mission project. This is a great opportunity for neophyte or seasoned missionaries to serve prequalified communities in a safe and coordinated way. The staff in Panajachel at the mission, Dave, Tricia, Whitney and the culinary artists, Dalia, Angelina and Evelyn, went above and beyond any expectation to ensure our group's needs were met. We had an incredible experience doing God's work and felt His presence permeating the space and outreach.
I would strongly recommend this organization and look forward to a return trip.

Best regards,
Mark Prifogle
Chief Executive Officer and Group President
GrandView Health Services
Brownsburg, IN

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers