Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
187 Reviews
1234.930485
| 1 ... 11 12 13...19 |
Write A Review
July 4, 2012

more

July 4, 2012

I traveled to Panaechele, Guatemala in June of 2012. We worked in the mountain community of Chuti Estancia. The people there are very poor and lovely. I found the community completly charming in every way. the county is like a beautiful garden with beautiful views everywhere you look. My group of teenagers, young adults and older adults built two water retention tanks for the local elementary school there. They had no water supply for washing hands and brushing thier teeth. We also did a Bible school each afternoon from 2:00 til 3:30. Between 150 to 190 children came each day. On sunny days not as many children attended because they were required to work in the feilds with thier families. I feel out group made an impact that will be felt in the years to come. The men we worked with from Mission Guatemala were a delight. They were always asking for feed back, kept us busy, well taken care of in a foreign country and at appropriate times entertained us. They also helped us to find interesting things to explore in our free time and were extremely helpful when a medical emergency presented itself.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012

more

July 3, 2012

I absolutely loved getting to work with Mission Guatemala. Not only were Tom and Dave excellent at making us feel welcome and useful, but just getting to spend time with the precious children of Chuti Estancia was also so rewarding. I will never forget the experience I had.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 2, 2012

more

July 2, 2012

As I spent nine days in guatemala it was truly eye opening, all the people there greet you with arms wide open and make you feel so special!! I thank God for all he is letting Tom and Dave do for the people there! It truly is life changing to experience life from others points of view! I hope my church group decides to go back next year! I'd love to go back!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I just returned from an amazing trip to Mission Guatemala. It was truly a life changing experience for me! We were a very large group and we were a great challange for Tom and Dave. But they were incredible! We were able to operate two differnt construction sites at once building water holding tanks at schools in Chuti Estancia and also do a Bible school with nearly 200 children each day. We had an incredible experience and it was a joy to be a part of such a great community outreach. Tom and Dave obviously have a heart for the people there and Mission Guatemala is definitely making a difference in the lives of the people there. I felt honored to be able to help in a small way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 2, 2012

more

July 2, 2012

I came with 37 adults and young adults from Madisonville, Ky. We were treated like family by all of the Mission Guatema staff. We had a wonderful experience doing a Bible School and building water containers. The staff were extremely supportive during a time of illness for one our members and stayed with us providing any help we needed. God met us there and stayed with us through out our visit in this land of paridise! I look forward to coming again for another experience either medical or building/Bible school! What a wonderful group!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 2, 2012

more

July 2, 2012

I recently retuned from 9 days in Panajachel working in a local community called Chuti Estancia. Tom and Dave were great people to be around and were very friendly to the entire team. They had great construction managers for on the job site. They also organized neat activities for the team during the weekend. This is a group I would undoubtedly volunteer for again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 3, 2012

more

June 3, 2012

Great team! This was a fun and adventurous group to work with. We left having much more insight into the people and culture of Guatemala, and with a deep appreciation for the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

A team of nutrition students traveled to Mission Guatemala last week and delivered nutrition lessons to the children at four different schools. WE painted a playground and were there to see the grand opening of the playground as well as attend a ceremony of a one year anniversary of a feeding center for children in a village school. Missions Guatemala now has two feeding centers for children and ready to add another. What better way to insure a good future for these children than to see that they have the nutrients to grown strong and healthy. Our hosts was very hospitable and helped us learn about the culture of these people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2012

more

April 15, 2012

We were able to work side by side with the people of Guatemala. Even though the process might be different the end result of the hard work and the resourcefulness of the people in the little town is apparent every where. Plus the fantastic accommodations provided were an added surprise. It was the percect ending after the long work day. The meals at the firehouse were also good since we were trying to be emersed in real culture of those we served. The meals the activities helped all of us understand who we were helping while at the same time it was wonderful to be reminded of all our blessings and the power of sharing what we have with others. Over and over again we were reminded that these people had so much to offer us too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 19, 2011

Our team built furniture for hurricane and mudslide victims who had lost their homes and possessions. We also painted a bldg and helped with the 35 young children attending the mission's nutrition pro... more

April 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Mission Guatemala serves the people in and around San Andres la Laguna, the community of Nueva Esperanza, and families in smaller villages, providing some jobs, medical/dental care along w/ appropriate pharmaceuticals, food, high efficiency, low smoke stoves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 19, 2011

Our team built furniture for hurricane and mudslide victims who had lost their homes and possessions. We also painted a bldg and helped with the 35 young children attending the mission's nutrition program. We met the Guatemalan doctor who is at the mission clinic. It is impressive what God has done through Dave and Tom In a relatively short time. These men are making friends with the people they lovingly serve, providing jobs, medical care, and education. This was an extremely well-organized, focused experience.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As I spoke with the Guatemalen doctor, his joy at being able to serve his people in San Andres was communicated by his humble words. Seeing ten Guatemalans employed at the mission made it clear that this mission is empowering and serving the people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I see God's hand at work here so I will pray that it continues to be supported by teams and by donations, changing the buildings one by one to complete the vision of Tom and Dave.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers