Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
198 Reviews
1234.934345
| 1 ... 11 12 13...20 |
Write A Review
July 22, 2012

more

July 22, 2012

I just completed another week with Mission Guatemala on July 15, 2012. My first experience was last year and I was so impressed with the work of this organization that there was no doubt that I wanted to come back. The work that has been done and is being done by Tom, Dave and the staff and volunteers is amazing. We had seven of our 13 team members from last year that returned this year, along with eight new members. (The others from last yeat would have returned also, but were unable to due to other committments.) I was a team leader this year and felt very comfortable in that role after having worked with this organization last year. They are very organized, communicate well and take great care of their visiting teams. Between the two years - we have worked on a number of projects where we could see the physical results of what we did, but also felt that when we left - we left some hope for the people of Guatemala. The opportunities to interact with the people of Guatemala is one of the highlights of working with this organization. It is hard when it comes time to go home as this group feels like family and you feel that you are taking away more then you left. I made sure that our church was on the schedule for next year before we left.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012

more

July 17, 2012

There was a review written recently by a 16 year old. She was the youngest in our group and I was the oldest at 69 years old. Mission Guatemala is organized so well that we can all do our part with success and great feelings of helping the people we came there to share love, grace and perform the manual work that is needed. Thanks Tom and Dave for making it possible!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 16, 2012

more

July 16, 2012

I just returned from a mission trip to Guatemala and I believe it will change my life. The team at Mission Guatemala, including Tom, Dave, Vanessa, etc, were just awesome. We installed vented stoves in peoples homes to improve their air quality and also fuel efficiency. We installed a gutter system so rainwater can be used for children to wash their hands and brush their teeth at school. We took family pictures and gave them to the people, which could be their only family picture ever. There is no doubt that Mission Guatemala Inc is improving quality of life for the poor people of Guatemala. What an organization! Blessings to them all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012

more

July 16, 2012

I am 16 years old and recently went on a mission trip with my mom with Mission Guatemala inc. It was an incredible experience. I did things I never thought I would be doing like mixing concrete, carrying heavy cinder blocks, assembling stoves (honestly!) and hanging gutters. I have never felt so good about myself in all my life. Mission Guatemala is an awesome organization doing an awesome amount of good for the poor people of Guatemala.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012

more

July 12, 2012

I just returned from my first mission trip with Mission Guatemala. I was so impressed with what Tom and his staff are doing for the people of Guatemala. They provided such wonderful support to us as we went out to the communities near San Andreas Semetabaj. Our team installed several stoves near Panamiche and built water storage tanks at Chuti Estancia. It was a joy to be totally immersed in the beautiful Gautemala culture for one week. The people are so friendly and express such a beautiful faith and love of family. You actually feel apart of the Guatemala people as you work beside them and help them enrich their lives through meaningful projects that Mission Guatemala provides. I was so impressed with the offerings of Tom's clinic near San Andreas and the feeding center and school at Nueva Esperanza. There are certainly great things happening each day in this area of Guatemala thanks to Mission Guatemala. I hope to return many more times and be apart of this exciting program. Duane Martin, Evansville Indiana

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

July 2011- I organized a team of 25 volunteers. I am the Indiana VIM team leader trainer. This mission site was the most organized mission site that I have been to. The team worked at 3 locations (not an easy task for the on site coordinators). One team provided medical care at various locations. This is my speciality as an RN. Tom Heaton and staff did a great job with everything. Everything from transportation in country, lodging, food, sight seeing and building relationships with local people was done with EXCELLENCE. I highly recommend this mission site for first time or experienced missioners. Penny Krug, RN, Deaconess UMC

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

Working with mission Guatemala and going to the beautiful country was a life changing experience. I would not take back a single thing that happened; both Tom and Dave were very nice and helped all of us on the trip feel safe and comfortable. The work that they are doing in Guatemala is amazing, the clinic they have is impressive and their effect on the communities in the area is fascinating. I am proud to say that I was apart of an amazing mission, that truley cares about the people of Guatemala. Like their mission statement says, "do all the good you can." God Bless.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 10, 2012

more

July 10, 2012

Mission Guatemala INC is a great mission organization on the front life of poverty in that country. Tom Heaton has been a speaker at church camps that I have directed and he is a member of my home conference of the United Methodist Church. Work teams return with testimonies of the impact that mission has had on their lives.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 10, 2012

more

July 10, 2012

My husband and I joined a mission trip from our church to help in a medical clinic, build a playground and offer VBS. It was a fabulous experience where God used each person's individual strengths to provide for the Mayan people who are so desperately needy. It was an eye opening opportunity to not only see the horrific conditions they live in but also the heroic efforts of the missionaries dedicating their lives to helping the people of the Mayan culture.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 10, 2012

more

July 10, 2012

I'm unable to travel to serve these people myself...I am so grateful to be able to support a well managed and heart felt mission!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers