Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
235 Reviews
1234.931915
Write A Review
July 9, 2013

more

July 9, 2013

My time with Mission Guatemala was an absolute joy! The staff of Mission Guatemala showed tremendous passion for mission and the organization they have acheived is remarkable. Their ability to involve the Guatemalan community with their projects shows their commitment to the sustainability of mission work. This is what mission work is supposed to look like and it is exactly what developing communities/nations require -stainable growth. Tom Heaton and Dave Burns are doing outstanding work and it shows that they have devoted a large amount of thought and patience to this project. I will definitely be staying in touch with this group in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more funding so they could expand and continue their great work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 9, 2013

more

July 9, 2013

"For GOD so LOVED He GAVE" I know that is not the full quote, but what I experienced in working with MIssion Guatamala was true Love for the people of Guatamala that compels us to GIVE ourselves to service in God's name. Our team built a hand-washing station for a school and painted their dual use basketball/soccer court. We came to know the children and got to spend a lot of time with them. Everyone from the "boss man" (construction foreman ) to the last volunteer gave of their time to not only complete the project, but to complete it as well as we could in professional manner. Mission Guatamala is also concerned with building relationship in the community and encouraging members of the community to take ownerhip and pride in where they live and become a part of the work of the Mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of anything. The accomodations, food, and general organization exceeded my expectations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 9, 2013

more

July 9, 2013

I have never seen faith or the gospel in action the way I saw it through the work of Mission Guatemala. The vision and incredible thorough strategy the leadership has in this mission effort is unlike anything I've ever seen or heard of. The entire focus is on the community they are there to help. Our team was deeply involved with the community we worked for and felt incredible love and acceptance by everyone we encountered thanks to the wonderful efforts Mission Guatemala has given to establish and nurture relationships. Truly unbelievable how this organization works. Words cannot fully express what I wish to convey. You must see it to believe it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

flood them with money to help them realize their goals. I've never trusted an organization like I do Mission Guatemala.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 26, 2013

more

June 26, 2013

My experience with Mission Guatemala was a great one! My team worked at two different locations building "flush toilets" and "hand-washing stations" for school children in rural communities. Tom, Dave, and other staff members were passionate about the work of the mission. And the locals were so welcoming and appreciative of the work being done in their communities.

Having been on another international mission trip to Mexico, I had an idea of what this trip would be like; however, I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodations, the food, and the cultural experiences provided by Mission Guatemala.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There were a couple of mornings where we were slow to get started. I'm not sure what caused the delays, but it cost us a couple of hours at the the work sites. Having said that, we still accomplished a lot in our week there, finishing one project and starting another.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

Mission Guatemala is a well-organized and highly functioning ministry. Once you see and hear their story, you know God is at work in a mighty way. It is a joy to participate in such an effective and growing ministry that is so highly honored in every community in which they work.

The
Mission makes it easy to travel to their location so that you can serve in meaningful work. The accommodations are outstanding. The food is terrific. The scenery is beyond amazing. Expect to have your life impacted in many wonderful ways. If you're looking to travel to serve, you won't find a more accommodating and meaningful experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 22, 2013

more

June 22, 2013

Mission Guatemala is amazing! The people from Mission Guatemala are friendly, helpful, and committed to what they do, and I had a great time working alongside them. The work we did was fun and rewarding, and it was great to be a part of what this wonderful organization is doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 22, 2013

more

June 22, 2013

It was so much fun working with Mission Guatemala. I had so much fun with the workers, as well as the children of the places we were working. I cannot wait to work on another project with them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 22, 2013

more

June 22, 2013

My Mission Guatemala experience was what I expected it would be, but also so much more. I have been on missions in the past and I had expected it to be fun, rewarding, and enjoyable, but I never expected to get so much back from it. There are so many things I loved about this trip, but I will try to condense it into a few points. First of all, the country Guatemala itself is amazing and worth going just because of that. We had awesome weather, the most amazing drives everyday, and beautiful scenery to look at. Second, the people we got to interact with at each work site were welcoming, loving, and grateful. In fact, I can definitely say that I saw God in all of them through their kind and unconditional love. Finally, Mission Guatemala was so organized and we rarely had any road blocks during the week. The only road blocks we had were not their fault and just things that happen sometimes. I highly recommend going on a mission trip with them in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, it was an awesome experience!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 22, 2013

more

June 22, 2013

Mission Guatemala far exceeds any expectation you may have when going on a mission trip. I was blown away by this group. This is an amazing organization that I was able to see firsthand how they help those in need in impoverished areas of Guatemala. It was my first mission trip overseas and you won't find a better or well organized organization for your team. Not only do they treat your team well, they also give you the opportunities to really get to know the culture while you're there. Nothing but A+++++!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing!! They are amazing!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

I had an amazing week with Mission Guatemala! I came with a group from my church (First UMC, Mt. Vernon, IN) and we worked on continuing the construction of bathrooms at the school in Caliaj and also did maintenance work around the clinic. Tom, Max, and Dave were wonderful, patient, and informative hosts during our stay in Guatemala and showed a real compassion and love for the people they worked with. Mission Guatemala is a wonderful organization and I would recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone who is interested in mission work in Guatemala.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers