Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
198 Reviews
1234.934345
| 1 ... 9 10 11...20 |
Write A Review
November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Mission Guatemala does an awesome job of managing work teams. They line up meaningful work to be done. They pay attention to the details of accomodations. And most importantly they are intentional about giving team members opportunities to meet Guatemalans and learn about their culture and conditions. I have been on many mission trips over the last 20 years, several outside the US, and this trip was definitely the best.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I and 12 others from my church spent last week in Guatemala working with Mission Guatemala. It was a simply wonderful experience all the way around. We worked hard and felt a great deal of satisfaction with the work we did. Our accommodations were better than any other mission trip I have been on and Tom and Dave were always there to answer any questions we had. A fabulous experience!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

Mission Guatemala uses its gifts and talents extremely well. The staff is very courteous and efffcient. They have become well-known and respected in the communities they serve. They truly serve the Guatemalan people physically and spiritually. They give hope for a brighter future through their support of the educational system, the daily meal program in two communities and the installation of stoves. This trip was rewarding and eye-opening, as well as enjoyable

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

What an amazing week we had with Mission Guatemala! The projects (helping to build an office for the teachers at the Jr. High School and installing efficient stoves); the beautiful children; the amazing way God blessed us while we were there. We've already scheduled our return trip for next year! Thank You Mission Guatemala for all you are doing for the people of Guatemala!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

What an amazing experience I had during my week with Mission Guatemala! I took my 18 year-old daughter and it was wonderful for her as well. Not only did we work hard delivering and installing stoves, but we had great fun playing with the beautiful children. I look forward to another trip with Dave and Tom and Mission Guatemala!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 7, 2012

more

September 7, 2012

Being on a team lead by Mission Guatemala was an extraordinary experience. Their organization was great for having only a couple of years experience leading teams of volunteers. The Guatemalan people are a joy to work with and the children were very enthusiastic.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 6, 2012

more

September 6, 2012

This is the first time our mission team has worked with Mission Guatemala and found Tom and Dave to be exceptional in their organizational skills, flexibility and time management. I personally find this extremely important because as a team member I want to concentrate on the tasks, outreach and Christian fellowship. The accommodations, meals, transportation, volunteer care and local presentations/visits were tailored for us. The village, Nueva Esperanza, was a perfect fit. Our dental team and construction teams were energized with the contribution of the people, and more importantly the children. During construction, village children just pitched in without complaint--there was a whole lot of enthusiasm! It was heart-warming, charming and so different from a typical reaction at home. As a dental team member also, there is so much need and so little time. I have to know that God has given me the opportunity to do as much as I can with the passion I have to serve his people. We are truly blessed to be able to share our gifts with the people of Guatemala. Excellent experience all around and highly recommend working with Mission Guatemala.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I had the wonderful opportunity to work with Tom and Dave from Mission Guatemala this past summer. To say that this was an enjoyable experience would be a huge understatement. Seeing all the work that these two men are doing in the areas of Guatemala that they work in was something that I will never forget. I hope to go back next summer and would recommend it to anyone considering going to help this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 18, 2012

more

August 18, 2012

I spent a week in late July with Mission Guatemala as part of a team from two churches in Central Indiana. The work project was to build a concrete soccer field in a Mayan village near Panajachel. While incredible progress was made on the soccer field, the most important part of the time there, was getting to know the people of the village, especially the children! I am not a young woman but found tasks to support the "heavy" work of the project, however, the highlight was time spent each afternoon with the children's program. The children were enthusiastic, happy, and busy with the activities we provided. We had lunch at the Clinic each day and I was pleasantly surprised with the facilities for health care and the abundance of medicines. So much has been done with little resources and it is amazing all that has been accomplished by Tom Heaton and Dave. It is obvious that they are much loved and respected by everyone there. They certainly have my admiration and respect. I have had the privilege of participating in many mission trips to developing countries in the last several years, and if ever an entity deserved support, it is Mission Guatemala. Please include them in your giving and make a trip to help with their work, if that is possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

My trip to Guatemala was pretty incredible. The beauty of the country side and the mayan people were genuine, kind and caring. It was a great experience in terms of culture and personal growth. We worked hard and accomplished a lot in a short week; but just as important was the opportunity to work along side the people from the village- working towards a common goal. Our translators were right there with us sharing their stories and helping us communicate with the village children and adults- that personal bond that took place over the week of working together set the stage for my cultural experience and personal growth. The people in the village face so many challenges but they continued to work hard and maintain a positive attitude and high level of appreciation. Mission Guatemala with Tom Heaton and his team were a great host to us. They had a balanced schedule and provided us all of the basics of what we needed. I personally recommend this trip to everyone who wants to try to help a group of people in continuing to improve the lives of the village. It also provides an opportunity to personally grow and experience another culture and country. I thank Tom and his team for a wonderful time and experience

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers