Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
222 Reviews
1234.936945
Write A Review
April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 13, 2011

My experience with Mission Guatemala was extremely positive. Rev. Tom Heaton, along with Dave Burns, did an amazing job of making our time in Guatemala one of the most incredible mission experiences I... more

April 8, 2013

I have been on two trips to Mission Guatemala and will return in September for a third. Our church is now sending two groups per year to partner with the ministry of Mission Guatemala. Tom, Dave, and the entire staff have provided excellent service opportunities, interactions with the local culture, and life-changing experiences. The amazing impact that Mission Guatemala has made on its local community in just a short amount of time is incredible. We look forward to continuing our partnership with Mission Guatemala.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2011

My experience with Mission Guatemala was extremely positive. Rev. Tom Heaton, along with Dave Burns, did an amazing job of making our time in Guatemala one of the most incredible mission experiences I've ever experienced. The advanced planning and preparation provided by Mission Guatemala was extremely helpful. Once on site, we were graciously hosted by the Mission Guatemala team. The hospitality extended by all associated with Mission Guatemala was amazing. Our work projects were also extremely well planned. We had three projects going on at the same time. The projects spanned a range of skill levels, so all member of our team had a place to plug in and feel great about accomplishing the tasks before us. It is apparent that Mission Guatemala, Rev. Heaton, and Dave Burns are well respected by the people in the greater San Andres community and Panajachel. Every thing was amazing...from travel arrangements (our drivers were great), to food (excellent), to lodging (comfortable, nice, clean), to our interactions with the local community, and to our ability to experience a bit of the Guatemalan culture (lots of fun in addition to lots of hard work). I would definitely give Mission Guatemala my highest praise and refer anyone interested in an international mission trip to consider making Mission Guatemala a top choice.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the way the mission experience ministered to me. I simple am not the same person I was when I arrived in Guatemala. I was ministered to by Rev. Heaton, Dave Burns, and the people of Guatemala. I will never forget seeing a mother explore her new home site: the joy on her face. I will never forget seeing an over-looked community receive water filters: the hope in their eyes and voices. I will never forget the children of Nueva Esperanza sanding tables alongside members of our team: the looks of pride!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have found a way to stay longer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I made new friends from our team and Mission Guatemala. As a result of the trip, I'm wrestling with how this experience might impact my future ministry.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

deeply moved, challenged, filled with hope, and encouraged that we can make a difference.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I came with a group of people from church. The main projects we worked on during our week were building bathrooms (that will have flush toilets) for a school and some projects at the clinic. From getting off the plane in Guatemala City to getting back to the airport at the end of the week, everying was very well planned and prepared. Our transportation, housing, food, supplies for the projects, and local people to provide translation and direction for the project were taken care of. The week was a productive and enjoyable experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

What a great week we spent with Tom,Dave, Max and all the Mission Guatemala staff! They did an outstanding job of helping us understand the culture and the people of Guatemala, from the Mayan educational dinner, to the weaving demonstrations and time to interact in the markets. Our time spent volunteering was well coordinated, and our time spent interacting with the people of Guatemala was a gift. I truly received more than I gave.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

Mission Guatemala has truly been an amazing blessing in my life. I have learned so much from just putting my hands to work. Tom and everyone who is a part of this mission all took great care of us, and also the privilege of learning Guatemala's culture. Everyone you met was kind and just wanted to share God's love. I will never forget this experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

Mission Guatemala does a great job of taking care of it's volunteers. From the time we arrived in the Guatemala City airport to when they delivered us back there a week later we had no worries. Our accommidations and food were very good. When we arrived at the work site all materials needed were there waiting for us. We were able to interact with the children from the school where we were helping to build a bathroom. This was an awesome experience and I would recommend it to anyone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

Tom and Dave are doing Great Works in the name of God. The opportunities Mission Guatemala Inc. gave our group was life changing. They are truly spreading God's word and giving blessings back to the volunteers. Tom's whole team was ever-attentive and very helpful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 20, 2013

more

March 20, 2013

God blessed my son and I with the opportunity to attend this trip. I will never forget this. Mission Guatemala goes above and beyond to accommodate everyone. We felt safe and comfortable in everything we did while in the country. We soon found out we weren't just there to help. We were also there to give hope, to learn, to teach and to enjoy in Gods amazing love. I recommend this trip to anyone who hears the call to do Gods will.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 19, 2013

more

March 19, 2013

mission Guatemala inc does not just bring in mission teams to work on a project, they also teach you the culture of the country/area, show why the work that is done is so important and the impact it has for individuals, a school , or an entire community. This is not just a 'mission team trip'... it's an experience that will stay with you a lifetime and make you want to come back and continue the relationships and connections you made. mission Guatemala Inc utilizes their money/donations received for the best impact of the most people. It's obvious their staff have heart and compassion in everything they do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 19, 2013

more

March 19, 2013

Mission Guatemala has put together a GREAT mission trip - well organized, well executed, a wonderful staff, great food, and a great mix of fun and hard work. I have been on other mission trips - to Appalachia and Juarez - the contrast between those trips and this trip is stark. Mission Guatemala has developed a great rapport with the kids in the villages they serves - they were excited to see us, and we spent a great week getting to know them and helping build better living conditions for them. THANK YOU Tom and David and Max and your staff - we now have a lifetime of warm, wonderful memories which only service to God can provide.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 8, 2013

more

March 8, 2013

Great week at Mission Guatemala! Tom and his group met us at the airport and took great care of us all week. "Attention to detail" by Tom and his group was a strength on lodging, meals, transportation, and mission work. This mission trip opportunity is perfect for anyone wanting a 3rd world country mission experience. Our lodging was at a nice, clean motel in Panajachel. This town is at 5,250' elevation and sets on beautiful Lake Atitlan. Weather in February was low 70s and blue sky. Guatemalan people and their children were very friendly and most appreciative for our being there. We look forward to a return trip to Mission Guatemala!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers