Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
235 Reviews
1234.931915
Write A Review
March 26, 2015

more

March 26, 2015

my trip to Mission Guatemala in January 2015 was an outstanding trip. The accomodations exceeded my expectations. The staff was wonderful to work with and we were always treated with respect. Our days were well planned and we were able to do many volunteer jobs while there for two weeks. Mission Guatemala arranged sight seeing trips for us that allowed us to learn more about the culture and the people we were there to serve. My husband and I were not ready to come back to the states. We would have gladly stayed another two weeks and hope to make a trip back there within a year. Mission Guatemala is doing great things for the people in the small communities that they work with. I could also see how much the people appreciate all the hard work that Mission Guatemala does along with the teams that come to work. I would recommend this organization to anyone looking to go on a mission trip
March 11, 2015

more

March 11, 2015

Tom Heaton and Co. are wonderful hosts who unfold the story of Mission Guatemala and the many God-interventions that have brought the work to its current scope and efficiency. Tom and David see needs so clearly, and offer to meet the needs of the Guatemalan poor with great love, no judgment, and a standard of excellence which glorifies God and makes me as a fellow United Methodist very proud. This country and the people are beautiful!
March 6, 2015

more

March 6, 2015

This mission in Pana, Guatemala is focused on helping the local population by supporting the schools, providing medical, dental, and eye care as well as providing safe water and nutrient food. I think what makes it clear that they have the people, especially the children, as a focus group is whatever school we visited, and whatever mission representative was with us, the children, teachers and parents all not only knew the mission employees but welcomed them with smiles! I particularly liked how when Dave visited a school, the kids lined up to be lifted up and hugged, they took turns, and each gave him a big hug. They appreciate the school supplies, food and medical help, but really enjoy the love that is shared. This is a mission focused on what the community needs!
March 6, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 6, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

Mission Guatemala Inc is a very productive organization reaching out to several communities with a wide variety of needs. The communities that we were able to help and spend time with are very grateful and humble people. Their years of revolutions, poverty and natural disaster have not dampened the cheerful spirit. We need more organizations who are willing to assure the money donated is placed where it is intended. These servants truly are selfless and live on a minimum while passing on their gifts to others. I am very blessed to have been a part of their helping hand. May His Spirit continue to bring you joy. Katherine Howell

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2015

March 6, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 6, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

A group of us from Iowa spent 2 weeks with Mission Guatemala in January 2015. We were very impressed with the organization, its mission and goals, the amount of work that is accomplished, the basic services provided to the village people and the efficiency with which all is completed on few monetary resources! The medical clinic staffed by Guatemalan doctors, dentists, and pharmacists meets the needs of families who do not have the opportunity or resources to get those services. The meals and school supplies given to poor children in the area are meeting basic needs of nutrition and education! We saw the smiles on the faces of children when they received the school bags.

Mission Guatemala appears to be always looking for ways to improve the lives and opportunities of the disadvantaged. For instance, I helped teach sewing to women with the hope that they will make things to sell to earn some income as well as be able to teach others to sew. The organization is planning to develop a technical training program to teach skills that can be used in the work force. And they're going to open an optometry clinic.

I was very impressed with the staff, their caring attitudes, and their commitment to improving the lives of the poor in the area. I would definitely like to return and be involved with their program again. It is well organized! Bev Kruempel
March 5, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 5, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

Mission Guatemala is a highly-ethical, reputable, well-run organization that is truly making a positive difference in the lives of impoverished Guatemalans. I was so impressed with the efficiency of the organization. They are providing medical services (including dental, optometric, pharmaceutical), jobs, nutritious food, clean water, fuel-efficient stoves, school supplies, and much more, to people in need, and all within a minimal administrative budget. The staff are caring, talented, delightful people who are passionate about their work, and their passion is contagious.

Rather than imposing improvements based upon first-world perceptions, Mission Guatemala is driven by the needs and the culture of those whom they serve. Because of this, the program is highly respected and trusted by the communities served and the entire country.

Our mission team of 20 volunteers spent 2 weeks serving with Mission Guatemala. Due in large part to their being well-organized and having lots of connections within the communities, we were able to maximize the use of our varied talents and accomplish more than I would have dreamed possible in such a short time. We had a wonderful time working there. In addition to the work, we were treated to a few delightful excursions to experience the culture of Guatemala. The lodgings provided are safe and comfortable, far better than what I would expect on a mission trip, and the food extraordinary!

I truly hope to return someday on another mission trip!
March 5, 2015

more

March 5, 2015

Our Iowa United Methodist Volunteer in Mission work team had a fabulous experience at missionguatemala. This is a well planned program staffed by reliable and knowledgeable people who are very helpful. A variety of work was accomplished because of the advance preparation of the staff and the willingness of our team to get the job done but not at the expense of building relationships.

I highly recommend this mission project for potential teams wanting a place where significant and meaningful work can be done for the Glory of God.
February 26, 2015

more

February 26, 2015

We visited Mission Guatemala in January, 2015. It was a transformational experience for both my husband and I. This ministry does not just go out and try to "fix" people and their situations, they are in dialogue with the communities to hear what their needs are and then they provide assistance and support to meet the needs of the community. Tom and Dave are providing great leadership to a stellar group of people they have recruited to work with. The combination of both people that originate from the communities they serve as well as people working in their fields of expertise is what makes this such an amazing ministry. Observing and experiencing how Mission Guatemala engages their communities to participate and invest in their own change was truly inspiring! Upon returning to the organization I serve, I felt there was a lot to be learned from the Mission Guatemala model.
Jennifer, Indiana USA
February 20, 2015

more


1 previous review
July 11, 2011

Our group cleaned & painted at a clinic and preschool facility; built tables and benches for a feeding center; and started building a house for a Mayan family. We were also able to participate in pr... more

February 20, 2015

I have worked with Mission Guatemala several years, and I am always learning something new. Working on projects that are needed in the rural areas are always satisfying and rewarding. Tom and Dave maintain their focus on education , health, and nutrition, and it shows. I like that they involve people of the areas to be involved in the projects as this gives ownership to the people and not to us outsiders.
July 11, 2011

Our group cleaned & painted at a clinic and preschool facility; built tables and benches for a feeding center; and started building a house for a Mayan family. We were also able to participate in presenting water filtration systems to displaced families that have lived in tents since last fall (2010) when they had to leave their village because of mud slides.
The best part of the experience was that we were working side by side with the people we were trying to help. We were learning from each other. It was a lot of manual labor that took a lot of time and many hands.
Tom and David have their hands full managing the groups that come in to do projects, but I think that is why they have gotten so much done in the short time since the mission work began. Not many organizations can get a building, doctor, dentist, and preschool going in less than a year. They keep a handle on what needs to be done to add positive quality to community life inspite of the difficulties the people face.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I experienced a different culture and worked with people outside my comfort zone. I was able to get back to a basic and simple lifestyle which we all need to do at times. I was amazed at the giving and the receiving on the part of everyone, which just goes to show that we all have somethng to share. I really feel I got more than I gave.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A knowledgeable errand person for Tom and David would be helpful, but I know how it is. When you start a business, the manager does it all -- even run to Walmart to get important papers like TP. A tool to assess the talents and abilities of the individuals that are coming in to help might help organize the projects although Tom does have a priority list in mind. I was surprised how we all fell into teams to get the projects done or started the week we were there.

February 20, 2015

more

February 20, 2015

Mission Guatemala is truly a wonderful organization that does mission work in the right way. They have deep respect for the communities and people they work with. First class all the way!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers