Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
222 Reviews
1234.936945
Write A Review
November 18, 2014

more

November 18, 2014

Did one of the first medical missions with this group & had an excellent experience. Very well organized!
November 4, 2014

more

November 4, 2014

Mission Guatemala is doing a great job of affecting the lives of children in Guatemala, well organized. The week we had building a new cafeteria was rewording, the crew waste nothing.

November 3, 2014

more

November 3, 2014

Mission Guatemala is an amazing organization. Tom Heaton has developed a staff that is dedicated and proficient in their jobs. They are continuing to serve more and more needs in the area. The project our team worked on was well organized. With the help of the MG staff and workers we were able to do more than we ever thought possible at the beginning of our stay. The accommodations and meals were exceptional, especially for the area. We were given tours of the clinic and area to better understand the real needs of the people. Overall I think MG is one of the finest organizations with which I have been associated.
November 3, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 6, 2012

Mission Guatemala does an awesome job of managing work teams. They line up meaningful work to be done. They pay attention to the details of accomodations. And most importantly they are intentional ... more

November 3, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful week of work at Mission Guatemala with a team from my church. Was wonderful.
November 6, 2012

Mission Guatemala does an awesome job of managing work teams. They line up meaningful work to be done. They pay attention to the details of accomodations. And most importantly they are intentional about giving team members opportunities to meet Guatemalans and learn about their culture and conditions. I have been on many mission trips over the last 20 years, several outside the US, and this trip was definitely the best.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2014

more

November 3, 2014

Volunteering with Mission Guatemala was a great experience. It was exciting to be a part of a continuing construction project to make a kitchen for a school. I like being able to help others and being a part of the many people and activities that have been and will be part of the project. Mission Guatemala is doing many different good things. In addition, the River House provided nice housing and the cooks made great meals.
November 3, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 5, 2012

What an amazing week we had with Mission Guatemala! The projects (helping to build an office for the teachers at the Jr. High School and installing efficient stoves); the beautiful children; the amazi... more

November 3, 2014

This is our second trip to volunteer with Mission Guatemala! And we'd go again in a heartbeat. The projects are extremely well organized and the staff and other workers are just great. The passion for the work they do is written all over them! Great balance of work and downtime. We were blessed far more than we blessed others I'm sure!
November 5, 2012

What an amazing week we had with Mission Guatemala! The projects (helping to build an office for the teachers at the Jr. High School and installing efficient stoves); the beautiful children; the amazing way God blessed us while we were there. We've already scheduled our return trip for next year! Thank You Mission Guatemala for all you are doing for the people of Guatemala!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

This was my second trip to volunteer for Mission Guatemala. This is an outstanding organization that has great respect in the San Andreas Semetebaj and Panajachel areas. They are very organized and consistently develop programs that exceed similar mission progams. From the staff, cooks, interpreters. drivers, and work leaders, Mission Guatemala does an excellent job of coordinating a true cultural emersion experience. The accommodations and food are excellent and you are well taken care of during your stay. Your experience includes the opportunity to work with the native people and explore areas that the normal tourist would never get to see on a regular tour. Mission Guatemala goes beyond being just a mission trip. They have developed trust and respect from the local people as well as creating a true international bond of friendship between the United States and Guatemala. They include cultural experiences to accompany the actual mission experience. I encourage anyone thinking about doing mission work abroad for their first time to give Mission Guatemala a try. It is amazing to observe the growth of this organization in such a short amount of time. I know that they will go far in the future doing all the good they can for the wonderful people of Guatemala. D. Martin, Evansville, IN
November 3, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 5, 2012

I and 12 others from my church spent last week in Guatemala working with Mission Guatemala. It was a simply wonderful experience all the way around. We worked hard and felt a great deal of satisfact... more

November 3, 2014

This was my second trip to Mission Guatemala. It was such a blessing! Very well organized. It was a great mix of work, education and fun!
November 5, 2012

I and 12 others from my church spent last week in Guatemala working with Mission Guatemala. It was a simply wonderful experience all the way around. We worked hard and felt a great deal of satisfaction with the work we did. Our accommodations were better than any other mission trip I have been on and Tom and Dave were always there to answer any questions we had. A fabulous experience!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2011

I just spent the last week with Mission Guatemala and I'm still thinking about the wonderful experiences I had. Tom, David and Noah made the week of hard work, fun and meaningful. Tom has said he i... more

October 31, 2014

This was my second trip to Mission Guatemala. Tom and his team do a remarkable job. We learned the history of Mission Guatemala, visited the clinic, preschool, and feeding center. We worked all week on stuccoing a school kitchen. We were just part of a team effort of many volunteer groups to help build this kitchen for the children in the area. We enjoyed the people, culture and beautiful surroundings. We had gracious hosts, cooks, bus drivers, guide, construction crew, and interpreter. Thank you for a wonderful week.
November 1, 2011

I just spent the last week with Mission Guatemala and I'm still thinking about the wonderful experiences I had. Tom, David and Noah made the week of hard work, fun and meaningful. Tom has said he is all about developing relationships and we definitely did that with the friendly and appreciative natives.
I painted a house and fence, delivered and helped assemble fuel efficient stoves and played with the adorable preschoolers. Throughout the week a staff member was working along with us and helping us. Tom made sure that the volunteers needs were met while making sure that we had worthwhile projects to do to help the people of the villages.
Before Mission Guatemala existed these people had no one they could depend on to help them. Within a year's time there is a health and dental clinic and a preschool which is available to them. Plus a feeding center was built for children in another area. Many great things have been accomplished in such a short time.
I am so glad that I was able to be a part of this wonderful organization. I'm hoping to return and help Mission Guatemala improve the lives of their neighbors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Mission Guatemala is a well-organized, high-functioning organization that engages local participation from the Guatemalan community in determining the most urgent needs and building trust in the communities they serve. They give hard-working, appreciative people a hand up, not a handout that will have a dramatic impact on future generations! I just completed a 9 day mission trip there. I truly feel that I took away more than I gave. Elaine Palmer
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers