Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 11, 2013

more

July 11, 2013

Our family's foundation has given to many non-profits over the past 15 year but only at Miracles in Action does 100% of your contribution go to those in need. Miracles in Action covers it's own expenses through separate yard sales and fund raisers. This is incredible and unprecedented in the non-profit world, but so true of Penny.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep doing what they're doing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

MIA came into my life in Jan 2013 when I was invited to join Penny and her group to visit the "bottle schools"that MIA has been helping the Mayan villagers build. The " miracle" was in the smiling faces of the children and parents and in the promise of a better life through education and health. Also impressive ws the fact that 100% of their donations go toward buying water filters and vented stoves etc which are made locally.I was very impressed with the enthusiasm and dedication of the many young workers we met there especially Pedro Rodriguez who has been successfully promoting the growing and cooking of highly nutritious local plants and grains. Thank you Penny Christie Pedro and all the other volunteers. You are my #1 charity among all others. Jolex

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

I have known about Miracles in Action for at least 6 years or so and had made smaller donations. Last November I was moved to make a more significant donation, and was stunned to be invited to Guatemala to see how my donation would help in the building of schools, and generally improving life for villagers there. Penny Rambacher, Christie Brown, and Pedro gave me and two others a personalized tour for a week. I am so impressed by the networking that this group does, and was happy to meet so many other dedicated people, and also have the opportunity to meet the locals in their homes- families who struggle to give the best they can to their improve their living standards with the help they receive. I learned so much of the history and the civil war there. Miracles is trying to reintroduce native crops, like chia and chaya, back to the land and people. It is my intent to continue supporting this wonderful group, especially with 100% of contributions going directly to projects.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage a whole lot of people to find out about the great work they are doing - they are already doing it, but I wish more people would get involved.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I have been impressed with everyone I have met who works with Miracles in Action. They are committed to making a real and long-term difference in Guatemala through education. They also work to meet short term needs, from nutrition education to giving out eyeglasses.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

Sponsoring a school and leaving that legacy was a wonderful and fulfilling experience. The impact on the village and those families was so heartfelt.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Christie and the volunteers at Miracles in Action have touched so many lives. This is an incredible organization and continues to need help and support. Great job for all of your hard work in Guatemala!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

What impressed me the most about this organization is that the are truly making a difference in the lives of many. 100% of the money donated has gone toward this goal. I have traveled to Guatemala with this group as a volunteer and have seen first hand the results. The people running Miracles in Action are doing it out of love and genuine concern for others. Their heart is in the right place and their efforts are saving lives, educating the young, teaching meaningful work skills, and improving health through water and stove projects as well as improved nutrition.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 18, 2011

more

February 18, 2011

I am a volunteer, donor and help on the extended board of this incredible organization. This is a story of how 2 people, with a heart and a purpose can make a difference in the world.

Helping children become educated about the possibilities in the world vs. the poverty they see; giving
mothers the ability to earn a living in their home while caring for their children; manifesting newly designed stoves so families can eat without the fear of being burned and scared; having water in the village vs. having to walk 10 miles with 35 pound water buckets of the mother's head all but a few of the things this charity ensures for the Guatemalan families they serve.

Instead of standing around wondering what they could do, Penny and her Mom found a need and addressed it with a strategy of sustainability. Penny, now continues the journey in her Mom's memory as she helps these families become
a part of a new possibility of life.

It is heart warming to see the results of their efforts. 29+ schools in 5 years and more on the way. My husband and I are so impressed with Penny's efforts and feel so blessed to be involved, we have pledged school #33.

We also use this charity to teach our children and grandchildren about giving vs. receiving; about paying it forward. This year they all honored us with a gift to Miracles for Chirstmas. It was the best gift ever for two reasons: 1) Penny got some support for her efforts 2) but our children and grandchildren have shown they have learned a life lesson - what more could parents or grandparents ask then to have taught your children/grandchilren something as great as giving!

God Bless Miracles in Action and God Bless Penny and all the volunteers and Supporters about the globe!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the faces of the children in school, receiving their first ever stuffed anomal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Honestly - nothing about the organization itself. I would love to see us put an administrator in place tto free up Penny. She works far tooo hard with very little rest. I worry about her. We need her leadership and drive!

February 17, 2011

more

February 17, 2011

I first got involved with Miracles in Action as a donor because I believed in their mission of helping the poorest of the poor to help themselves. After going to Guatemala several times, and seeing how Miracles in Action stretches the dollar and 100% of donation dollars go directly toward the project, I wanted to do even more. I am the donor for school #15 in Hue Hue and am now on the board of directors. I have never seen an organization of more dedicated volunteers. There are no Miracles in Action employees. We are volunteer run. We take donors to see their projects so they can see where every dollar goes. This organization truly helps the poor through education, vocation, and sustainable projects.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing and being a part of the past 15 schools being constructed by Miracles in Action. Thousands of children will benefit from Miracles' schools. I have visited many of the Miracles' schools in person, as I have gone on 5 missions with Miracles in Action. I also have seen women cry in gratitude for the water they now have running into their homes because of Miracles in Action. The water projects have also been life changing for many Guatemalans.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give Penny, the founder and president, 3 personal assistants. She has dedicated her life to the organization and there just isn't enough of her to do it all! Construction of approximatly 30 schools and over 16 water projects in the past 6 years because of her efforts is undeniably Nobel Peace Prize worthy (she is the woman and heroin behind Miracles in Action). I have never met an individual more dedicated to helping others.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Lack of education in Guatemala. 80% of the rural Mayans are illiterate. Also, lack of water. Saw thousands drinking water from ponds and dirty streams. Water projects help to save lives, as many children die from the diseases and problems caused by dirty water.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

No time better than the present to help others. Helping others to help themselves makes the biggest impact.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Get involved- help today. Make a difference on whatever level you can...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers