Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 11, 2013

more

July 11, 2013

I have known the Founders of this organization for many years. They believe in both "giving a fish" and "teaching to fish." They provide locally accessible nutritional substances and safe cook stoves to bring necessities and they build schools and supply teachers and supplies to promote advancements for the Mayans, all with no salaries or stipends for themselves. They also work well with other like-minded organizations for the behalf of the Mayans.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

....... you can not get any better than this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

I truly appreciate all the work being done in Guatemala to improve the lives of the Mayan people. As as educator, I totally believe that the "road oout of poverty' is by educating the populace. Bu working with the local population, giving them what they know they need, and offering education in a variety of formats, progress is being made in this region. I have recently donated what is a significant amount of money in terms of my family's income, because I know it will be put to good use.
WAYS TO MAKE IT BETTER...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...
Have it grow so that it has "chapters" across the USA

MORE FEEDBACK...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013



I have volunteered for many charities in my life, but MIA has captured my heart.
It provides the most basic needs for the marginalized Mayans in Guatamala. The
concept of Hand Up NOT Hand Out is appealing because it allows the native people
to retain their dignity while
learning how to improve their quality of life. The
best part is that 100% of the donations go to MIA projects to provide clean
water, safe stoves, better nutrition and education for the children. The
operation is very effective because so much has been accomplished in such a
short time. I have recommended this group to all of my friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

Miracles in Action touches lives in highly significant ways. With a very small overhead, donations are able to go directly to the people in need. I have been in Guatemala to see the work Miracles in Action is doing....building schools in remote villages, teaching the people to grow sustainable high-impact foods, providing wells and sustainable cooking methods. They really do partner with the people on the ground in creative, effective, efficient ways. The collaboration Miracles in Action achieves with other non-profits makes a donor's gift really hit the target. They do not "reinvent" the wheel. They connect with people who are already in service and know the needs and how to best address them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

I am proud to be a volunteer with Miracles in Action. When I was looking for a group that was working with the poorest areas in Guatemala, I found Miracles in Action on the internet and was impressed... more

April 5, 2013

I am a long-time volunteer with Miracles in Action. It's a fantastic organization that does all they can to keep their overhead very low so they can maximize the amount that goes directly to the work they do in Guatemala with some of the poorest of the poor. They empower the local people and give them a hand-up, not a hand-out, providing education, training, and health.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

I am proud to be a volunteer with Miracles in Action. When I was looking for a group that was working with the poorest areas in Guatemala, I found Miracles in Action on the internet and was impressed by their mission and outlook. I called an talked to the founder, Penny Rambacher, and was even more impressed. I was able to volunteer with them selling Guatemalan handicrafts in the U. S. and being a photographer and translator during openings of schools and a vocation center that they funded in Guatemala. I appreciate their attitude of giving a hand up, not just a hand out. They do everything they can to keep overhead low so that funding goes to providing materials and employment options to locals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Coming to know Miracles in Action through the mission committee at my church, I have found a way, through volunteering, to help make a difference to extremely needy and underserved third-world people. It has been amazing to watch miracles keep on happening.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

Miracles in Action is a great organization that leaves a lifelong impact by Guatemalans. There is much commitment to bettering the lives of these people and do great things for their society.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

In January 2012 I went to Guatemala for 2 1/2 weeks to study Spanish. I was told by a friend that during the time of my visit, there would be a new school opened by the organization Miracles in Action. I played hooky from my Spanish studies for the day and traveled with the group to the school opening. What warmed my heart so much was not how the Miracles in Action group felt about what they were doing, but how the locals felt about being the recipient of this new school - they were truly grateful and appreciative for this gift and hopeful for their children's futures. Miracles in Action is really making a difference in people's lives now and building better lives for future generations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 27, 2011

more

February 27, 2011

I am involved in multiple charities as the head of a school service learning group. Miracles in Action is truly one of my favorites. It meets all of the criteria that I demand of a group which I/we support. It is based on the needs of the population and has been able to do so, by finding out what is wanted by the population that MIA serves, and then working to meet that need. Monies raised are well managed- as seen by the numerous schools, water projects, stoves etc.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Friends having schools opened in Guatemala allowing many hundreds of students to receive an education.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have even more people involved in this organization

February 20, 2011

more

February 20, 2011

From the early days of taking shoes, toys and blankets, this charity has progressed to building schools, vocational training, libraries, clean water and wells for villages, vented cooking stoves, family planning and so much more. I know of no other charity where 100% of your donation goes to the project you support and if you contribute to build a school, you as the donor get to go and see what you have built and see the gratitude of every child and adult in the village you have helped. Penny, the founder and CEO of Miracles is an amazing lady with so much vision for a brighter tomorrow for Guatemala with the sustainable aid she provides.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen this organization grow from the beginning and am still amazed at all that has been accomplished.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers