Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.957455
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 29, 2014

more

August 29, 2014

I am impressed with Miracles In Action. They put every penny of your donation to work helping the poor in rural Guatemala. Over the years I have seen the schools, the libraries, the water projects, the wood burning stoves, the nutritional education, the teacher education, and the warm clothing that they have given to the people of Guatemala. I am impressed with the dedication and the hard work of everyone associated with this charity and with the amazing results of their hard work in rural Guatemala.
August 1, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 26, 2012

What's impressed me most is about Miracles in Action is the breadth of services they're involved in--from building schools to providing clean water systems, safe stoves and nutrition education. I love... more

August 1, 2014

Recently I had the opportunity to visit some of the communities where Miracles in Action works. I was struck by what a difference they've made in thousands of people's lives. They choose their partners and communities very thoughtfully, to have the biggest impact. They also listen closely to community leaders to find their greatest needs -- it's not a one-size-fits-all approach. What an effective way to change the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 26, 2012

What's impressed me most is about Miracles in Action is the breadth of services they're involved in--from building schools to providing clean water systems, safe stoves and nutrition education. I love that they work with local NGOs and seek sustainable, long-lasting solutions to the problems of rural poverty. And it's all done in the most frugal ways possible, stretching every dollar to provide the greatest impact.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 18, 2011

My volunteer work with Penny has been very rewarding Just to see the pictures of the smiling childrfen's faces when they get a new school or a backpack; the mothers who get a new stove in their home; ... more

July 28, 2014

This organization just keeps getting better and better. First by providing basic needs, then building schools, installing safe stoves, water systems and the big one, teaching people about nutrition. This enables the people to plant foods that give them a much more stable and nutrious diet. Much Better for children especially in their formitive years.

The list of accomplishments goes on and on. They also partner with other groups which enable them all to do more fr the people of Guatemala.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to expand teaching people how to help themselves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 18, 2011

My volunteer work with Penny has been very rewarding Just to see the pictures of the smiling childrfen's faces when they get a new school or a backpack; the mothers who get a new stove in their home; the women with sewing machines -- and the men working hard on building their new schools! We give so little and they get so much. I have not been to Guatemala but hope to visit soon. This is an example of one determined woman can do!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Reports of new schools, etc.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try for more grants to help more!

July 11, 2013

more

July 11, 2013

I have known the Founders of this organization for many years. They believe in both "giving a fish" and "teaching to fish." They provide locally accessible nutritional substances and safe cook stoves to bring necessities and they build schools and supply teachers and supplies to promote advancements for the Mayans, all with no salaries or stipends for themselves. They also work well with other like-minded organizations for the behalf of the Mayans.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

....... you can not get any better than this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

I truly appreciate all the work being done in Guatemala to improve the lives of the Mayan people. As as educator, I totally believe that the "road oout of poverty' is by educating the populace. Bu working with the local population, giving them what they know they need, and offering education in a variety of formats, progress is being made in this region. I have recently donated what is a significant amount of money in terms of my family's income, because I know it will be put to good use.
WAYS TO MAKE IT BETTER...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...
Have it grow so that it has "chapters" across the USA

MORE FEEDBACK...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013



I have volunteered for many charities in my life, but MIA has captured my heart.
It provides the most basic needs for the marginalized Mayans in Guatamala. The
concept of Hand Up NOT Hand Out is appealing because it allows the native people
to retain their dignity while
learning how to improve their quality of life. The
best part is that 100% of the donations go to MIA projects to provide clean
water, safe stoves, better nutrition and education for the children. The
operation is very effective because so much has been accomplished in such a
short time. I have recommended this group to all of my friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

I became involved with Miracles In Action on a trip to Guatemala where this wonderful group of hard working, dedicated, individuals had just built a school for the improvrished people there. Miracles In Action works directly with the villagers on projects and one of it's goals is to get the Mayan people to eventually sustain their own living. The people participate in the many charitible endeavors Miracles undertakes such as Clean water systems, safe cooking stoves, nutritional education and sustenance farming , and providing the Artisans an outlet to sell their beautiful beaded jewelry and woven crafts, among many other worthwhile projects.
The difference this organization is making is impressive since approximately 40 schools have been built in the last ten years and hundreds of poor people with no real future are now given hope.
i witnessed the gratitude and pure joy on the faces of the little children , and parents, when given school supplies and ushered into their new classrooms . Prior to their new school the children sat on a dirt floor with classroom walls made of corn stalks.
With patience, love and determination, Miracles In Action is touching lives of others and making a difference. Isn't that what life is all about?
Two women, with the dream of helping the less fortunate, saw the need in Guatemala and BEGAN!
Where many of us, I dare to say most of us, just dream, Penny Rambacher and her mom began moving mountains and now, from their dedication, is the outgrowth of this most wonderful organization.
Martin Luter King said " The big question we must all answer in life is, what are you doing for others"
Miracles In Action is chance for all of us to give back.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Grow it! The more exposure Miracles In Action receives, the more people are aware of it, the more opportunity there is to grow .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I have volunteered for many charities in my life, but MIA has captured my heart. It provides the most basic needs for the marginalized Mayans in Guatamala. The concept of Hand Up NOT Hand Out is appealing because it allows the native people to retain their dignity while learning how to improve their quality of life. The best part is that 100% of the donations go to MIA projects to provide clean water, safe stoves, better nutrition and education for the children. The operation is very effective because so much has been accomplished in such a short time. I have recommended this group to all of my friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

Miracles in Action touches lives in highly significant ways. With a very small overhead, donations are able to go directly to the people in need. I have been in Guatemala to see the work Miracles in Action is doing....building schools in remote villages, teaching the people to grow sustainable high-impact foods, providing wells and sustainable cooking methods. They really do partner with the people on the ground in creative, effective, efficient ways. The collaboration Miracles in Action achieves with other non-profits makes a donor's gift really hit the target. They do not "reinvent" the wheel. They connect with people who are already in service and know the needs and how to best address them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

I am proud to be a volunteer with Miracles in Action. When I was looking for a group that was working with the poorest areas in Guatemala, I found Miracles in Action on the internet and was impressed... more

April 5, 2013

I am a long-time volunteer with Miracles in Action. It's a fantastic organization that does all they can to keep their overhead very low so they can maximize the amount that goes directly to the work they do in Guatemala with some of the poorest of the poor. They empower the local people and give them a hand-up, not a hand-out, providing education, training, and health.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

I am proud to be a volunteer with Miracles in Action. When I was looking for a group that was working with the poorest areas in Guatemala, I found Miracles in Action on the internet and was impressed by their mission and outlook. I called an talked to the founder, Penny Rambacher, and was even more impressed. I was able to volunteer with them selling Guatemalan handicrafts in the U. S. and being a photographer and translator during openings of schools and a vocation center that they funded in Guatemala. I appreciate their attitude of giving a hand up, not just a hand out. They do everything they can to keep overhead low so that funding goes to providing materials and employment options to locals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers