Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.958335
Write A Review
July 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 6, 2013

I have been working in conjunction with Miracles in Action, in Guatemala, for about a year now. Over the last few years, we have "crossed paths" with quite a number of non-profits, both at home in No... more

July 28, 2014

My family and I are humanitarians/missionaries working in Guatemala, we have been here for 5 years now.
We have been working closely with Miracles in Action for about 1-1/2 years now, and are nothing short of AMAZED!
Miracles in Action has enabled us, through funds and assistance, to
construct a beautiful school. As well they have enabled us to provide potable, clean drinking water to numerous villages. They have provided funding for many smokeless stoves. They have provided funding for fruit trees and nutritious plants and seeds. The list goes on and on.
Through all of this they have been incredible! All of the people at Miracles have been a pleasure to work with, and a priceless resource! They offer not only funding, but also access to limitless resources, with people and studies. Their staff here in Guatemala work closely with us, and provide ongoing support. They are pleasurable in everything, and have such amazing hearts for serving! The level of commitment from all members is second to none!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them some amazing deals on a much needed truck! Hep them find an incredible "Manager" here in Guatemala.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 6, 2013

I have been working in conjunction with Miracles in Action, in Guatemala, for about a year now. Over the last few years, we have "crossed paths" with quite a number of non-profits, both at home in North America as well as in Guatemala. I have to say, as a family who is doing similar work, it has been FANTASTIC meeting other people who share the same hearts and minds to make a real difference!! From the board members right to all the people in the field, they are not only all committed physically, but it is so obvious in all their actions that their hearts are genuinely 100% in everything as well!! The work that they do is definitely a great example of "hand up", as they are constantly searching for long-term, sustainable ways to make a REAL difference!! They have been very instrumental in assisting us with various agriculture/nutrition initiatives, as well as simply encouragement and love. Penny and Christie both are constantly, readily available for anything we need, and surpass every level of commitment one can imagine. Pedro, on the field in Guatemala, constantly displays his amazing heart for serving the poor, as well as his love for our planet, which is also very important in all that we are doing! Over all, if every organization operated as Miracles in Action Inc does, I am confident that our world would be a completely different, much better place!! Thank you so much Penny, Christie, and Pedro!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes, I guess the only thing that I would do is try my hardest to get them more volunteers, and more support!! :)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2013

more

July 19, 2013

Literacy is important to Miracles in Action. They built a library in the remote Mayan village of Xojola Guatemala where there is also a community clinic that is visited a few times a year by international medical teams. Books and possibly some computers will be arriving this year and the library gives this village a unique opportunity that would not otherwise be available by providing a safe, dry, and secure place to house the materials donated.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Promote literacy and global knowledge while teaching the importance of maintaining the Mayan languages and culture This is something they probably already are doing as it is so important to the next generation of rural Maya.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013

more

July 11, 2013

Our family's foundation has given to many non-profits over the past 15 year but only at Miracles in Action does 100% of your contribution go to those in need. Miracles in Action covers it's own expenses through separate yard sales and fund raisers. This is incredible and unprecedented in the non-profit world, but so true of Penny.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep doing what they're doing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013

more

July 11, 2013

I have known the Founders of this organization for many years. They believe in both "giving a fish" and "teaching to fish." They provide locally accessible nutritional substances and safe cook stoves to bring necessities and they build schools and supply teachers and supplies to promote advancements for the Mayans, all with no salaries or stipends for themselves. They also work well with other like-minded organizations for the behalf of the Mayans.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

....... you can not get any better than this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 11, 2013

more

July 11, 2013

I spent some time with a few members of Miracles In Action and got to learn a lot about it. They are SO knowledgable in their missions and you can tell that they are extremely passionate about the people they serve. They all have huge hearts and are over the top compassionate and generous. I couldn't feel more privileged to have spent time with them in their missions. Thank you to MIA for all you do!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

I became involved with Miracles in Action after my son and his wife adopted two boys from Guatemala at the age of 15 months. I "work" at the farm market selling the jewelry, purses, and other artifacts made by the Mayan women of Guatemala. It has been my pleasure to be associated with this great group of honest and hard-working people. Knowing that our efforts are helping to build schools, libraries, water systems, and other self-sustainable projects is very gratifying. It is a wonderful organization and I am very grateful to be a part of it. Pat D.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

I truly appreciate all the work being done in Guatemala to improve the lives of the Mayan people. As as educator, I totally believe that the "road oout of poverty' is by educating the populace. Bu working with the local population, giving them what they know they need, and offering education in a variety of formats, progress is being made in this region. I have recently donated what is a significant amount of money in terms of my family's income, because I know it will be put to good use.
WAYS TO MAKE IT BETTER...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...
Have it grow so that it has "chapters" across the USA

MORE FEEDBACK...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013



I have volunteered for many charities in my life, but MIA has captured my heart.
It provides the most basic needs for the marginalized Mayans in Guatamala. The
concept of Hand Up NOT Hand Out is appealing because it allows the native people
to retain their dignity while
learning how to improve their quality of life. The
best part is that 100% of the donations go to MIA projects to provide clean
water, safe stoves, better nutrition and education for the children. The
operation is very effective because so much has been accomplished in such a
short time. I have recommended this group to all of my friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

MIA came into my life in Jan 2013 when I was invited to join Penny and her group to visit the "bottle schools"that MIA has been helping the Mayan villagers build. The " miracle" was in the smiling faces of the children and parents and in the promise of a better life through education and health. Also impressive ws the fact that 100% of their donations go toward buying water filters and vented stoves etc which are made locally.I was very impressed with the enthusiasm and dedication of the many young workers we met there especially Pedro Rodriguez who has been successfully promoting the growing and cooking of highly nutritious local plants and grains. Thank you Penny Christie Pedro and all the other volunteers. You are my #1 charity among all others. Jolex

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

I became involved with Miracles In Action on a trip to Guatemala where this wonderful group of hard working, dedicated, individuals had just built a school for the improvrished people there. Miracles In Action works directly with the villagers on projects and one of it's goals is to get the Mayan people to eventually sustain their own living. The people participate in the many charitible endeavors Miracles undertakes such as Clean water systems, safe cooking stoves, nutritional education and sustenance farming , and providing the Artisans an outlet to sell their beautiful beaded jewelry and woven crafts, among many other worthwhile projects.
The difference this organization is making is impressive since approximately 40 schools have been built in the last ten years and hundreds of poor people with no real future are now given hope.
i witnessed the gratitude and pure joy on the faces of the little children , and parents, when given school supplies and ushered into their new classrooms . Prior to their new school the children sat on a dirt floor with classroom walls made of corn stalks.
With patience, love and determination, Miracles In Action is touching lives of others and making a difference. Isn't that what life is all about?
Two women, with the dream of helping the less fortunate, saw the need in Guatemala and BEGAN!
Where many of us, I dare to say most of us, just dream, Penny Rambacher and her mom began moving mountains and now, from their dedication, is the outgrowth of this most wonderful organization.
Martin Luter King said " The big question we must all answer in life is, what are you doing for others"
Miracles In Action is chance for all of us to give back.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Grow it! The more exposure Miracles In Action receives, the more people are aware of it, the more opportunity there is to grow .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers