Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 11, 2013

more

July 11, 2013

I spent some time with a few members of Miracles In Action and got to learn a lot about it. They are SO knowledgable in their missions and you can tell that they are extremely passionate about the people they serve. They all have huge hearts and are over the top compassionate and generous. I couldn't feel more privileged to have spent time with them in their missions. Thank you to MIA for all you do!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

I became involved with Miracles in Action after my son and his wife adopted two boys from Guatemala at the age of 15 months. I "work" at the farm market selling the jewelry, purses, and other artifacts made by the Mayan women of Guatemala. It has been my pleasure to be associated with this great group of honest and hard-working people. Knowing that our efforts are helping to build schools, libraries, water systems, and other self-sustainable projects is very gratifying. It is a wonderful organization and I am very grateful to be a part of it. Pat D.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

I truly appreciate all the work being done in Guatemala to improve the lives of the Mayan people. As as educator, I totally believe that the "road oout of poverty' is by educating the populace. Bu working with the local population, giving them what they know they need, and offering education in a variety of formats, progress is being made in this region. I have recently donated what is a significant amount of money in terms of my family's income, because I know it will be put to good use.
WAYS TO MAKE IT BETTER...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...
Have it grow so that it has "chapters" across the USA

MORE FEEDBACK...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013



I have volunteered for many charities in my life, but MIA has captured my heart.
It provides the most basic needs for the marginalized Mayans in Guatamala. The
concept of Hand Up NOT Hand Out is appealing because it allows the native people
to retain their dignity while
learning how to improve their quality of life. The
best part is that 100% of the donations go to MIA projects to provide clean
water, safe stoves, better nutrition and education for the children. The
operation is very effective because so much has been accomplished in such a
short time. I have recommended this group to all of my friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

MIA came into my life in Jan 2013 when I was invited to join Penny and her group to visit the "bottle schools"that MIA has been helping the Mayan villagers build. The " miracle" was in the smiling faces of the children and parents and in the promise of a better life through education and health. Also impressive ws the fact that 100% of their donations go toward buying water filters and vented stoves etc which are made locally.I was very impressed with the enthusiasm and dedication of the many young workers we met there especially Pedro Rodriguez who has been successfully promoting the growing and cooking of highly nutritious local plants and grains. Thank you Penny Christie Pedro and all the other volunteers. You are my #1 charity among all others. Jolex

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

I have known about Miracles in Action for at least 6 years or so and had made smaller donations. Last November I was moved to make a more significant donation, and was stunned to be invited to Guatemala to see how my donation would help in the building of schools, and generally improving life for villagers there. Penny Rambacher, Christie Brown, and Pedro gave me and two others a personalized tour for a week. I am so impressed by the networking that this group does, and was happy to meet so many other dedicated people, and also have the opportunity to meet the locals in their homes- families who struggle to give the best they can to their improve their living standards with the help they receive. I learned so much of the history and the civil war there. Miracles is trying to reintroduce native crops, like chia and chaya, back to the land and people. It is my intent to continue supporting this wonderful group, especially with 100% of contributions going directly to projects.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage a whole lot of people to find out about the great work they are doing - they are already doing it, but I wish more people would get involved.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

Miracles in Action touches lives in highly significant ways. With a very small overhead, donations are able to go directly to the people in need. I have been in Guatemala to see the work Miracles in Action is doing....building schools in remote villages, teaching the people to grow sustainable high-impact foods, providing wells and sustainable cooking methods. They really do partner with the people on the ground in creative, effective, efficient ways. The collaboration Miracles in Action achieves with other non-profits makes a donor's gift really hit the target. They do not "reinvent" the wheel. They connect with people who are already in service and know the needs and how to best address them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

Miracles in Action is a supporter of the work that we do on the ground in Guatemala and through their organization, many young people have been empowered to stand-up and become change-makers within their communities, working together towards a more sustainable future. I have also seen the impact that Miracle's other projects - particularly around innovative approaches to nutrition, sustainable agriculture and their fair-trade support of the cottage industry - are really changing peoples lives. The Miracles team continues to ask questions and seek ways to have a real, sustainable influence on improving peoples lives and it has been a pleasure to work with their team and partner up to help further that work. Thanks Miracles!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

I am proud to be a volunteer with Miracles in Action. When I was looking for a group that was working with the poorest areas in Guatemala, I found Miracles in Action on the internet and was impressed... more

April 5, 2013

I am a long-time volunteer with Miracles in Action. It's a fantastic organization that does all they can to keep their overhead very low so they can maximize the amount that goes directly to the work they do in Guatemala with some of the poorest of the poor. They empower the local people and give them a hand-up, not a hand-out, providing education, training, and health.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

I am proud to be a volunteer with Miracles in Action. When I was looking for a group that was working with the poorest areas in Guatemala, I found Miracles in Action on the internet and was impressed by their mission and outlook. I called an talked to the founder, Penny Rambacher, and was even more impressed. I was able to volunteer with them selling Guatemalan handicrafts in the U. S. and being a photographer and translator during openings of schools and a vocation center that they funded in Guatemala. I appreciate their attitude of giving a hand up, not just a hand out. They do everything they can to keep overhead low so that funding goes to providing materials and employment options to locals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

After my first experiment checking out and getting to know the team and their work in Guatemala I felt this was a part of a magical-spiritual experience, it was surprisingly great. To be able to see how this organization and their group of volunteers are managing to get the help from the must generous and big hearted people in the US to the beautiful people in need in this country rich in human resources and so poor economically and educationally speaking. Their programs on education, nutrition and beyond the fair trade are very smart approaches to solutions in every area, always thinking in sustainable programs and looking to the future not only to the challenges of today.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers