Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 19, 2013

more

July 19, 2013

Literacy is important to Miracles in Action. They built a library in the remote Mayan village of Xojola Guatemala where there is also a community clinic that is visited a few times a year by international medical teams. Books and possibly some computers will be arriving this year and the library gives this village a unique opportunity that would not otherwise be available by providing a safe, dry, and secure place to house the materials donated.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Promote literacy and global knowledge while teaching the importance of maintaining the Mayan languages and culture This is something they probably already are doing as it is so important to the next generation of rural Maya.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013

more

July 11, 2013

Our family's foundation has given to many non-profits over the past 15 year but only at Miracles in Action does 100% of your contribution go to those in need. Miracles in Action covers it's own expenses through separate yard sales and fund raisers. This is incredible and unprecedented in the non-profit world, but so true of Penny.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep doing what they're doing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013

more

July 11, 2013

I have known the Founders of this organization for many years. They believe in both "giving a fish" and "teaching to fish." They provide locally accessible nutritional substances and safe cook stoves to bring necessities and they build schools and supply teachers and supplies to promote advancements for the Mayans, all with no salaries or stipends for themselves. They also work well with other like-minded organizations for the behalf of the Mayans.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

....... you can not get any better than this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 11, 2013

more

July 11, 2013

I spent some time with a few members of Miracles In Action and got to learn a lot about it. They are SO knowledgable in their missions and you can tell that they are extremely passionate about the people they serve. They all have huge hearts and are over the top compassionate and generous. I couldn't feel more privileged to have spent time with them in their missions. Thank you to MIA for all you do!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

I became involved with Miracles in Action after my son and his wife adopted two boys from Guatemala at the age of 15 months. I "work" at the farm market selling the jewelry, purses, and other artifacts made by the Mayan women of Guatemala. It has been my pleasure to be associated with this great group of honest and hard-working people. Knowing that our efforts are helping to build schools, libraries, water systems, and other self-sustainable projects is very gratifying. It is a wonderful organization and I am very grateful to be a part of it. Pat D.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

I truly appreciate all the work being done in Guatemala to improve the lives of the Mayan people. As as educator, I totally believe that the "road oout of poverty' is by educating the populace. Bu working with the local population, giving them what they know they need, and offering education in a variety of formats, progress is being made in this region. I have recently donated what is a significant amount of money in terms of my family's income, because I know it will be put to good use.
WAYS TO MAKE IT BETTER...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...
Have it grow so that it has "chapters" across the USA

MORE FEEDBACK...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013



I have volunteered for many charities in my life, but MIA has captured my heart.
It provides the most basic needs for the marginalized Mayans in Guatamala. The
concept of Hand Up NOT Hand Out is appealing because it allows the native people
to retain their dignity while
learning how to improve their quality of life. The
best part is that 100% of the donations go to MIA projects to provide clean
water, safe stoves, better nutrition and education for the children. The
operation is very effective because so much has been accomplished in such a
short time. I have recommended this group to all of my friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

MIA came into my life in Jan 2013 when I was invited to join Penny and her group to visit the "bottle schools"that MIA has been helping the Mayan villagers build. The " miracle" was in the smiling faces of the children and parents and in the promise of a better life through education and health. Also impressive ws the fact that 100% of their donations go toward buying water filters and vented stoves etc which are made locally.I was very impressed with the enthusiasm and dedication of the many young workers we met there especially Pedro Rodriguez who has been successfully promoting the growing and cooking of highly nutritious local plants and grains. Thank you Penny Christie Pedro and all the other volunteers. You are my #1 charity among all others. Jolex

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

I have known about Miracles in Action for at least 6 years or so and had made smaller donations. Last November I was moved to make a more significant donation, and was stunned to be invited to Guatemala to see how my donation would help in the building of schools, and generally improving life for villagers there. Penny Rambacher, Christie Brown, and Pedro gave me and two others a personalized tour for a week. I am so impressed by the networking that this group does, and was happy to meet so many other dedicated people, and also have the opportunity to meet the locals in their homes- families who struggle to give the best they can to their improve their living standards with the help they receive. I learned so much of the history and the civil war there. Miracles is trying to reintroduce native crops, like chia and chaya, back to the land and people. It is my intent to continue supporting this wonderful group, especially with 100% of contributions going directly to projects.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage a whole lot of people to find out about the great work they are doing - they are already doing it, but I wish more people would get involved.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

I have been working in conjunction with Miracles in Action, in Guatemala, for about a year now. Over the last few years, we have "crossed paths" with quite a number of non-profits, both at home in North America as well as in Guatemala. I have to say, as a family who is doing similar work, it has been FANTASTIC meeting other people who share the same hearts and minds to make a real difference!! From the board members right to all the people in the field, they are not only all committed physically, but it is so obvious in all their actions that their hearts are genuinely 100% in everything as well!! The work that they do is definitely a great example of "hand up", as they are constantly searching for long-term, sustainable ways to make a REAL difference!! They have been very instrumental in assisting us with various agriculture/nutrition initiatives, as well as simply encouragement and love. Penny and Christie both are constantly, readily available for anything we need, and surpass every level of commitment one can imagine. Pedro, on the field in Guatemala, constantly displays his amazing heart for serving the poor, as well as his love for our planet, which is also very important in all that we are doing! Over all, if every organization operated as Miracles in Action Inc does, I am confident that our world would be a completely different, much better place!! Thank you so much Penny, Christie, and Pedro!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes, I guess the only thing that I would do is try my hardest to get them more volunteers, and more support!! :)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers