Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.975615
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 1, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 26, 2012

What's impressed me most is about Miracles in Action is the breadth of services they're involved in--from building schools to providing clean water systems, safe stoves and nutrition education. I love... more

August 1, 2014

Recently I had the opportunity to visit some of the communities where Miracles in Action works. I was struck by what a difference they've made in thousands of people's lives. They choose their partners and communities very thoughtfully, to have the biggest impact. They also listen closely to community leaders to find their greatest needs -- it's not a one-size-fits-all approach. What an effective way to change the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 26, 2012

What's impressed me most is about Miracles in Action is the breadth of services they're involved in--from building schools to providing clean water systems, safe stoves and nutrition education. I love that they work with local NGOs and seek sustainable, long-lasting solutions to the problems of rural poverty. And it's all done in the most frugal ways possible, stretching every dollar to provide the greatest impact.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

I remember meeting the founder of this organization 2 years ago at a Nutrition Expo and getting intrigued by the information shown in their brochure. Everything happens for a reason; I got to know them better in the field and I just love how the website shows what they truly profess. I have seen it and experienced because I am now involved in this NGO, and it is a wonderful one.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

I love the concept of "teaching how to fish" instead of handing out a fish...Building schools, libraries, installing wood stoves, providing clean water, helping future generations to have an opportunity to have a better life. These are some of the reasons for which I strongly support Mira les in Action. Needless to say, the fact that one hundred percent of the donation goes to the project, makes it a no brainier to choose this charity over any other in Guatemala or elsewhere. I've had the opportunity to meet board members, partners and donors and they are all people with a desire to work for others enthusiastically and with a lot of love. I wish there were more stars to give this great charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

I really like that 100% of the donations go directly to the projects. I'm involved in this organization in many capacities, but writing as a donor, I feel that my donation makes a true impact! I like to see how lives are changed and improved with our donor dollars. A little bit goes a long way, as funds are directed to on-the-ground projects without bureaucracy and red tape bogging down progress.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep focusing on the most impact for $ spent!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 18, 2011

My volunteer work with Penny has been very rewarding Just to see the pictures of the smiling childrfen's faces when they get a new school or a backpack; the mothers who get a new stove in their home; ... more

July 28, 2014

This organization just keeps getting better and better. First by providing basic needs, then building schools, installing safe stoves, water systems and the big one, teaching people about nutrition. This enables the people to plant foods that give them a much more stable and nutrious diet. Much Better for children especially in their formitive years.

The list of accomplishments goes on and on. They also partner with other groups which enable them all to do more fr the people of Guatemala.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to expand teaching people how to help themselves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 18, 2011

My volunteer work with Penny has been very rewarding Just to see the pictures of the smiling childrfen's faces when they get a new school or a backpack; the mothers who get a new stove in their home; the women with sewing machines -- and the men working hard on building their new schools! We give so little and they get so much. I have not been to Guatemala but hope to visit soon. This is an example of one determined woman can do!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Reports of new schools, etc.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try for more grants to help more!

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

Having partnered with Miracles in Action for the last two years in Guatemala, I can say with confidence that Miracles in Action is doing some of the most groundbreaking work in nutrition in the country. Specifically, their work with the native superfood Chaya is changing thousands of lives across the coutnry, and specifically in the Coast where my nonprofit works I am seeing the direct benefits - families gaining empowerment and food security, while seeing with their own eyes children growing stronger and better thanks to increased nutrient intake. One of the best things Miracles in Action has going for it is their dedication to partnerships and sharing best practices. Penny and Christie are excellent at conencting you to the right person, institution, univeristy or otherwise that has adequate technical knowledge and research for various interventions. They find whats working, and then they take to as many organizations as they can, to reach as many people as they can. I'm proud to partner with Miracles in Action, a truly Great Nonprofit!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

Miracles in Action has become more and more of a leader in the field of non-profits in Guatemala. Their work with the nutritious native plant, Chaya, for instance has taken off immensely. Through developing a strong technical understanding, great relationships, and building good materials, they have helped tens of thousands of new chaya trees be planted by farmers and organizations across the whole country. I know of many projects by other organizations that would have cost much more and never got to the same results. The key behind their success is that their team is incredibly dedicated to their mission and to making the relationships that help them execute that mission. Talking with Penny and Christie at their Antigua office is like speed-reading someone's linked-in account. You get connections from newspapers to scientists to donors to communities. They not only develop their own projects but help other charities to multiply the work, which has brought them great relationships and a lot of success.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 6, 2013

I have been working in conjunction with Miracles in Action, in Guatemala, for about a year now. Over the last few years, we have "crossed paths" with quite a number of non-profits, both at home in No... more

July 28, 2014

My family and I are humanitarians/missionaries working in Guatemala, we have been here for 5 years now.
We have been working closely with Miracles in Action for about 1-1/2 years now, and are nothing short of AMAZED!
Miracles in Action has enabled us, through funds and assistance, to
construct a beautiful school. As well they have enabled us to provide potable, clean drinking water to numerous villages. They have provided funding for many smokeless stoves. They have provided funding for fruit trees and nutritious plants and seeds. The list goes on and on.
Through all of this they have been incredible! All of the people at Miracles have been a pleasure to work with, and a priceless resource! They offer not only funding, but also access to limitless resources, with people and studies. Their staff here in Guatemala work closely with us, and provide ongoing support. They are pleasurable in everything, and have such amazing hearts for serving! The level of commitment from all members is second to none!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them some amazing deals on a much needed truck! Hep them find an incredible "Manager" here in Guatemala.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 6, 2013

I have been working in conjunction with Miracles in Action, in Guatemala, for about a year now. Over the last few years, we have "crossed paths" with quite a number of non-profits, both at home in North America as well as in Guatemala. I have to say, as a family who is doing similar work, it has been FANTASTIC meeting other people who share the same hearts and minds to make a real difference!! From the board members right to all the people in the field, they are not only all committed physically, but it is so obvious in all their actions that their hearts are genuinely 100% in everything as well!! The work that they do is definitely a great example of "hand up", as they are constantly searching for long-term, sustainable ways to make a REAL difference!! They have been very instrumental in assisting us with various agriculture/nutrition initiatives, as well as simply encouragement and love. Penny and Christie both are constantly, readily available for anything we need, and surpass every level of commitment one can imagine. Pedro, on the field in Guatemala, constantly displays his amazing heart for serving the poor, as well as his love for our planet, which is also very important in all that we are doing! Over all, if every organization operated as Miracles in Action Inc does, I am confident that our world would be a completely different, much better place!! Thank you so much Penny, Christie, and Pedro!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes, I guess the only thing that I would do is try my hardest to get them more volunteers, and more support!! :)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2013

more

July 19, 2013

Literacy is important to Miracles in Action. They built a library in the remote Mayan village of Xojola Guatemala where there is also a community clinic that is visited a few times a year by international medical teams. Books and possibly some computers will be arriving this year and the library gives this village a unique opportunity that would not otherwise be available by providing a safe, dry, and secure place to house the materials donated.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Promote literacy and global knowledge while teaching the importance of maintaining the Mayan languages and culture This is something they probably already are doing as it is so important to the next generation of rural Maya.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013

more

July 11, 2013

Our family's foundation has given to many non-profits over the past 15 year but only at Miracles in Action does 100% of your contribution go to those in need. Miracles in Action covers it's own expenses through separate yard sales and fund raisers. This is incredible and unprecedented in the non-profit world, but so true of Penny.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep doing what they're doing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers