Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a supporter of MHR since 2006. I learned about MHR through the Fans of Barbaro website, and soon came to know Stephanie and Rob Pierce personally. I have visited MHR three times for lengthy stays, and have sponsored a horse, Trooper, since 2008, in addition to being a regular donor. MHR takes wonderful care of the horses, who are happy and healthy. I have seen frightened, abused horses learn to love and trust under Stephanie and Rob's care. The horses' needs always come first with Stephanie and Rob Pierce. MHR maintains transparency for all medical and financial transactions, so you really know where your money is going and why. MHR also requires screening of adopters and adoption contracts, which requires that any adopter no longer able to care for or keep an MHR horse must return the horse to MHR. I know from personal experience that MHR holds adopters to this requirement. MHR also staunchly supports anti-slaughter and other equine welfare initiatives. MHR does not take on more horses than it can care for, and Stephanie and Rob know each horse very well individually. --Susan Eckles, St. Louis, MO

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been associated with MHR since 2006 while following Barbaro. I too was drawn to MHR through the owner, Stephanie Pierce and her genuine love for the plight of horses in need because of abandonment, neglect and abuse. I have visited MHR several times and have since become a friend and supporter of the ranch. Stepanie and her husband Rob care for and love these wonderful creatures like no other.

Recent times have been difficult for the economy and it always seems to be the animals that suffer the most. Financial support is essential and would be greatly appreciated. It is necessary that Stephanie and Rob often use their own funds. The horses always come first, always!

It is an honor to support MHR.
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I had a horse I could no longer care for due to major life changes. It was a difficult decision but one that I had to do. I visited a couple of other rescues and when I first visited Miracle Horse Rescue, I knew this was the place for my guy. The horses in their care are well cared for and I can attest to the fact that donations are used where they are suppose to be, for the horses. In these economic times I know it is difficult for many to give, but if you can please help as this organization wants to grow and it wants to rescue more horses from going to slaughter. Please help if you can, as they helped me and my guy in our time of need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

To help more

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Professional individuals that far exceed the expectations of a non profit organization. They are willing to sacrifice their personal needs to take care of the horses needs first. As a donor I feel completely confident that my money is truly being spent on the horses in need.
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I had the honor of meeting the operators of this rescue. Amazing individuals who run this organization. Dedicated. I was given a personal tour and what I observed was former rescue horses, healthy and well cared. There is nothing hidden, donor funds are utilized for feed and veterinarian care and it shows. The facility is clean very well organized. They know the horses personally, and additionally the horses responded in a positive manner towards them, vying for their attention. Animals with fear do not respond this way. Stephanie could walk in the middle of these horses and they would crowd around her seeking a touch from her. Would I continue to support this organization, absolutely because I personally witnessed where my money is spent. They are hard working, and as I stated dedicated 1000 percent to these horses, that would not be here if they were not taken in my Miracle Horse Rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would highly recommend other potential donors to assist in order for it to grow and to help other abused horses

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I discovered MHR in 2006 thru the Alex Brown website which was formed during the vigil for Barbaro.
Of all the rescue activity that was going on at that time on this venue I was drawn to MHR because of how genuine the owner Sephanie Pierce came across to me. Little did I know then that I would
have the privilige of visiting MHR three times; watch 5 wonderful horses born; take part in rescueing 2 PMU horses and watch their babies being born: become a mom with 9 others to one of the first horses born and watched him grow into a beautiful , magnificient horse.
Stephanie and Rob Pierce run MHR with so much love and care, the horses want for nothing--they are beautiful,hearty,well cared for animals. Any horse would be lucky to be a resident of MHR. It is a paradise on earth.
October 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I found MHR while following Barbaro. I am not a horse racing fan but the plight of horses that have been mis -treated and/ or sold for "horse meat" tore at my heart. MHR takes the disabled, mis-treated, no longer wanted, only wanted for their urine type of horses and gives them a dignified home for the rest of their lives. The owners put the horses first and their lives second. Everything is done for the horses. They receive medical care and the best hay possible. I have been fortunate to watch the births of foals whose mothers were slated for slaughter because they were no longer wanted.
MHR has a great adoption policy and the horses are followed after an adoption takes place. No rescue horses are sold but rather adopted out with a "take back" clause written in the contract.
So many non profits ask for money to pay "salaries" of the non profit. This is not the case at MHR. All donations received go towards the care of these magnificant animals.
September 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I found out about Miracle Horse Rescue (MHR) through another website and was so excited to find out they were located about 60 miles from me. In 2007 I was able to make my first visit to MHR and immediately fell in love with all the horses. From babies to senior citizens, each individual horse is treated with love, kindness and compassion - the majority of them never knowing what that was like until they were taken in by MHR. Some of these horses arrive severely abused and neglected and are evaluated by a veterinarian to determine their special needs to get them to their optimal health. Every horse I have witnessed come through the gates of MHR receives top notch care and their needs always come first. Stephanie and Rob have made these horses their top priority. I am so proud to donate to Miracle Horse Rescue because I have personally witnessed how the donations are used for the welfare of these beautiful horses. I am also honored to be part of a group of moms who adopted one of the babies who was born there.
September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been an avid supporter of MHR for the last seven years. It has been an honor and privilege to be a part of this amazing equine rescue. Rob & Stephanie devote their love and care to these majestic creatures. Some have been thrown away,neglected, abused. Once they enter the gates of MHR they are greeted with love and compassion. They live out their remaining days in this atmosphere. Nothing is expected of them except to just be a Horse. In the past years I have seen pregnant mares who would have gone to slaughter if not for MHR. Instead they had their foals in a loving environment. We watched this on MHR's live Web Cam. If you can donate any amount to help Rob & Stephanie continue their plight to rescue and care for these beautiful equine. As they are indeed Angels on Earth. Thank You Lucy
September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first heard and became aware of Miracle Horse Rescue in 2006 and have been a supporter since that time. Stephanie and Rob Pierce run a class act horse rescue. Their deep knowledge of horses and their unconditional love of them shows in every aspect of the running of MHR. I have visited MHR at least 5 times and always I feel at peace there because the horses in their care are at peace. They were all abused, neglected or not wanted anymore, but they have now an equine and human family that loves them. The horses and mules at MHR are now safe and happy and will always be cared for.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers