Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
135 Reviews
1234.985195
Write A Review
February 7, 2015
4 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

Miracle foundation is amazing. I have seen firsthand the work they are doing in India with children. Happy, joyous, well-fed, healthy, playful children. Children who get to go to school every day -... more

February 7, 2015
4 people found this review helpful

I just returned from my third trip with the Miracle Foundation. I also promised one of the girls that I would come back and see her so there is a fourth trip in my future.
The whole experience is amazing - the kids are a joy, the staff at the homes operate with transparency, TMF staff always
makes me feel safe and supported in a new place, the other ambassadors are also a huge part of the experience.
We donate monthly with plans to continue that indefinitely.
Highly recommend this charity!
Jessica Killen
October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Miracle foundation is amazing. I have seen firsthand the work they are doing in India with children. Happy, joyous, well-fed, healthy, playful children. Children who get to go to school every day - and most importantly - children who know they are loved.
These kids would not have the chances
they do without the help of The Miracle Foundation. Incredibly worthy cause! My husband and I donate monthly, and will continue to do so.
I can't say enough good things about them.
Jessica Killen

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2015
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 6, 2015
4 people found this review helpful

I just returned from my second Ambassador trip with The Miracle Foundation. We went to a children's home in a town outside of Hyderabad and spent four wonderful days playing with the children. Friends ask me if it's "depressing" to go to orphanages in India or act as if I'm some kind of self-sacrificing martyr. It always surprises me because being with these children is so fun!

By the time The Miracle Foundation plans an Ambassador trip, the organization has already been sponsoring the home and raising its standards. Once we arrive the children are receiving plenty of balanced, nutritious meals, have received all their inoculations and health needs, are thriving at good schools with extra help from tutors and even a dance instructor, and are cared for by loving, involved house mothers newly trained by The Miracle Foundation. In short, spending time with these children in their loving community is a gift to us as Ambassadors.

For this last trip, the children were asked what they wanted. They overwhelmingly responded: books! As a librarian, I was thrilled to be part of opening their first on-site library and distributing the books! Here is a short video about the project: https://animoto.com/play/ItNxQ329XiVG1TbNMvGZOQ


Oftentimes we get discouraged by statistics coming from the developing world and even our own nation about poverty and homelessness. That India has over 25 million orphans is a daunting number. Still, through The Miracle Foundation, more and more children are being served and are growing up in healthful, loving communities. The word I would best use to describe these children is: joyful.

Before I went on my first Ambassador trip in 2013, people said it would "change my life," but I was a bit cynical. I've worked with children all my life as an educator and thought I was prepared. Nothing prepared me for the colorful, chaotic, crazy, celebratory culture that is India. These children have changed my life, and I feel so lucky to have been able to return to India. Some joke that I "drank the Kool-aid," but I am not alone. Everyone on both trips was moved to the same degree. We will never be the same and look forward to our next visit!

Please support The Miracle Foundation!


February 5, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 5, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

The best thing about the volunteer experience with The Miracle Foundation in India is that you are allowed to help in the way that you are most comfortable--they way that you can do the most good. Whether it's giving needed resources to growing children, teaching them, or sharing new experiences, your actions are going to provide a lasting hand-up and open their world. You can dive in and play and sing with kids all day, or help organize projects, or use your skills in cooking or plumbing or whatever. The core philosophy behind the TMF is sustainable growth, and as a volunteer you become part of that process.
February 3, 2015
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2015
4 people found this review helpful

After volunteering at the Miracle Foundation headquarters for a number of weeks, I was fortunate enough to be able to travel to India and experience firsthand the outstanding work that this wonderful Nonprofit is doing by implementing the Miracle Method. The staff, both here in Austin and in India, are 100% committed to serving these children to the fullest extent possible. It was apparent from my first moments at New Life that these kids are healthy, educated, well fed, and most importantly provided with a sense of well being and security. There literally is not a word strong enough to describe the amount of joy that will fill your heart when you are able to pick up one of these kids, give them a big hug, and be able to measure just how much of an impact is being made through their beaming smiles and contagious laughter.

I tell anyone who will listen about my experience as an Ambassador with the Miracle Foundation, about how the children are the absolute top priority, and how even the smallest donation can make an incredible impact on the lives of these kids. I am forever grateful for the work that they are doing, and am looking forward to serving as an Ambassador to these kids for many, many years to come.
December 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My experience with The Miracle Foundation this year has been one of the most memorable and impactful experiences of my life. I got to visit the Anbarasi home (and met the children from the Cornerstone home) in Tamil Nadu, India this past October and fell in love with over 200 children within a matter of days. They were happy, healthy, and so incredibly generous, and that was clearly a direct result of the impact that The Miracle Foundation has had on them.

The Miracle Foundation aims to meet all of the rights and needs of the children and raises each child out of starvation, poverty, and unhealthy conditions. Their success was evident in all of the smiles. The children were obviously very grateful for the change that came from TMF's existence in their lives. The children were provided three healthy, protein-rich meals a day, with options for seconds and thirds. Their clothing was clean, their water was clear, and their living conditions were safe. Since the incorporation of TMF, their playgrounds were cleared of harmful debris, they have running water for showers and bathrooms, and they have a beautiful library filled with books and toys. The children have regular checkups and access to guidance counselors, ensuring their physical, mental, and emotional well-being.

The Miracle Foundation has created structure for the children. It has provided consistency and stability, and in that, each child clearly felt safe and secure. They have collected the best staff and house mothers who love the children as their own. In my conversations with the children, I learned of their hopes and dreams. One boy wanted to be a professional cricket player, a little girl wanted to be a doctor and heal people, another little boy wanted to become a teacher. Hearing these hopes for their future brought tears to my eyes, because I knew that TMF's presence allowed them to be in a place to dream so big. There was nothing holding them back from becoming so prosperous.

Some significant memories of my time in India include witnessing children play in a water park and theme park for the first time in their lives, putting Flash Tattoos on the boys, having the boys teach me how to play cricket and winning a game, reading to the children in the library, having a group of girls teach me how to speak Tamil, being fed by the children, serving the children food in the dining hall and at the theme park, painting candle holders for the upcoming Diwali celebration, taking pictures of the children learning how to do yoga, helping the kids create holiday ornaments, dancing with the children on bus rides, having little girls braid my hair, hugging and kissing every child as much as possible, being on the roof of the orphanage and looking down at all the beautiful lights for Diwali, watching the children watch the Diwali fireworks, and having many pockets of conversations with the children to learn more about who they are and what they want in the world.

I am honored to be an Ambassador for the The Miracle Foundation. This non-profit has impacted so many lives and I look forward to continuing my volunteering efforts with them and going back to India to spend more time with the children.
December 29, 2014

more

December 29, 2014

My employer, Whole Foods Market, sponsored my trip to India last September with the Miracle Foundation. It was so impactful and rewarding to me as a person. This organization is truly making a gigantic contribution to the lives of these beautiful children.

During my time there, we built a
new playground for the kids, and also painted murals on the orphanage walls. But more importantly, was the look of love in eyes of these children, as they realized someone from across the world cared about them and their wellbeing.

From beginning to end, I was in awe of the quality of the experience that The Miracle Foundation created for these kids. It was truly beautiful and I hope to do it again and again.
December 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I recently visited the Anbarasi home in Southern India with The Miracle Foundation, and was forever changed by witnessing the real impact this organization is having on orphaned children. While volunteering my time in India, I fell in love with the children and fell in love with the organization.

The Miracle Foundation has a heart for children - and seeks to create a loving, stable environment in which these orphans can grow to meet their full potential. The idea is to provide these kids with a happy, healthy, "normal" childhood - in which they feel loved and supported, and understand that they matter and haven't been forgotten.

To do this, The Miracle Foundation moves existing orphanages through a transformation: getting kids healthy, vaccinated, and well fed; installing clean running water; transforming the orphanage from an institution into a home; hiring additional house mothers and creating a sense of family; introducing child-led committees and life skills classes, and so forth. All of which are meant to address the "12 rights of every child," based on the UN's resolution of such rights.

For me, volunteering in India was an opportunity to be a loving male presence and influence in the lives of young boys and girls alike. And I am both proud and honored to be associated with this incredible organization, which is run by passionate individuals who believe in the basic rights of every child.

And the children are fully aware of how different their lives would be if it weren't for The Miracle Foundation - which has changed their personal stories forever.
December 17, 2014

more

December 17, 2014

I first became involved with The Miracle Foundation (TMF) in 2008 when I traveled with them to India with a family friend. It was such an amazing and life-changing experience! It was great to see first hand the work that they do in these orphanages. We witnessed the grand opening of Sooch Village, one of their newest orphanages at the time. The children were assigned to houses, each with a Housemother. This allowed for the children to really connect with a small family-style unit. And traveling with them was a breeze! They had all the travel itineraries and transportation down to a science. You didn't have to worry about any of the travel arrangements and got to spend your time in India enjoying the people and helping out in the orphanages. Fast forward to 2014 and now I help volunteer in the main office in Austin. Everyone in the office is so friendly and welcoming. It's such a great organization run by great people with giving hearts. I'm so glad I found out about them, and so glad that I can give back to them through volunteering. Thanks, TMF!
December 5, 2014

more

December 5, 2014

What an amazing opportunity to give back to the world community! I joined with The Miracle Foundation in October 2014 to visit the Anbarasi Children's Home in southern India and fell in love with the kids, house mothers, and my fellow travelers. TMF goes above and beyond what you would expect from a non-profit organization that helps orphans. The goals are not only based on the United Nations Children's Bill of Rights but also are measured, attainable, and realistic. Homes are required to meet high standards to be able to keep their partnership with TMF. Examples: Financial books must be open and transparent. The hiring of a local, certified social worker is a prerequisite. Children are fed three nutritious meals daily, plus two snacks a day. School uniforms are purposefully made to match the uniforms of their peers that have parents. Each child serves on a committee, which gives them the opportunity to have a voice in their day-to-day life. The kids get to have fun! We took approximately 200 children from Anbarasi and Cornerstone, to an amusement park for the day. Yes! We really did!The bus ride was the BEST. Bollywood music, a blinking Ganesh icon, and kids dancing and having a grand time. Here's the deal about TMF. It's not just about surviving. It's about THRIVING. TMF provides the childhood that every child needs and deserves. As for my own personal experience with The Miracle Foundation. In short, I have made friends for LIFE.
December 2, 2014

more

December 2, 2014

I had the honor to visit the Anwesha childrens home about a month ago and it was a great experience. The house mothers and everyone involved in the education and care for the children were amazing. The Miracle foundation staff and Anwesha administration gave us the details of the improvements over the years at the home. I fell in love with everyone here and I am definitely coming back to volunteer and will continue to support the Miracle foundation.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers