Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
313 Reviews
1234.916935
| 1 ... 14 15 16...27 |
Write A Review
June 6, 2012

My daughter, Alena, was born with cleft lip and palate. After researching our choices in Hawaii, we chose a team of doctors in Portland. Miracle Flights went above and beyond to help us fly there. We are so grateful for Miracle Flights!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 26, 2012

My daughter was born with clubfoot and pereneal nerve damage. Miracle Flights for Children, has provided tranporation for my daugter to travel to the best orhtopdedic who has the ability and skill to give my daughter the chance to live a normal actice life. Currently, my daughter, 4 years old, is in the final stages of treatment and with succes, will be running around for the rest of her life. WIthout Miracle Flights for Children we would of not been able to go to the oprhtopedic who treats this conidtion succesfully. We are forever grateful for the services Miracle Flights for Children provides. We feel truly blessed to have such a kind, compassionate, helpful resource that has provded the opporunity to change our daughters life!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012

Let me begin by saying that we are so appreciative and thankful for Miracle Flights for Kids. They have flown us 3 years in a row for our daughter's outpatient appointment to Cincinnati Children's Hospital and it has been such a blessing. We just traveled in the beginning of May and unfortunately had a rough experience. Miracle Flights booked us a flight from Tampa (our home town) to Denver, CO and then on to Dayton, OH. I was concerned because our layover in Denver was only 30 minutes, which didn't leave much time for catching another flight. Of course, our flight out of Tampa was delayed for maintenance issues and we were late arriving in Denver, which caused us to miss our connecting flight. The most unfortunate part was that Frontier Airlines didn't offer any additional flights to OH until late the next afternoon, but our daughter's appointment was at 2PM. The airline 'customer service' counter said there was nothing they could do to get us to OH on time and they were extremely rude to our family. Once we explained our situation and our daughter's medical condition, they accomodated us by booking us tickets on another airline and flew us from Denver to Miami and then from Miami straight into Cincinnati. This caused a lot of stress for our family...we were in airports and on planes for well over 24-hours straight, which was really difficult on our 2-year old daughter. We unfortunately did not make it to Cincinnati in time for our appointment, but we were very lucky that the doctors at the hospital were understanding and kept the clinic open until after 6PM for our visit. During this process, our luggage was lost and all of our hotel accomodations had to be canceled (since we were originally flying into Dayton and then it changed to Cincinnati at the last minute.) We were disshoveled during our daughter's appointment and that made it a lot more difficult and stressful. Everything ended up working out and our luggage was brought to the hospital and we had a wonderful rest of our stay in Cincinnati. This annual visit is always overwhelming and difficult for our family, which is why I try to have as much as I can planned and organized. Missing our connecting flight made all this spiral out of control and caused a lot of unnecessary stress for us. As I mentioned earlier, we are so very grateful for Miracle Flights and all they have done for us. We hope that, by sharing our story, Miracle Flights will not schedule anymore connecting flights for families that are so close and can potentially be missed from even a minor delay. It's important to remember that families traveling for medical reasons are already under a lot of stress as is, so making the proper accomodations to ensure that they arrive on time for their appointments should be a top priority.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 23, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
2 previous reviews - show all
October 20, 2010

Over the past 3 years, Miracle Flights network has assisted us with our flight requests from California to New York for my son's treatments. Recently, we needed immediate assistance for a flight for o... more

May 23, 2012

We have been going through an ordeal for the past 4 years since our 3 year old son was diagnosed with bi-lateral retinal blasting in 2007. With flight assistance from Miracle Flights, we were able to seek the highest level of care available where we were assisted with flights from California to New York for our son to be treated at Memorial Sloan Kettering Center.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2010

Over the past 3 years, Miracle Flights network has assisted us with our flight requests from California to New York for my son's treatments. Recently, we needed immediate assistance for a flight for our new born in order to get testing and examination done at Memorial Sloan Kettering Hospital on short notice. Miracle Flights came through for us and we were able to keep the critical appointments in order for our new born to be evaluated and tested.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Receiving the help my family needed in a timely manner

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

August 17, 2010

Our son was diagnosed with bi-lateral retinal blastoma 3 years ago at age 3. The best available methods of treatment were available at the Memorial Sloan Kettering Center in New York. Miracle Flights network was able to assist us numerous times for our flight needs from California to the treatment center in order to afford the best avilable care for our son.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

receiving benefits

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 12, 2012

Miracle Flights for Kids is amazing! If it weren't for them we would not have been able to afford to get our son to a hospital that was 800 miles away for treatment. The services that they provide for families is a lifesaver, literally. We hope to be able to fly with them in the future for upcoming treatment. Thank you so much Miracle Flights for Kids, you took a stress away that no one else could!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 24, 2012

When my six year old daughter had a relapse in her club foot, we learned about a doctor who specializes in this. We desired to get her to him since most doctors were skeptical about non-surgical treatment. However, he was in Iowa, and we live in SC. Driving was not really an option, nor was our paying for a flight. Due to the doctor's schedule, we did not have a large window of time to work with, but Rebecca at Miracle Flights worked really hard to secure a flight for us. We were so incredibly blessed to be able to fly to Iowa to see this doctor. This organization is a wonderful ministry to those of us who need to take our children distances to secure the best possible healthcare. We are so so grateful for them!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 24, 2012

You have made flights for me to get to my doctor and test @ MD Anderson from Atlanta, GA. So the doctor @ GA, here can work with the doctor there @ MDA. You have cut my expense for traveling to Houston, Tx almost to zero. You have taken the worry out of traveling. Thank you for your help Miracle Flights for Kids. I'm doing very well now! Beverly R. Ellis

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 11, 2012

we live in california my daughter was diagnosed with arthogryposis and here i had little chanses in her progressing and i did alot of reasearch until i found a great dr in philadelphia and i am thankful for miracle flights for kids that had made my dream and my daughters dream come true. i am really thankful for miracle flights for kids that even thru our financial difficulty they have made it possible for us to travel . thank you miracle flights.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 9, 2012

On May 4th of 2010 we learned that our son Anthony, now 7 years old, has a very rare genetic disorder called X-linked Adrenoleukodystrophy or ALD. Since this is an x-linked genetic mutation that is passed to boys from their mothers, we then needed to test our other son Joey who will be 3 years old on March 13th. His results came back positive for ALD as well. ALD can be devastating for young boys, it can render a boy totally disabled followed by death if it is not detected early enough. Ultimately, the adrenal glands can malfunction causing Addison’s disease; and the myelin sheath that surrounds the nerves of the brain can be destroyed causing neurological deterioration.
Our family is very fortunate in that our son Anthony has a very wise grandmother who knew about Addison’s disease. She was aware that one of its symptoms was having an ‘all-year-round’ tan, medically known as hyperpigmentation. Anthony had a gorgeous tan since the age of two; he would become particularly dark in the summertime. His grandmother started expressing concern, stating that we should investigate his tan; suggesting that it may not be his Italian roots causing him to be so golden.
It was Anthony’s diagnosis of Addison’s disease that led us to ALD. As a result of the adrenal glands being a part of the endocrine system, we were referred to a Pediatric Endocrinologist. Our son’s new specialist was diligent in finding the reason for his adrenal failure; she knew that any young male diagnosed with Addison’s disease needed to have ALD ruled out as the cause. We are so very blessed that Anthony’s only symptom of ALD right now is Addison’s disease; and Joey currently has no symptoms. We monitor them both every six months with MRI’s of the brain to detect the onset of any loss of the myelin sheath.
There is no cure for ALD, and once the myelin begins to deteriorate the only option is a bone marrow transplant to try and arrest the progression of the disease. Currently, the Kennedy Krieger Institute at Johns Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore, Maryland conducts a clinical study involving Lorenzo’s Oil therapy for ALD boys who have normal MRI’s. It is believed that boys with no cerebral involvement, who take Lorenzo’s Oil along with a low fat diet, will reduce their risk of developing any cerebral involvement by 30%. We had the opportunity of enrolling into this study in February of 2011. Miracle Flights funded our second trip to Baltimore on March 12, 2012. We are so grateful and thankful for their generousity.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 7, 2012

My son is three years old, he was born with a condition called Arthrogryposis which affect the joints and muscles, my son is affected in his arms and legs. If it wasn't for this organization there would be no way possible my son would be able to be seen by the specialist in Philladelphia. Here in California we seen specialist that only corrected his club feet and said to follow up in a year.. That there is nothing else to be done. My son has had various surgeries that have made improvements. I'm great full for this organization and the people that donate.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers