Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
314 Reviews
1234.91725
Previous | 1 2 3...27 |
Write A Review
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

Miracle flights was able to help our son see one of only 2 specialists in the US who year his extremely rare condition- Opsoclonus Myoclonus Syndrome. Traveling from Michigan to Boston with help from MFFK greatly reduced our travel expenses. They made it an easy process to complete the necessary documentation and were very personable and sensitive to our last minute travel needs. Thank you!
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

Our son has a rare congenital heart defect treatable only at Boston Children's Hospital. We live in Charleston, South Carolina. Getting the proper care for our son has required frequent trips back and forth to Boston, often unplanned and last-minute, by which time airfare for our family was outrageously expensive. On a number of occasions, Miracle Flights for Kids has helped ease the financial burden incurred traveling to and living in a city 970 miles away from home, often for extended periods of time. Miracle Flights for Kids makes an incredible difference in the lives of patients and their families by reducing the financial and logistical burden during what is already an incredibly stressful time. The staff is courteous, dedicated, sympathetic, and willing to go the extra mile when necessary.
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

My two children and myself have rare disorders. Miracle Flights for Kids has been generous to help us several times to get to the medical care we need out of state. I am so incredibly thankful for their kindness and generosity to our family.
August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

I am a 49 year old female who was diagnosed on 02/04/14 with Stage 4 of a very rare type of cancer. I was blind-sighted, never saw it coming. The oncologist I saw at the University of TN Cancer Center (who I'd heard wonderful things about) gave me ONE option of chemo, which had horrible side effects & a very bleak chance of being helpful at all. He wouldn't even suggest whether I should take the chemo or not. He looked me straight in they eyes and just said "This cancer is going to take your life; it's just a matter of when."

My mom (who I tried to talk out of it, but had insisted on going to the appointment with me, after the PET scans, CT scans, biopsies had all been done) and I were first shocked and sat for a moment in silence, grasping each others' hands. Then we hugged each other and cried for a few minutes. Then I gathered myself for a moment and asked the only question that came to my mind: "How in the world am I going to tell my teenage daughter?" (a daughter who tells all of her friends that I am her very best friend, a daughter who shares everything with me (how blessed I am!), a daughter with a strong relationship with our Savior and a spiritual outlook and maturity that at times just amazes me, a daughter who's an honor student and already has taken several college credit classes while in high school, a daughter I could not have even known how to pray for, but with whom I am crazy in love with and for whom I would do anything in the world). The very thought of telling her what the oncologist told me literally broke my heart. I felt an ache I've never known. The oncologist had not much of a response that I can recall.

My mom then asked: "Aren't there any options?! This just can't be it!" The oncologist mentioned we might try MD Anderson in Houston, TX, that perhaps there were clinical trials that I might be eligible for. After the appointment, driving home - I cried, then screamed, then sat in silence; and then about halfway home, I pulled over into an empty church parking lot, googled MD Anderson on my iPhone, called them and made my first appointment.

After about 7 weeks at MD Anderson (and many tests, scans, bloodwork), I was indeed accepted into a clinical trial that had proven very effective in breast cancer and melanoma patients. This clinical trial chemotherapy had to be administered at MD Anderson every 2 weeks for 2 years. There was no question, I had to somehow find a way to take part in that clinical trial. (Though I'm perfectly ready to meet my Savior and bow at His feet and praise Him, I am NOT ready to leave my daughter, as I'm the only parent mentally, emotionally, spiritually & physically in-sync and available to her, as her dad has always been a 'checked out' kind of man).

But how??? How in the world would I get to Houston, TX from Knoxville, TN EVERY TWO WEEKS for TWO YEARS. I am not rich & there was nothing at my disposal that would generate the kind of cash it would require for that many flights. I contacted the American Cancer Society and they gave me information on Miracle Flights.

From my very first conversation with Ginny at Miracle Flights (who is very pleasant, compassionate, personable, yet still professional), I knew I was on the right track. She walked me through everything I needed to do to apply for flight assistance; and she very patiently answered every single question I had, even when I called her back many times.

Then, speaking to Mary, who scheduled my flights - I was just amazed that she didn't just stick me on a flight, call me, and say 'that's that'. She actually calls me before scheduling my flights and gives me the options she can find, and works with me to pick the flights that are best for me. She too, is very compassionate and personable, yet professional - a rare breed, both Ginny and Mary.

Without Miracle Flights, I would never have been able to take part in the clinical trial chemotherapy in Houston, TX, as I could never have afforded the flights. And the chances of continuing to live my life would've been, as my local oncologist originally said 'just a matter of time'. I thank God for Miracle Flights, as I see them as a true miracle that God is using (even as I write this) to work toward my healing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...not change a single thing. To be in the position of having to ask for help is humbling (almost embarrassing); not one time ever has anyone at Miracle Flights ever treated me with anything but respect and the utmost dignity.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

Our daughter was born with a droopy eye lid that we later found out was much more involved. She has a rare eye condition in her left eye. At an appointment in March of 2014 we found out her retina in her left eye had detached. She had one procedure that was unsuccessful in reattaching her retina and it was recommended we fly her to Michigan for a second procedure. Miracle Flights helped us to fly her to Michigan 2 times. We hope things work out so that she can still have vision in her left eye. We are grateful for the caring staff that have kindly arranged flights for us and made it possible for us to fly her for her surgeries.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They required us to give the financial information of family who helped us while my husband was a student in order to get help from Miracle Flights. I felt like our financial information should have been enough (even though it wasn't much). I was grateful that they were able to arrange a flight closer to us the second time they flew us. Thanks again!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

Our son Liam was born December 20th, 2011 and was diagnosed with a very rare disorder called Moebius Syndrome shorty there after. We have met very few families that have been affected by this syndrome so when we heard there was a Moebius Conference we HAD to go! The conference was held in Washington DC where we met hundreds of people with Moebius and also had the opportunity to meet with some of the best doctors, surgeons, therapists, and specialists across the world! Without Miracle Flights we wouldn't have been able to afford this trip. So THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU for your amazing organization and the invaluable opportunity you allowed us to have!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make more people aware of this incredible organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
January 28, 2014

Melany is 5 and has arthrogryposis in her lower extremities.. We fly to Philly from Calif for the best care there... Miracle Flights makes it possible for us to get back and forth, they are the best... more

August 13, 2014

Miracle Flights are absolutely the best.. They have flown my 6 yr old and I to philadelphia on many occasions. She is a Shriners patient .. and has been in need of surgeries on both legs this year.
Thank you so much Miracle Flights

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 28, 2014

Melany is 5 and has arthrogryposis in her lower extremities.. We fly to Philly
from Calif for the best care there... Miracle Flights makes it possible for us
to get back and forth, they are the best.. There are not enough thanks for all
they do and thank you to all who donate to them
...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

there are no changes I would make

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2012

My four year old granddaughter has arthrogryposois, a joint disease. It affects her lower body she can not walk. We go to Philadelphia to a specialist in her condition. We live in Calif. and are so blessed to have Miracle Flights help us to get there. Thank you Miracle Flights and to any one who donates. Becky and Melany Hernandez

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2011


Miracle Flights are the best, they made my trip to see a specialist
in Philadelphia much easier. My little girl has arthrogroposis and
does not walk, she is 3 1/2 years old. When I called Miracle Flights
they sent me the paper work right away, and as soon as my papers
were
filled out, I got my flight itinerary the next day, free of cost.
The people working there were so nice and pleasant.
We want to thank Miracle Flights and all the people who donate to
them. A child with medical needs is a lot of work but Miracle Flights has certainly made our lives a little easier.
We learned that we have to go back in a couple of months for
serial casting on her feet, and will be staying a couple of weeks at that time. Then later in year back to Philly again for surgery on her
knees. So it will be a busy year.....
The free flights are so greatly appreciated , thank you
Becky Hernandez
Melany Hernandez
And later in year we will be going back for kn

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping me get to Philadelphia. This organization and all the people who help with donations are the best.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

My AMC support group informed me.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

That donating to a good cause can really help someone in need.

August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

Dominic was born on August 28, 2013, shortly after his fraternal twin brother, Vincent. After 6 excruciatingly long weeks, we discovered Dominic was born with a 1 in a million life threatening intestinal disease. His intestines lack nerves and the ability to absorb enough nutrients to sustain life. He needs TPN and lipids (IV nutrition and fats). The lipids, a soybean oil emulsion, were destroying his liver. We were quickly finding ourselves on the path towards small bowel and liver transplant; a procedure with only a 50% survival rate, made even more risky because Dominic is only 14 pounds at 11 months old.

Dr. Mark Puder, at Boston Children's Hospital, has helped pioneer a new lipid, Omegaven, which is made from fish oil. This new lipid is being used to correct TPN- related cholestasis with great success! It is providing an opportunity, for children and babies like Dominic, to grow and become healthier! Possibly avoiding transplant altogether! Omegaven is not FDA approved, and not widely available. We had to find a way to get Dominic to Boston from Michigan, but financially it was far out of reach.

Then we found Miracle Flights! It was our ticket to the life-saving treatment Dominic so desperately needed! Friends and family rallied to our side to help fund our lengthy stay in Boston.

Dominic's liver has drastically improved in the last 4 weeks since starting treatment. We will be returning home in another week, with a healthy baby! Dominic will continue receiving treatment through BCH, returning every 6-8 weeks or more frequently, as needed. Because of Miracle Flights, Dominic can continue receiving care through one of the best Intestinal Rehabilitation Programs in the country and stay on Omegaven.

We are truly grateful! Dominic has the chance to grow and thrive. We have been so scared that we could lose him. Miracle Flights has given us the ability to focus on living, the chance to see Dominic grow up and reach milestones. Truly, from the bottom of our hearts, we are thankful!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 27, 2014

more

July 27, 2014

This charity has helped my son get to and from medical appointments as well as a surgery he needed. I do not know where I would be without miracle flights. Their customer service is outstanding.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only frustrating things is getting my doctor to complete the forms correctly. Maybe they can come up with a specific checklist for the letter or sample letter for the pediatricain to fill out.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 25, 2014

more

July 25, 2014

I was diagnosed with Carcinoid Cancer stage 4. My doctor could not find the primary source he in Phoenix. I found a specialist in Nashville that specialized in this rare cancer. When my husband and I met with Dr. Liu, not only did he find my primary cancer but he reported that my cancer was an aggressive type and I needed chemo right away. I went 41 days of not being treated properly. If it was not for Miracle Flights, I would still be searching for the primary tumor and being treated for a less aggressive type of Carcinoid. Thank you Miracle Flights for saving my life!!!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...27 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers