Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
317 Reviews
1234.905365
Write A Review
November 19, 2014

more

November 19, 2014

If there was a way to give this organization 0 stars, I would.

I have never been so rudely dealt with in trying to get assistance from anything related to any organization or business ever before. And I was trying to get help with a flight for cancer treatment. The office staff,
director and president of the company put you on speaker phone and talk mockingly to you when you ask questions about their policies or clarify their misinformation. They don't keep track of emails so you must email them multiple times for the same issue. Their requirements list is incomplete and when you turn in work, they add details not on their requirements list. I took 6 days to complete all their requirements. I had to have my doctors re-write letters 4 times each to have the correct wording. They refused to tell me what the maximum financial requirements were to qualify and never did tell me, even 6 days later. They mocked me that I am "adult applying for the program that is intended for kids" EVEN THOUGH IT SAYS THE PROGRAM IS FOR ADULTS AND KIDS. They mocked my concerns about their paper work process and made up stories about what I had said in conversation during previous phone calls AND THEN called me a liar on the phone. I thought it was just the office staff at first, but then the Director, who was apparently instructing the office staff, continued the same derogatory, interrupting behaviors, threatening to hang up on me, refusing to answer my questions, THEN the president got on the phone and hung up on me when I wanted to clarify a question with her, telling me I was yelling at her.

I think this organization discriminates against homeless and cultural minorities, which is absolutely shocking. I think they make people go through hell to get a charity donation, people who are fighting for their lives who have unbelievable financial burdens and lives with very little time to mess around with such unprofessional organizations. They even told me that they were doing me a favor, harassing me on the phone. I would almost believe the folks there were on drugs, had their horrible, uncompassionate, unprofessional, disrespectful behavior not gone on for nearly a week. I finished putting in the application and did not hear from them.

This is probably for the better.

I think setting up a Facebook fundrazer would be more sane! If I was on the board of directors, I would seriously look at getting a continuous improvement program in with this organization.

I also believe the high star ratings from folks may be to propitiate to the organization so folks can keep getting donations. If they told us we should be grateful we are being helped, I am certain they told other people this too.

Oh! and it costs $$! They charge and Administrative fee.
November 4, 2014

more

November 4, 2014

Miracle Flights for Kids is amazing! I have been fighting thyroid cancer for over 2 years and Miracle Flights has helped my husband and I go to MD Anderson in Houston for my surgery and treatment, not once, but twice! They not only help kids, but big kids too, like me! The process is fast and easy and Miracle Flights genuinely cares!
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

What a blessing!! They handled my request very quickly and I could tell they really cared about helping me, discussing all possible options available and really working hard to make the process as easy add possible. Very amazing and I could not have gotten the help I needed without miracle flights!!
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

Miracle flights was able to help our son see one of only 2 specialists in the US who year his extremely rare condition- Opsoclonus Myoclonus Syndrome. Traveling from Michigan to Boston with help from MFFK greatly reduced our travel expenses. They made it an easy process to complete the necessary documentation and were very personable and sensitive to our last minute travel needs. Thank you!
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

Our son has a rare congenital heart defect treatable only at Boston Children's Hospital. We live in Charleston, South Carolina. Getting the proper care for our son has required frequent trips back and forth to Boston, often unplanned and last-minute, by which time airfare for our family was outrageously expensive. On a number of occasions, Miracle Flights for Kids has helped ease the financial burden incurred traveling to and living in a city 970 miles away from home, often for extended periods of time. Miracle Flights for Kids makes an incredible difference in the lives of patients and their families by reducing the financial and logistical burden during what is already an incredibly stressful time. The staff is courteous, dedicated, sympathetic, and willing to go the extra mile when necessary.
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

My two children and myself have rare disorders. Miracle Flights for Kids has been generous to help us several times to get to the medical care we need out of state. I am so incredibly thankful for their kindness and generosity to our family.
August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

I am a 49 year old female who was diagnosed on 02/04/14 with Stage 4 of a very rare type of cancer. I was blind-sighted, never saw it coming. The oncologist I saw at the University of TN Cancer Center (who I'd heard wonderful things about) gave me ONE option of chemo, which had horrible side effects & a very bleak chance of being helpful at all. He wouldn't even suggest whether I should take the chemo or not. He looked me straight in they eyes and just said "This cancer is going to take your life; it's just a matter of when."

My mom (who I tried to talk out of it, but had insisted on going to the appointment with me, after the PET scans, CT scans, biopsies had all been done) and I were first shocked and sat for a moment in silence, grasping each others' hands. Then we hugged each other and cried for a few minutes. Then I gathered myself for a moment and asked the only question that came to my mind: "How in the world am I going to tell my teenage daughter?" (a daughter who tells all of her friends that I am her very best friend, a daughter who shares everything with me (how blessed I am!), a daughter with a strong relationship with our Savior and a spiritual outlook and maturity that at times just amazes me, a daughter who's an honor student and already has taken several college credit classes while in high school, a daughter I could not have even known how to pray for, but with whom I am crazy in love with and for whom I would do anything in the world). The very thought of telling her what the oncologist told me literally broke my heart. I felt an ache I've never known. The oncologist had not much of a response that I can recall.

My mom then asked: "Aren't there any options?! This just can't be it!" The oncologist mentioned we might try MD Anderson in Houston, TX, that perhaps there were clinical trials that I might be eligible for. After the appointment, driving home - I cried, then screamed, then sat in silence; and then about halfway home, I pulled over into an empty church parking lot, googled MD Anderson on my iPhone, called them and made my first appointment.

After about 7 weeks at MD Anderson (and many tests, scans, bloodwork), I was indeed accepted into a clinical trial that had proven very effective in breast cancer and melanoma patients. This clinical trial chemotherapy had to be administered at MD Anderson every 2 weeks for 2 years. There was no question, I had to somehow find a way to take part in that clinical trial. (Though I'm perfectly ready to meet my Savior and bow at His feet and praise Him, I am NOT ready to leave my daughter, as I'm the only parent mentally, emotionally, spiritually & physically in-sync and available to her, as her dad has always been a 'checked out' kind of man).

But how??? How in the world would I get to Houston, TX from Knoxville, TN EVERY TWO WEEKS for TWO YEARS. I am not rich & there was nothing at my disposal that would generate the kind of cash it would require for that many flights. I contacted the American Cancer Society and they gave me information on Miracle Flights.

From my very first conversation with Ginny at Miracle Flights (who is very pleasant, compassionate, personable, yet still professional), I knew I was on the right track. She walked me through everything I needed to do to apply for flight assistance; and she very patiently answered every single question I had, even when I called her back many times.

Then, speaking to Mary, who scheduled my flights - I was just amazed that she didn't just stick me on a flight, call me, and say 'that's that'. She actually calls me before scheduling my flights and gives me the options she can find, and works with me to pick the flights that are best for me. She too, is very compassionate and personable, yet professional - a rare breed, both Ginny and Mary.

Without Miracle Flights, I would never have been able to take part in the clinical trial chemotherapy in Houston, TX, as I could never have afforded the flights. And the chances of continuing to live my life would've been, as my local oncologist originally said 'just a matter of time'. I thank God for Miracle Flights, as I see them as a true miracle that God is using (even as I write this) to work toward my healing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...not change a single thing. To be in the position of having to ask for help is humbling (almost embarrassing); not one time ever has anyone at Miracle Flights ever treated me with anything but respect and the utmost dignity.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

Our daughter was born with a droopy eye lid that we later found out was much more involved. She has a rare eye condition in her left eye. At an appointment in March of 2014 we found out her retina in her left eye had detached. She had one procedure that was unsuccessful in reattaching her retina and it was recommended we fly her to Michigan for a second procedure. Miracle Flights helped us to fly her to Michigan 2 times. We hope things work out so that she can still have vision in her left eye. We are grateful for the caring staff that have kindly arranged flights for us and made it possible for us to fly her for her surgeries.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They required us to give the financial information of family who helped us while my husband was a student in order to get help from Miracle Flights. I felt like our financial information should have been enough (even though it wasn't much). I was grateful that they were able to arrange a flight closer to us the second time they flew us. Thanks again!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

Our son Liam was born December 20th, 2011 and was diagnosed with a very rare disorder called Moebius Syndrome shorty there after. We have met very few families that have been affected by this syndrome so when we heard there was a Moebius Conference we HAD to go! The conference was held in Washington DC where we met hundreds of people with Moebius and also had the opportunity to meet with some of the best doctors, surgeons, therapists, and specialists across the world! Without Miracle Flights we wouldn't have been able to afford this trip. So THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU for your amazing organization and the invaluable opportunity you allowed us to have!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make more people aware of this incredible organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
January 28, 2014

Melany is 5 and has arthrogryposis in her lower extremities.. We fly to Philly from Calif for the best care there... Miracle Flights makes it possible for us to get back and forth, they are the best... more

August 13, 2014

Miracle Flights are absolutely the best.. They have flown my 6 yr old and I to philadelphia on many occasions. She is a Shriners patient .. and has been in need of surgeries on both legs this year.
Thank you so much Miracle Flights

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 28, 2014

Melany is 5 and has arthrogryposis in her lower extremities.. We fly to Philly
from Calif for the best care there... Miracle Flights makes it possible for us
to get back and forth, they are the best.. There are not enough thanks for all
they do and thank you to all who donate to them
...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

there are no changes I would make

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2012

My four year old granddaughter has arthrogryposois, a joint disease. It affects her lower body she can not walk. We go to Philadelphia to a specialist in her condition. We live in Calif. and are so blessed to have Miracle Flights help us to get there. Thank you Miracle Flights and to any one who donates. Becky and Melany Hernandez

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2011


Miracle Flights are the best, they made my trip to see a specialist
in Philadelphia much easier. My little girl has arthrogroposis and
does not walk, she is 3 1/2 years old. When I called Miracle Flights
they sent me the paper work right away, and as soon as my papers
were
filled out, I got my flight itinerary the next day, free of cost.
The people working there were so nice and pleasant.
We want to thank Miracle Flights and all the people who donate to
them. A child with medical needs is a lot of work but Miracle Flights has certainly made our lives a little easier.
We learned that we have to go back in a couple of months for
serial casting on her feet, and will be staying a couple of weeks at that time. Then later in year back to Philly again for surgery on her
knees. So it will be a busy year.....
The free flights are so greatly appreciated , thank you
Becky Hernandez
Melany Hernandez
And later in year we will be going back for kn

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping me get to Philadelphia. This organization and all the people who help with donations are the best.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

My AMC support group informed me.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

That donating to a good cause can really help someone in need.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers