Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.950825
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

As a board member, I think the work that the MiraCosta Foundation is truly amazing! I have seen so many different students, and a diversity of students, have life-changing moments that is in-part attributable to the scholarships and the other good work the foundation does. These students go on to be amazingly successful. It is a priviledge to be a part of a foundation that makes a noticeable and measurable difference in people's lives and their future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Being a part of the MiraCosta College Foundation's mission has been a wonderful experience. As a dedicated board member, I see first-hand the work being done to benefit the lives of students from a variety of economic, social, cultural and ethnic backgrounds. The scholarship programs supported by the Foundation are life-changing. As a member of the Scholarship Committee this year, I had the opportunity to review many applications from students who have overcome incredible odds to pursue an education. Scholarships help in so many ways - to purchase books, buy gas for the car, give up that third job to be able to spend more time with the family or devote more time to studies. I highly recommend supporting MiraCosta College Foundation to anyone looking to make a difference in someone's life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 14, 2012

I have been on the MiraCosta College Foundation for two years and I am exceedingly happy with the direction the programs and operations management have laid out for the organization. As a volunteer ... more

October 17, 2013

The MiraCosta foundation board is a joy to work with. The Director Linda Fogerson and her entire staff are engaged, and proactive in a way that makes board participation both fun and rewarding. The college is truly the cornerstone of the California College experience and making it possible for all students to participate in higher education is a great way of giving back to the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue to get wider participation of the board in community outreach.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

I have been on the MiraCosta College Foundation for two years and I am exceedingly happy with the direction the programs and operations management have laid out for the organization. As a volunteer I feel that the mission is clear, to help those who want a college education but need financial assistance to do so. The management of the foundation provides the framework to make it possible for a diverse group of volunteers and limited staff to meet this important community need. In addition the foundation has done a nice job of providing the information we need, in the form and format that allows us to communicate with the stakeholders of the college in a meaningful way. Clarity of purpose, and focused intent are hallmarks of this organization and I highly recommend participation in whatever capacity you are able.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

I have known the executive director for 7 years and would describe her as a strong leader. Since the beginning of her tenure in 2005, she has guided the establishment and growth of a development progr... more

October 17, 2013

I am confident in the work the foundation puts forward in reaching fundraising goals and boosting student success. The Foundation has secured partnerships with corporations that are essential in meeting campaign and fundraising goals. They continue to turn out great work, and I look forward to their accomplishments this new academic year.

We set stretch goals every year due to the impact that our scholarships have on the community. Mira Costa College has helped many young people who would not have the opportunity to attend a college with out a hnad up.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

raise more money to give more scholarships!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012

I have known the executive director for 7 years and would describe her as a strong leader. Since the beginning of her tenure in 2005, she has guided the establishment and growth of a development program within the college and the creation of a fiscally sound foundation. The foundation is fortunate to have her at the helm and I look forward to continuing to work with her.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

I am a product of the Dust Bowl generation chronicled in John Steinbeck's book Grapes of Wrath. My parents were farmers from Oklahoma, who had been devastated by the drought and dust storms in the Midwest. We arrived in Bakersfield, California in 1938. I was 10 years old, the eldest of 3 children. We, the whole family, became migrant workers. We picked cotton, cut grapes, and picked fruit. The work was all piece work, which meant that what the children cut or picked added to the total income. My parents, being the children of farmers, were allowed to attend school, when there weren't crops to harvest or chores to be done. My father had about 3 years of elementary education. My mother did complete the 8th grade, which was as far as the one room prairie schools offered. Thus, they had no background to guide me about going to college. Not knowing what I wanted to do or become, I enrolled in the local Junior College, as this level was then called. I took vocational courses for almost 2 years. I planned to get my AA, get out, and get a job. One day, when I was in the library, May Louise Jones, the Librarian, and the wife of my favorite teacher, said "Knox, you should continue your education and get a 4 year degree". My reply was "Mrs. Jones, that would take another year or two of academic classes to get the required courses" Her response was "Time is going to pass whether you are in school or not". As simple as that statement was it convinced me that she was right. UCLA, was where my favorite teacher, Mr. Jones. had attended. In the fall of 1949 I had the number and required courses to transfer to UCLA as a junior in business administration. I graduated in June of 1951. I can say, without hesitation, that had I not had 3 and 1/2 years to "find myself" in a community college, I would never earned a 4 year degree. Much credit also goes to inspirational teachers like Mr. and Mrs. Jones, and many others like them who have a MAJOR IMPACT on the lives of first generational college students like me. My sister and brother also attended BJC. My sister graduated from San Diego State, now SDSU. My brother went even further, earned his Phd in Education at USC, and spent the last 17 years as a superintendent of schools in the Taft and Bakersfield area. We all agree, that this could never have happened had it not been for the community college experience! It is for these reasons, and many more, that I am proud to be a member of The MiraCosta College Foundation Board! Linda Fogerson, is our Executive Director. She had done an excellent job of building a great group of men and women as board members, and through them and her personal and staff efforts has increased the annual donations to the foundation by more than 3 Xs what it was when she took the position about 6 years ago. It is a joy and a privilege to work with her, her staff and the board members in our goals to provide scholarships and work towards the success of the students! Knox Williams

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I joined the Mira Costa Foundation Board during the past year. I find this organization very inspiring. They consistently demonstrate a sincere and active commitment to the academic programs and to improving the scholarships and other forms of support that contribute to students' success at the College and in life. I'm familiar with the fundraising and endowment-enhancing operations of larger institutions, and the MCF staff consistently demonstrates a high level of professional know-how and energy that would do justice to much bigger organizations. I am also impressed with the College's and the Foundation's commitment to information - based planning and decision making. In a setting where flying by the seat of the pants can be all too prevalent, Mira Costa's discipline and commitment to rigorous analysis is refreshing. Through volunteer work at a local social service agency I have gained a keen appreciation of just how important it is to have an affordable track to higher education for the most distressed youth in our community. The Mira Costa Foundation sees this need clearly and works tirelessly to provide the needed assistance.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I am sure that corporate partners are extremely important to MiraCosta College’s ability to strengthen the economic, cultural, social, and educational well-being of the communities it serves, and I have personally witnessed the foundation establish several deep and enduring relationships with area businesses. These relationships thrive because the foundation is able to articulate and honor the benefits to both the college and the corporate partner while they work together to make a difference in the lives of students and the wider community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

It is my pleasure and honor to serve on this non-profit board of directors. The focus of the foundation is to support and serve the students, and I admire the commitment of the foundation to always keep this mission as the driving force for all that we do. Funding much needed scholarships is just one of the important things we do for the students and their overwhelming expression of gratitude validates the work that we do. I am proud to assist in all of the efforts to further the education and enhance the experience of the students.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers