Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Minis and Friends has been volunteering with The Settlement Home for Children for several years. They have brought their miniature horses to our campus on several occasions, and our girls have been given the opportunity to interact with them in a variety of ways. Our residents (and staff!) love when Minis and Friends come to visit because they enjoy getting to walk, pet and groom the animals. This year, our residents were invited to the first annual Mini March put on by Minis and Friends. Minis and Friends does a great job of meeting the needs of our residents and providing fun and educational programming.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It was amazing to watch our kids and adults become so involved with the horses and the sense of calm that it seemed to bring to them. I was especially impressed with how easily some of our more withdrawn kids became so engaged with the minis. The kids seemed so much more open and talkative both during and after the visit, must more at ease. They particularly loved being able to brush them and walk them, having the opportunity to really feel like they were caring for them. We can’t wait for our next visit and the continued presence of Minis and Friends within our program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Minis and Friends has visited Marbridge numerous times. As the volunteer coordinator for this assisted living center, I am happy to say that they are not only friendly and professional when they visit, but they truly brighten the days of the residents who live here. We love them so much, we awarded them the Marbridge Volunteer Group of the Year award for 2011/2012.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 29, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I am the volunteer and activities coordinator at Helping Hand Home for Children, where we have had the privilege of many visits from Minis and Friends! We are a residential treatment center for children ages 4-13 who have been removed from their homes due to abuse and neglect. I plan many activities for the kids here and Minis and Friends is definitely one of the most special for them!

It is a delight to watch the children groom and walk the gentle creatures.. some of our kids have lived on ranches for periods of time, whether with their biological family or with a foster family, so these kids particularly enjoy visits from the minis! You can also see how therapeutic the experience is when some of our most seemingly "fearless" kids are afraid to even go near them... then they will slowly come around, then soon be hugging the horses, not wanting to say goodbye!

Another great factor is that these visits are offered all for free...this is huge for non-profits with a limited budget! And the experiences the kids get in return are priceless!

The volunteers involved with Minis and Friends all interact with our clients (the children) so well and the founder Sally is super committed and passionate about this organization! I highly recommend that any special needs populations get to experience a visit from the miniature horses and their wonderful handlers!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the multiple visits we have enjoyed!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure they had enough funding for even more visits so we could see them more often and so they could reach out to even more local organizations, lead more volunteer trainings, etc!

April 14, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 14, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I work at a treatment center for children who have suffered extreme neglect and abuse. The children I work with deal with lots of traumatic memories and struggle to heal and move beyond their histories. Many suffer from depression it means so much to them when the Minis come visit. For the time that the horses are with them, they forget about their problems and are able to laugh and smile. They LOVE petting and walking the horses around. Sally and Gil are generous with their time and resources, even printing photos of the children with the minis on site, during a Christmas holiday visit. They are gentle souls with gentle horses who help our children with their healing process. We appreciate them and look forward to every visit.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have watched the kids' faces light up when they see the miniature horses. I have seen moods go from gloomy to excited and stay that way long after the minis had to leave. Seems to work on the adults who are around as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This is a fabulous group. I wouldn't change anything!

April 13, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 13, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

This organization has wonderful volunteers that are always willing to find a way to help other non-profits out. They work very well with children and of course the kids love the minis (so do I). We have used Minis and Friends at many of our activities and they have never disappointed us.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Many activities they have attended for the blood and cancer kids.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure they grew more so they could help more people.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

be a mini-handler working with the little horses and donkey to bring indescribable smiles to those we meet, assist with grant writing, fundraising, and helping to support our booths at various events and festivals Volunteer