Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Minis and Friends is a truly wonderful organization that brings joy to the community. Seeing the impact that the mini horses have on people is very heartwarming. I've been able to see first-hand the interaction between these sweet animals and the people who truly need some extra love (the elderly, foster children, etc.) - Every time I volunteer, it brings happy tears to my eyes! Also, it's a lot of fun! Keep it up, Minis and Friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering with my minis for 2 years. The work that Minis and Friends does is awesome.
My family and I love what we get to do with our little guys! Thank you Minis and Friends!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My name is Diane McBee and I attended the miniature horse equine assisted interaction training offered by Mini and Friends. As the director of a miniature horse therapy program, Knee High Mini Tours, I was impressed with the knowledge of the volunteers and the compassion displayed toward the clients. I was able to participate in many different types of training activities and gained first hand experience working with the miniature horses and clients. Safety was paramount, as was providing meaningful experiences. My experiences have shown Minis and Friends to be a caring organization committed to sharing the love of their miniature horses by reaching out to others and bringing joy into their lives.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 4, 2011

Minis and Friends presents the true meaning of bringing joy to all. As a volunteer and a mini owner of this non-profit organization I have seen and experienced remarkable things happen to children an... more

June 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Minis and Friends serves a wide variety of people in need. Their work with special needs children, ill children, senior citizens and child protective service is unsurpassed in the rewards that it makes you feel to be a part of. This non-profit is truly a heart warming experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Minis and Friends presents the true meaning of bringing joy to all. As a volunteer and a mini owner of this non-profit organization I have seen and experienced remarkable things happen to children and adults. These little horses and donkeys can make a sad child smile, a lonely weak senior adult come back to life and has personlly filled my heart with joy that is hard to describe.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing smiling children, happy hearts and making a difference to others that need it the most.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish for this non-profit to continually grow in volunteers to allow Minis and Friends to vist more facilities.

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Minis and Friends is a wonderful organization and it has been such a pleasure working with all of the miniature horses, their owners, other volunteers, and of course all of the people that we visit. It is such a joy to see how much happiness these little therapy horses bring to children and adults alike. I am so thankful that I found this organization and am able to be a part of bringing a smile to so many people. Athena Boukantar

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Minis and Friends has been volunteering with The Settlement Home for Children for several years. They have brought their miniature horses to our campus on several occasions, and our girls have been given the opportunity to interact with them in a variety of ways. Our residents (and staff!) love when Minis and Friends come to visit because they enjoy getting to walk, pet and groom the animals. This year, our residents were invited to the first annual Mini March put on by Minis and Friends. Minis and Friends does a great job of meeting the needs of our residents and providing fun and educational programming.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It was amazing to watch our kids and adults become so involved with the horses and the sense of calm that it seemed to bring to them. I was especially impressed with how easily some of our more withdrawn kids became so engaged with the minis. The kids seemed so much more open and talkative both during and after the visit, must more at ease. They particularly loved being able to brush them and walk them, having the opportunity to really feel like they were caring for them. We can’t wait for our next visit and the continued presence of Minis and Friends within our program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Minis and Friends has visited Marbridge numerous times. As the volunteer coordinator for this assisted living center, I am happy to say that they are not only friendly and professional when they visit, but they truly brighten the days of the residents who live here. We love them so much, we awarded them the Marbridge Volunteer Group of the Year award for 2011/2012.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have seen many wonderful connections made between the minis and the people we visit. The little horses and donkeys inspire people to get out and try things when they feel they are not capable of being successful; they uplift people by offering their unconditional acceptance and hugs; they encourage people by giving them a chance to just enjoy the minis and to take a break from the emotional or physical pain they are experiencing. I remember one visit last year to a local children's shelter. One of the younger children was afraid to approach the minis, but with human encouragement and the silent reassurance of our gentle mini, the child ended up brushing and even hugging my miniature donkey.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 4, 2011

Minis and Friends was created in 2007 to extend the growing need of miniature horse "Equine Guided Interactions (EGI) " programs (therapy) in the greater Austin Metro area. We started the organizatio... more

June 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am the Austin co-founder who runs the general operations and also a horse owner of 3 minis - MasterCard, Remington and SeanMonet. I am a volunteer as all of us are in Minis and Friends. I am proud to say in 2012, we have accomplished so many goals and reached so many new children and adults to bring hope, healing and laughter with the work of the little horses. We have handed out so many of our Mini Readers made possible by the Baxter Grant in 2011 - what a delight it is to have the children come out for a visit with the minis bringing their books! We have added 10 new facilities since January and 5 new support events. We have also have had 2 Mini Boot Camps - one in March and the other in May - and have trained upcoming non-profits in Alaska (Knee High Mini Tours), Canada (Boo's Hooves), Kentucky (HeavenSent Half-Pints) and Massachusetts (Minis and Friends Massachusetts) to bring Equine Guided Interactions (EGI) to their soon-to-be non-profits. Minis and Friends is rich in volunteers and our family of friends in the facilities and support events we work with. I look forward to many more new and old visits for the remainder of 2012.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

every way imaginable - to include my own health related issues in 2011 which put me on the side that those we visit are on! What a difference and a sense of calm it gave me!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find grant funding to provide a small salary to the Program Director so that the organization could function full time and not just on weekends and some holidays.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

I was one of 3 co-founders who created it in 2007.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Find it a donation of land in south Austin with a small covered arena and an office so that the non-profit could work more than just weekends by facilities coming to them and so there would be no cancellations - currently rain or extreme heat can cancel a visit.

What is its top priority in the long run?

To have 2 Minis and Friends facilities set up for folks to come to us - rain or shine. A facility in south/southwest Austin and one in Round Rock/Pflugerville/Northwest Austin area.

April 4, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Minis and Friends was created in 2007 to extend the growing need of miniature horse "Equine Guided Interactions (EGI) " programs (therapy) in the greater Austin Metro area. We started the organization with 9 friends and miniature owners and worked primarily on weekends free of charge to most facilities and support events. We developed our program of EGI and teach it to others in other states and cities in our annual Mini Boot Camp, a hands-on 4-day extensive workshop in Austin, TX.

Our non-profit model is unique as the minis are not owned by the non-profit - but instead by mini owners or volunteers who become mini owners to bring indescribable smiles to all we meet. We train them and their little horses/donkeys to work with us in the communities.

We began the organization in early 2007 with 6 minis and 4 owners and today we have 17 minis and 8 owners. We reach deeper into other counties now to include Bastrop, Cedar Park, Dripping Springs, Round Rock and other towns along the way.

To this day, most visits are free and we use our form of creative fundraising to raise the much needed dollars for our Equine General Liability Insurance for every visit and event for all minis working and to keep us on the road!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen wonderous moments since becoming a very active owner with my husband Gil who is our lead mini teacher while out in the community. We have reached children in shelters who never smiled or laughed- give barrels of laughter, we have seen At-Risk Youth smile and participate in our visits when before they just sat and stared, we have seen memory disorders seniors reach far into their long term memory talk and remember their families names when they have talked or stood for over 2 years, and more

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find sponsors and donors so we could purchase or donation of land of 1-2 acres for an indoor arena with 1 office, 1 training class and stalls for minis and have a better capability for our clients to come to us -regardless of the weather in South Austin. We have two main locations - South Austin and NW Austin. This would enable us to set up our Agility Course and leave it set-up for confidence and self-esteem building in the many youth we visit on weekends.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

be a mini-handler working with the little horses and donkey to bring indescribable smiles to those we meet, assist with grant writing, fundraising, and helping to support our booths at various events and festivals Volunteer