Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
March 2, 2015

more

March 2, 2015

Being a volunteer with Minis and Friends has shown me how these extraordinary mini therapy horses impact the lives of so many people each visit we make. The physical, emotional and mental status of the people who come into contact with the minis always seem to get more positive the minute they see and touch these little ones. Not only do I get enormous satisfaction and enjoyment out of seeing these reactions, but I, myself get the same therapeutic benefits every time I'm around the horses. The people that are associated with Minis and Friends are just as important as the horses but most importantly, the mini owners!! Without the mini owners and their dedication, hard work, long hours and numerous other things they do with and for their minis, obviously this organization would not exist. I, for one am glad and blessed it does...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More visits !!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2015

February 28, 2015

more

February 28, 2015

Since the day we sat around a kitchen table in late 2006, Minis & Friends has grown beyond anything we could have imagined that day. The minis continue to travel around Austin and surrounding area to visit those who need their gentle touch. Special needs schools, Alzheimer's facilities, children's hospitals and shelters and rehab units are among the various places we go. From our humble beginnings, Minis & Friends has grown into an organization with a big impact. We were named one of the Five Who Care by KVUE TV for Outstanding Community Service!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2015

February 28, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

Minis and Friends has been great training others to deliver pet therapy service
April 4, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 30, 2013

I've volunteered with Minis and Friends for a little over a year and have found it a wonderfully fulfilling experience. All people involved with the group are very dedicated to helping others and sha... more

April 4, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I've been involved with Minis and Friends for almost two years and have found it to be an amazingly rewarding experience. There is nothing quite like seeing someone's face light up (whether child or adult) when they realize that the minis are coming to visit them. I'm very grateful I have the opportunity to work with these amazing animals and such an awesome group of people.
April 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I've volunteered with Minis and Friends for a little over a year and have found it a wonderfully fulfilling experience. All people involved with the group are very dedicated to helping others and sharing the experience of being able to work with horses. I would strongly recommend this group for anyone looking for a fun way to give back to the community :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I am only 3 weeks old in the system and I am absolutely in love with both the "Minis" and the "Friends" (read volunteers). I moved to Austin from New York and I was looking for some opportunities to volunteer when this one came around with a flag and a poster! I find the experience soul satisfying especially when spending time with the children and elderly. Loving on the minis is what I'm totally crazy about.. hey they're such angels! When I say the non-profit's heart is where their mouth is I mean it.. because these folks really care about what they do and that's what matters to me most. Look forward to years of serving the community heartfully through Minis and Friends. I love you guys!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 24, 2013

I joined Minis and Friends last fall and I absolutely LOVE it! The joy these little horses bring to people is just amazing. Young or old, it doesn't matter, everyone responds to the horses. They are s... more

April 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Minis and Friends is the most amazing group ever! I've been with them about a year and a half. I wish I had found them sooner! I attend almost every event they have and I love every minute of it. Not only do you meet wonderful people who are volunteers, the visits themselves are just phenomenal. We go to nursing homes, Alzheimer's facilities, shelters for abused women and children, you name it. Our most recent event was the St. Baldrick's Day fundraiser for children's cancer. It just blew me away. The whole purpose of this group is to bring happiness to people's lives. These tiny horses have an amazing effect on people, and I am honored to be a part of it! I will volunteer with this group for the rest of my life. It's THAT good. :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more mini horses and more volunteers! There is so much good to be done.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 24, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I joined Minis and Friends last fall and I absolutely LOVE it! The joy these little horses bring to people is just amazing. Young or old, it doesn't matter, everyone responds to the horses. They are so well trained we can walk them right into a nursing home or a shelter, and they are just as comfortable as they would be running in a field. I ADORE the other volunteers and the owners. We always stick around after visits and chat. Volunteering with Minis and Friends has been one of the most satisfying things I have ever done.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 24, 2013

I recently joined Minis and Friends as a volunteer a few short months ago. This is truly a great organization that makes so many people happy. I hope to be a part of the group for many years to come! more

April 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been with Minis and Friends for over a year as a volunteer. It is such a great way to bring joy to the elderly and to young children.
April 24, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I recently joined Minis and Friends as a volunteer a few short months ago. This is truly a great organization that makes so many people happy. I hope to be a part of the group for many years to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

For 12 years I have worked with full size horses and children with physical and mental handicaps. I loved my job and felt a special connection with the animals who helped not just children but persons of all ages who traveled to our facility. In December 2010 I moved my herd of horses to a beautiful facility in south east Austin where I had the most fortunate of luck in meeting founder and director Sally. I immediately fell in love with the minis, as does every one who meets them! My first exposure to the minis and the public came in the form of the United Way day of caring. The response to the minis by the 45 plus corporate employees brought tears to my eyes, you could feel these participants stress and anxiety lift! I was hooked!

I have now have worked with the group closely for a few years and its always just fantastic to be involved! The visits are handled with such care and professionalism, you can see that there is love and only love that goes into this fantastic opportunity in our local community. The most powerful and profound moments I've had include memories and tears shared by our Alzheimer's patients to having non verbal cases where families have never heard the voice of their child or grandparent. To make such powerful impact with persons and families is a blessing. I'm so blessed to be a witness to truly the most heartwarming and unique therapy available.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None :)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 25, 2013

This has been my first year working with Minis and Friends. The people involved with this organization are amazing. They are extremely dedicated to helping others and will do anything to make others h... more

April 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is wonderful. Everyone in the organization helps because they truly just want to spread joy and make people happy. The miniature horses are the most adorable animals and the smiles they put on people's faces are unbelievable. I would recommend this organization to anyone who is looking for a good cause to donate to (ALL of the money goes towards taking care of the horses and allowing the organization to go out to local Austin places almost every weekend to spread some love) or to volunteer at. They have not only made a difference in some many Austinite's lives but also in mine.
April 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This has been my first year working with Minis and Friends. The people involved with this organization are amazing. They are extremely dedicated to helping others and will do anything to make others happy. If you are passionate about animals and helping others this is the best organization to work with. The horses may be mini but they have huge hearts!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I met Minis and Friends this past December when they came for a visit to my parents' home, per my request, as a very special Christmas present for my Dad who has Stage III lung cancer with mets to bone and brain. It was the best Christmas present - the joy those lil minis brought to my family, very special memories for all, especially my Dad !! I just fell in love with the minis and immediately wanted to be a part of such a wonderful organization, so I signed up to volunteer and have recently been going on visits with them as a volunteer. It is just wonderful to see the smiles on faces of those who really need it, very special. And the lil minis bring a big smile to my face as well. I am so happy, and proud, to be a part of Minis and Friends. !!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would go on visits every day, sure wish I could do this every day :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

be a mini-handler working with the little horses and donkey to bring indescribable smiles to those we meet, assist with grant writing, fundraising, and helping to support our booths at various events and festivals Volunteer