Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.921575
Write A Review
September 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 25, 2012

I have volunteered with Mind Treasures for the past 6 years. I have noticed many positive changes in students and participants. Mind Treasures program is suitable for people of all ages. I recommend... more

September 25, 2014

I have worked with Mind Treasures for the past several years and they never fail to amuse me of their impact on the lives of young children. Participants are always eager to learn new financial skills from MT's staff. I love how most of the young ones are already thinking about teaching what they have learned to their own children in the future. Each lesson plan from the ABCs of Wealth curriculum provide a valuable life skill to the participants that will have lifetime effects. I sure home MT's program will expand rapidly throughout San Diego and beyond.
June 25, 2012

I have volunteered with Mind Treasures for the past 6 years. I have noticed many positive changes in students and participants. Mind Treasures program is suitable for people of all ages. I recommend this program to all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 31, 2014

more

August 31, 2014

Mind Treasures is a definite treasure for all who have an opportunity to participate. It is a curriculum that should be available for all young people. It is planting a positive seed for now and their future. They can share this vital information now with others even their parents who may not have gotten this information earlier. This curriculum is twofold: the children are learning valuable information on virtues they should strive to possess in addition to learning about how to handle money. The virtues taught has so much to do with how money is handled.
October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I just attended a course over-view of the Mind Treasures program and mission. The mission of MInd Treasures as I understand it, is to train a generation of people to be more financially literate by invoking the sound philosophy of spending, sharing and sharing ones money to a entrephilantropic end. This message, taught to all ages in all walks of life, will then be taught to the next generation and the next becoming eventually a way of life.
While the present economic state of the nation will seemingly slow the effect message of the mission of MInd Treasures, it is a great and trainable philosophy sure to benefit all in society. There will be more concern for the society, less selfishness and less dependence of credit or greed and immediate gratification. This is a simple and beautiful goal.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

As a Fourth Grade teacher, I can tell you that the Mind Treasures program is awesome! The students love the class and they learn life-long skills related to saving, spending and sharing. Mind Treasures provides curriculum that we as public school teachers are not able to cover in the normal classroom setting. I wish every student could go through a Mind Treasures program!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

Just like music is universal, so is mind treasures. Mind Treasures is for any age or gender. It is basic financial literacy needed by all. But more than about money, it is about character development. Mind Treasures teaches about tools needed to handle money (little or much). Especially, patience, self-discipline and moderation. We can talk about everything developed inside of us. Mind Treasures teaches on responsibility, truthfulness, and generosity. Children can learn to be thankful for all things. It is not just about MONEY!!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 3, 2011

My two sons have done this program and have enjoyed the very different hands on activities. I have taught the program in Beijing China as an after school activity and very often parents would come repeatedly and thank me for what their kids were learning. I have taught this program to counselors and teachers from 2 International schools in Beijing and they have also taught it as an after school program. My kids are using the skills they have learned. They are getting weekly allowance and are doing a great job in saving, spending and sharing. They have truly understood the concept of money management taught to them. I have had friends also who have bought the package as a christmas gift and they were very happy with the results. I highly recommend the program. It is easy to teach and an easy and fun way to learn.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

How children can learn money management while enjoying the time spent on it, see and feel what is being said, and most importantly learn it through character development. My children have enjoyed learning from this program and they are doing a better job in saving, spending, helping. thank you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

April 27, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
April 27, 2011

It has been a pleasure to have the opportunity to work with Mind Treasures. Not only does this agency embraces the mission of providing excellent financial literacy to underserved youth but they have expanded the concept of education and have developed a unique curriculum combining character development with financial literacy, in order to raise our future generations to become financially stable and independent. The curriculum is taught by incorporating the foundation of values by focusing on developing key character traits such as patience, responsibility, moderation, thankfulness, selflessness, generosity and truthfulness. This development is complemented by learning the goal setting, decision making, borrowing and budgeting processes.

I've had the opportunity to volunteer in an after-school program curriculum they teach, ABC's of Wealth and it was truly a life experience for me.

They have been a partnering agency of the San Diego City-County Reinvestment Task Force and they have continously have seeked opportunities to coordinate efforts with community agencies and schools in San Diego and we are currently working on a collaborative effort in bringing Financial Education to the Schools in San Diego, especially those located in lower-income communities.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have planned various community resource events and Mind Treasures can always been counted upon to participate at these events.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes

April 20, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
April 20, 2011

Mind Treasures is a Gem of a program. The only program of it's kind, children learn the importance of saving and making responsible financial decisions. If this program was adopted in every school in San Diego county, San Diego would lead our nation in financial literacy. I only wish I had the opportunity to learn about credit, debt, and purchasing behavior before I enrolled in college. I would recommend Mind Treasures to any parent who wants to equip their children for a responsible financial future filled with values and expertise.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My own life. I was able to take some of the lessons learned and apply to my budgeting decisions

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would volunteer. It is too soon to make changes, but Mind Treasures could use as many donors, and volunteers to get the program in as many schools as possible

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We are always looking for volunteers to assist us with children programs that are offered at local elementary and middle schools. Volunteers do not need any specific experiences but must be passionate about changing people's lives Volunteer