Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
95 Reviews
1234.347375
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 31, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2014
9 people found this review helpful


THIS ORGANIZATION IS A WASTE OF A DONATION. I EXPLAIN IN FULL: They have given homes to wounded warriors and thats great and all, but the method that they choose who is given a home is utter crap. I have had multiple friends who were injured in combat (no they didnt sprain their ankle playing
golf, or hurt their wrist pushing papers). I was thankfully not injured when i served in iraq or afghanistan, but when i saw how 3 friends of mine have applied for homes and not been given the home because they didnt live close enough the the george strait concert where the home was awarded. apparently to be awarded a home you not only have to be combat wounded, but also within close proximity to one of their events, AND be willing to go on stage in front of a huge crowd of people. absolutely ludicrous. maybe THATS why they have so many houses available online.

If they are only focusing on the showboating of veterans, they cant focus on filling those 100+ homes with deserving combat wounded veterans who have severe PTSD and cant walk on a stage in front of thousands of people without breaking down.

THE FOCUS ON GIVING A HOME TO A WOUNDED VETERAN NEEDS TO BE ON THE VETERAN/FAMILY IN QUESTION - NOT THE EVENT THEY ARE BEING AWARDED AT.

I HAVE REQUESTED A RESPONSE ON THEIR SOCIAL MEDIA AND THROuGH THE CONTACT FORMS FOUND ON THEIR WEBSITE TO NO AVAIL. NO MEMBER OF THE ORGANIZATION IS WILLING TO SPEAK TO WHY THEY CHOOSE VETERANS IN THIS MANNER.

If you have had the same experience, please post on their facebook page, and contact forms and maybe they will understand that they need to change!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Focus on the needs of the veterans applying for the home, not on focusing on the events/ shows/ outdoor hunting channels.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 25, 2013

more

November 25, 2013

I have followed and supported this foundation for many years. Their staff if passionate, caring and extremely committed to serving and rewarding our country's Heroes. They are to be commended!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

November 20, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

This organization really needs to have more robust checks into the former military members being awarded these homes. They recently awarded a home (November 2013) in Charlottesville, VA to a former service member who's actions while in uniform definitely didn't warrant him being awarded this home. This former solider committed adultery with another solider's wife while he was deployed overseas and his actions resulted in the wife becoming pregnant by him while he was still married to his previous wife.

In recent months the couple have been using the threat of litigation to force the husband who was deployed to finance their living expenses. I find it absolutely disgusting that an organization such as this couldn't be bothered to look deeper into this situation, especially when it was brought to their attention. Despite them claiming it was a civil matter, they are standing behind their claim that they couldn't find another more deserving solider and family.

The most telling part of this organization is that they have refused to post any news about the home being awarded to the service member after being confronted, and eveb strongly encouraged the husband who was cheated on to not take his story about this organization to the public. I strongly discourage participation and donations to this organization

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

My daughter and son in law received a home from Military Warriors Support Foundation about 1 1/2 years ago. At first we thought this was great for them, it was a nice house and was handicapped accessible. But please do NOT put these people who are financially strapped into a house where they have to pay HOA fee's and in a house where the taxes they have to pay per month is more than a mortgage would be. They have a financial adviser who doesn't even let them know when the taxes and payments are going up. Really $600 a month for property taxes and $100 a month for HOA fees. Plus all the extra utility bills for being in a much larger place. How does this foundation really expect them to pay for this? Someone needs to do something about this. Lets make sure these people can afford the monthly expenses. Sure it sounds great that they are getting mortgage free home, but now they are strapped more than before.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I agree that this is a great program. My husband was deployed only twice but suffers sever ptsd among other problems including falling off of a shinook. We gave all proper documentation and were lead to believe that we could be chosen for a home. We did everything they asked us to do yet we were still turned down. Im very thankful for programs like this. We could really benefit from using a financial advisor to help us fix our credit and teach us budeting skills. Congratulations to all who was chosen.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband was injured in Iraq. He suffers from a TBI, PTSD and tinnitus as a result from multiple blasts and IEDs. We were told about this program through the VA caregiver program and honestly, thought it was "too good to be true"...but NOT TRUE! The individuals that we spoke with were so professional and organized. It is very clear that they have a system that works and use it the exact same way for each applicant. Great people. Awesome LIFE CHANGING gift to give a soldier and his/her family!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make more people aware of it!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013

more

July 17, 2013

I recently applied for the free mortgage homes for wounded vets and I have never seen such incompetence its a shame that would take someone who is already been through hard rough times to the extreme they will ask you to submit documents then say they never got them upon sending them numerously of times they will want you to produce forms you wouldn't have regular army soldiers need ngb forms but how when you not national guard and for OEF/OIF vets your dd214 needs to state where you were in Iraq specifically I have never seen a list of countries or cities on a dd214 and then they need a dd215 from someone who was discharged in 2006 go figure.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to higher people who no more about the military and forms used during current eras and take time to locate paper work being faxed or emailed in .

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

There are many Veteran Service organizations in our country today. There is also the GI Bill, VA benefits and other federal assistance too. Not one of those organizations or government programs in the USA can set a Combat Wounded Veteran on a near certain path to success and prosperity like the Military Warriors Support Foundation can. Homes 4 Wounded Heroes is a program that above any other VSO in this country cares more about the well being, financial future and family stability of a wounded warrior. No one can give any examples of charity greater than a wonderful home to live in, financial mentoring to get you back on your feet and family counseling to strengthen the family bond. The MWSF is the greatest Non-Profit Organization in the country, hands down.....

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Donate every abandoned foreclosure in America to a deserving and struggling veteran and fix our economy and real estate problems with the same group that fights for our freedoms!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 7, 2013

more

March 7, 2013

So far my experience with this organization has been below my expectations. I have only been able to communicate via e-mail and have a feeling no one knows what they are talking about. It seems no one wants to help me with completing an application for assistance. My question is very specific, yet no one can give me a specific answer to help me out or has bothered to reach out to me. I have called and left messages, but my calls have not been returned.

I think the concept of the organization is great , but the way they communicate with vets and their family should improved.

I also want to add that, I feel the foundation is exploiting vets, it's like they are digging for the deepest, juiciest war stories and the expense of the vets. Haven't they already paid a high enough price, and for some one to dangle a mortgage free home in front of them, in exchange for war stories and sob stories to bring a good name for their organization. That is shameless. =(

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 28, 2013

more

January 28, 2013

Donate elsewhere. I too know the recipients referenced below. All I can say is that I'm glad there were no homes in my neighborhood available. An honorable deed does not make you honorable.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers