Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.913045
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 18, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

After deciding I was financially able to donate a fair amount of money to help the less fortunate I made Guatemala my focus. I spent a year or so researching non-profits and the whole realm of charitable organizations- the good they do and the problems and pitfalls. I spent many weeks visiting and evaluating 10-12 organizations working in Guatemala and have now ended up working with and donating to 3 or 4 on a regular basis.
Mil Milagros is an inspiring organization. It is small (and growing) non-profit with a clear, well-reasoned and attainable mission. To achieve their goals Margaret and her wonderful employees and volunteers focus on what I and many others know are the key problems in combating relentless poverty- lack of access to healthcare and education. They don't just dump food and money on the doorstep of needy families and walk away, rather, they require the involvement of the parents, teachers, administrators and the kids themselves to realize and carryout the mission of MM- success in school via meal programs, nutrition, hygiene, classroom/teacher support, women's health education and so much more. I also admire that they cooperate with other non-profits that work in other areas (medical, dental, building construction, etc.) rather than possibly spreading themselves to thin.

Donating to MM does a great deal of good and benefits so many people, including myself. I am inspired and buoyed in my daily life by being involved with them and what they are able to accomplish! A better organization I haven't found! Thanks to MM for all their good work.
September 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Mil Milagros is doing amazing work in Guatemala by partnering with schools, teachers and mothers, to make sure that children have a healthy meal at school each day. In August 2014, my wife, son, and I visited four of the five schools where Mil Milagros is engaged and saw first-hand the close connections and many consequences of the remarkable work by this group. The school-lunch program provides an entry point for Mil Milagros to explore broader development efforts, which vary depending on the needs of each community and school. We were deeply impressed by the passion and the results of Mil Milagros, and by the dedication of the mothers who cook the food each day. We hope that the organization will expand its miracles to other schools and communities.
September 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I was able to see the work provided by Mil Milagros last year first hand. I visited the schools on two occasions with my teenage children, both adopted from Guatemala. The experience was moving and inspirational. The changes that occur as a result of this program impact not only the children, thier families, the community but also those that get involved. My children were inspired to do more for this program and the children serviced. They look forward to their next visit and they hope to inspire their friends and schools to get involved.
November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Mil Milagros, one thousand miracles. Well it’s way more than that; way more than a thousand!
The initial miracle was that a forty-somethingish Boston woman should have found herself on a fun vacation in Guatemala and be quickly overcome, indeed stricken, by the kids which, as if magnetized,
flocked to her ready smile, Spanish words of encouragement and blondest of blonde complexions. That was four or five years ago when Margaret Blood came to recognize in these arresting school-age kids a sense of need: these children showed signs of being among the very most malnourished in the world; their primary school completion rate was abysmal; the country’s child pregnancy rate alarming; their poor families in need of help, too. “What to do? There must be a way?”
The next of many miracles to come was Margaret’s success in the formation and evolution of the school feeding program, a not-for-profit, known and celebrated in the Guatemalan state of Solola, and here in the US, as Mil Milagros. Nearly a hundred people in the Boston area have contributed thousands of dollars to guarantee a hot meal for every kid in the many schools which have been fortunate enough to benefit from this endeavor. There are now over one thousand kids participating: not only is the benefit that of reducing the likelihood of progressive malnutrition in these kids, the hot meals have a major effect on kids and their families such that kids stay in school and dropout rate is markedly reduced. As an adjunct, kids are taught basics of health and hygiene. Every kid brings in his/her toothbrush and is expected to use it; hands are washed after going to the bathroom; sinks and showers have been installed with Mil Milagros help in certain schools. Whole families participate and are integrated into the program: the kids must bring in fire wood for the wood stoves to cook the meals which the mothers prepare in organized rotation. Clearly there is leveraged benefit, miracle upon miracle: the hope and enthusiasm radiating from the families and schools where Mil Milagros is working.
The next miracles Mil Milagros is rolling out will come with implementation of supplemental feedings for the younger siblings of the families whose children are in the school age program because, it has now been recognized by Mil Milagros and health experts, some aspects of malnutrition develop at a very young age and school feeding programs cannot be expected to help with all those early deficits.
It’s easy to understand the enthusiasm and clamor of neighbors, schools and towns to bring Mil Milagros to thousands more in Guatemala. The next miracles: get to ten thousand kids within a couple of years, each child, each family another miracle in the evolution of humanity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

Mil Milagros provides me the opportunity to give back in such a way that I know I am not just providing a fish, but a fishing pole. It allows me, as a donor, to play a small role in building capacity and hope among some of the poorest people in the world. It provides children with the foundation they need to be successful, and their parents with the skills and resources to help their children achieve greater success than they could have dreamed. It is a wonderful organization which benefits both the families and guatemala and donors such as myself.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

When I contribute to Mil Milagros, I know my money is well spent. While writing a book about volunteerism in Guatemala, I've visited many programs and interviewed many participants . This one stands out. I've seen it in action beginning with the first two room school in a remote village where the energy was palpable at every level. There was a role for everybody. The village men piped water to the school and built the kitchen. The women took classes in nutrition and cooked a hot meal each day. The children brought their own cups and plates each day and washed them. Contributions paid for two part time staff, .a coordinator and a teacher, as well as the food and some school supplies.Now you need look only at the website to see how these and many more more children have thrived. School attendance has improved dramatically. MM's strong management is demonstrated in part by the real focus put on results with both hard and soft measures including focus groups. What stands out the most to me personally as I've visited each school is the obvious pride and ownership the children and their moms, as well as the teachers, have in what they're accomplishing together.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This non-profit changes the life of all who come in contact with it !!! This is why it is called Mil Milagros -- a thousand miracles ! (a thousand and counting.....) I thought the "miracles" were only for the recipients of this non-profit, the Guatemalan children and their families; I found out differently when I attended the October 3rd fundraiser. As a donor, I felt as though I was the recipient of the miracles the Guatemalan children and families were giving so genuinely with their gratitude !! Thank you, Mil Milagros. Your vision and belief in miracles creates a bridge and sense of responsibility to all humankind, and especially between the Guatemalan and US communities. The miracle is in each of our hands !!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

A Program with a word view to end world hunger, educate women and children and improve quality life. My respects for the work they are doing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers