Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.928575
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

In August 2014 I visited the schools Mil Milagros serves in Guatemala and met with the children and their teachers. The children come from Mayan families in impoverished villages around Lake Atitlan in the central highlands. One school serves 22 families displaced when a hurricane destroyed their village. I assisted as Mil Milagros' capable staff helped the women of the village learn how to better purify their drinking water. Despite the many hardships that they face, these children and their schools are accomplishing great things. Mil Milagros provides educational support, basic medical interventions, healthy meals, and nutritional guidance to the families. Particularly important are the outreach programs to, and partnerships with, the mothers, who help run the school lunch programs and assist the teachers. At a time when the USA has become focused on Guatemala children as an immigration issue, Mil Milagros continues its ongoing work in building and strengthening Guatemalan schools, to give the children literacy, nutrition, and a chance to build lives for themselves right there in Guatemala. Please support the vital work of Mil Milagros.
August 22, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 22, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Putting the experience I had last week visiting Mil Milagros into words seems like an impossible task. While I was familiar with Mil Milagros and their work, I was completely unprepared for the thousands of ripples their work has created. Mil Milagros brings health and hope not just to the children of the schools with whom they partner, but with the teachers, the staff, the mothers, siblings, whole families and the larger community. Mil Milagros is creating ambassadors of hope, health and light in the children they serve and the work is making life and death differences every day. At the risk of speaking in hyperbole, I hope to create in my lifetime the kind of change Margaret and her staff creates in the course of a day with these incredible children.
November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Our youngest child, who was adopted from Guatemala, died after a long and tragic illness in 2008. When she died, we immediately knew that we wanted to dedicate a significant amount of our time and resources to a cause that would be worthy of her beautiful life and memory. It was then that we met Margaret Blood, the Executive Director of Mil Milagros. Founded in 2007, Mil Milagros is dedicated to eradicating hunger and poverty among the indigenous population the children of Guatemala. Mil Milagros partners with 5 schools, 41 teachers, and 355 mothers & grandmothers to serve 1,100 children in the state of Sololá in Guatemala. Mil Milagros has a five point program: (1)Nutrition: - children are served nourishing lunches prepared by the children’s mothers and grandmothers who are trained by Mil Milagros. They have also recently instituted a supplemental nutrition program for infants and toddlers. (2.)Health and Hygiene: Mil Milagros has created dental clinics and teaches the children about hygiene. (3) Education: Mil Milagros supplies books, school supplies, and teacher training. (4) Leadership development : Mil Milagros has instated leadership-skill building among mothers and grandmothers and led the creation of on-site student councils. (5) Impact measurement: Mil Milagros carefully measure the physical and classroom improvements among their students. Mil Milagros has an aggressive plan for growth to serve more children and more schools. We highly recommend this non-profit as one that has a clear sense of mission and is making a measurable impact.





From: Patricia O'Brien [mailto:patricia.obrien@verizon.net]
Sent: Wednesday, November 07, 2012 1:16 PM

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Mi Milagros is an inspiring institution that makes a clear difference in the lives of the Guatemalan children. All the employees are passionate and hard-working. It was great to volunteer with and learn more about this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I volunteered at the most recent fundraiser for Mil Milagros Inc. It was so wonderful to hear about all the amazing work that is being done for the children in Guatemala. This not-for-profit is a real inspiration and an excellent example of the life changing work that can be done when you meet people where they are at. I am very impressed by the work that is being done here!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

As the parents of three boys adopted from Guatemala, it was very important for my husband and I to be connected to our boys' birthcountry. Our involvement with Mil Milagros has allowed us to do that in a personal way. A few years ago, my oldest son and I traveled to Guatemala and visited the schools we support. It was a life-changing experience for both of us and this year, I'll be going again with our middle son. Mil Milagros is not only feeding children, but empowering families to advocate for themselves and most importantly, to envision a brighter future for their children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I have volunteered with Mil Milagos for about 5 years. It has been a special and rewarding experience. I have sold handmade jewelry to raise funds for Mil Milagros, helped coordinate jewelry sales at the annual celebration and fundraiser, and helped with the processing of contributions from our generous donors. In addition I have worked on the annual fundraising mailing, written thank you notes, helped with the Facebook page and helped with the publication of the newsletter. All of these activities were capped off by my trip last spring to visit the children and partner schools who benefit from the work of Mil Milagros. Everyday school day over 1,100 mostly indigenous Mayan children who reside in Guatemala's poorest state of Solola, receive hot, nutritious meals which are prepared by volunteer mothers and grandmothers in the community. For many of the children, this is the only meal they receive each day. When the children are being fed, they attend school -- this simple equation has helped raise the graduation rate of the children in the program. In addition, Mil Milagros provides personal hygiene products (such as tooth paste and toothbrushes), water filters to provide clean drinking water, health and dental checkups for the children and their mothers, textbooks and school supplies, and most of all love and hope. In one community, which has been homeless for more than 2 years, Mil Milagos rents the school classrooms and pays the teachers' salaries in addition to the nutritional, hygiene and educational support described above. Mil MIlagros means A Thousand Miracles -- at least a thousand miracles are truly occurring each day through Mil Milagros! Please visit www.milmilagros.org for more information, check us out on Facebook and milmilagros.Tumblr.com, and see for yourself that miracles are happening everyday in Guatemala.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers