Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.909095
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As the parents of a daughter born in Guatemala City our work with Mil Milagros means a great deal to us. We recently returned from a week in Guatemala that provided (besides the trip of a lifetime for our daughters) a chance to work in MM's six schools, meet the children we are helping and see up close and personal the difference MM makes in the lives of so many students, teachers and families. We were particularly moved by the daily effort that the parents put in to make MM a success at each school. The parents know how fortunate they are to have MM working with them to improve the lives of their children every day and they take their responsibilities very seriously. The experience solidified for us our commitment to continue our support and do our small part to maintain the success, and grow, this wonderful organization. We feel very lucky to be part of Mil Milagros.
Best regards, Charley & Nan Murphy

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Mil Milagros, one thousand miracles. Well it’s way more than that; way more than a thousand!
The initial miracle was that a forty-somethingish Boston woman should have found herself on a fun vacation in Guatemala and be quickly overcome, indeed stricken, by the kids which, as if magnetized,
flocked to her ready smile, Spanish words of encouragement and blondest of blonde complexions. That was four or five years ago when Margaret Blood came to recognize in these arresting school-age kids a sense of need: these children showed signs of being among the very most malnourished in the world; their primary school completion rate was abysmal; the country’s child pregnancy rate alarming; their poor families in need of help, too. “What to do? There must be a way?”
The next of many miracles to come was Margaret’s success in the formation and evolution of the school feeding program, a not-for-profit, known and celebrated in the Guatemalan state of Solola, and here in the US, as Mil Milagros. Nearly a hundred people in the Boston area have contributed thousands of dollars to guarantee a hot meal for every kid in the many schools which have been fortunate enough to benefit from this endeavor. There are now over one thousand kids participating: not only is the benefit that of reducing the likelihood of progressive malnutrition in these kids, the hot meals have a major effect on kids and their families such that kids stay in school and dropout rate is markedly reduced. As an adjunct, kids are taught basics of health and hygiene. Every kid brings in his/her toothbrush and is expected to use it; hands are washed after going to the bathroom; sinks and showers have been installed with Mil Milagros help in certain schools. Whole families participate and are integrated into the program: the kids must bring in fire wood for the wood stoves to cook the meals which the mothers prepare in organized rotation. Clearly there is leveraged benefit, miracle upon miracle: the hope and enthusiasm radiating from the families and schools where Mil Milagros is working.
The next miracles Mil Milagros is rolling out will come with implementation of supplemental feedings for the younger siblings of the families whose children are in the school age program because, it has now been recognized by Mil Milagros and health experts, some aspects of malnutrition develop at a very young age and school feeding programs cannot be expected to help with all those early deficits.
It’s easy to understand the enthusiasm and clamor of neighbors, schools and towns to bring Mil Milagros to thousands more in Guatemala. The next miracles: get to ten thousand kids within a couple of years, each child, each family another miracle in the evolution of humanity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

Mil Milagros provides me the opportunity to give back in such a way that I know I am not just providing a fish, but a fishing pole. It allows me, as a donor, to play a small role in building capacity and hope among some of the poorest people in the world. It provides children with the foundation they need to be successful, and their parents with the skills and resources to help their children achieve greater success than they could have dreamed. It is a wonderful organization which benefits both the families and guatemala and donors such as myself.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Our youngest child, who was adopted from Guatemala, died after a long and tragic illness in 2008. When she died, we immediately knew that we wanted to dedicate a significant amount of our time and resources to a cause that would be worthy of her beautiful life and memory. It was then that we met Margaret Blood, the Executive Director of Mil Milagros. Founded in 2007, Mil Milagros is dedicated to eradicating hunger and poverty among the indigenous population the children of Guatemala. Mil Milagros partners with 5 schools, 41 teachers, and 355 mothers & grandmothers to serve 1,100 children in the state of Sololá in Guatemala. Mil Milagros has a five point program: (1)Nutrition: - children are served nourishing lunches prepared by the children’s mothers and grandmothers who are trained by Mil Milagros. They have also recently instituted a supplemental nutrition program for infants and toddlers. (2.)Health and Hygiene: Mil Milagros has created dental clinics and teaches the children about hygiene. (3) Education: Mil Milagros supplies books, school supplies, and teacher training. (4) Leadership development : Mil Milagros has instated leadership-skill building among mothers and grandmothers and led the creation of on-site student councils. (5) Impact measurement: Mil Milagros carefully measure the physical and classroom improvements among their students. Mil Milagros has an aggressive plan for growth to serve more children and more schools. We highly recommend this non-profit as one that has a clear sense of mission and is making a measurable impact.





From: Patricia O'Brien [mailto:patricia.obrien@verizon.net]
Sent: Wednesday, November 07, 2012 1:16 PM

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

When I contribute to Mil Milagros, I know my money is well spent. While writing a book about volunteerism in Guatemala, I've visited many programs and interviewed many participants . This one stands out. I've seen it in action beginning with the first two room school in a remote village where the energy was palpable at every level. There was a role for everybody. The village men piped water to the school and built the kitchen. The women took classes in nutrition and cooked a hot meal each day. The children brought their own cups and plates each day and washed them. Contributions paid for two part time staff, .a coordinator and a teacher, as well as the food and some school supplies.Now you need look only at the website to see how these and many more more children have thrived. School attendance has improved dramatically. MM's strong management is demonstrated in part by the real focus put on results with both hard and soft measures including focus groups. What stands out the most to me personally as I've visited each school is the obvious pride and ownership the children and their moms, as well as the teachers, have in what they're accomplishing together.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Mi Milagros is an inspiring institution that makes a clear difference in the lives of the Guatemalan children. All the employees are passionate and hard-working. It was great to volunteer with and learn more about this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This non-profit changes the life of all who come in contact with it !!! This is why it is called Mil Milagros -- a thousand miracles ! (a thousand and counting.....) I thought the "miracles" were only for the recipients of this non-profit, the Guatemalan children and their families; I found out differently when I attended the October 3rd fundraiser. As a donor, I felt as though I was the recipient of the miracles the Guatemalan children and families were giving so genuinely with their gratitude !! Thank you, Mil Milagros. Your vision and belief in miracles creates a bridge and sense of responsibility to all humankind, and especially between the Guatemalan and US communities. The miracle is in each of our hands !!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I volunteered at the most recent fundraiser for Mil Milagros Inc. It was so wonderful to hear about all the amazing work that is being done for the children in Guatemala. This not-for-profit is a real inspiration and an excellent example of the life changing work that can be done when you meet people where they are at. I am very impressed by the work that is being done here!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Mil Milagros works in partnership with schools, communities and families to teach nutrition, health and educational best practices that are sustainable in those communities. In Guatemala, malnutrition rates are the 4th highest in the world, and elementary school drop out rate of 60%. Mil Milagros looks to the causes of these problems and works with Mayan communities to have a better future for their children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

As the parents of three boys adopted from Guatemala, it was very important for my husband and I to be connected to our boys' birthcountry. Our involvement with Mil Milagros has allowed us to do that in a personal way. A few years ago, my oldest son and I traveled to Guatemala and visited the schools we support. It was a life-changing experience for both of us and this year, I'll be going again with our middle son. Mil Milagros is not only feeding children, but empowering families to advocate for themselves and most importantly, to envision a brighter future for their children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers