Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.928575
Write A Review
March 31, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

Mil Milagros is doing critical work to support the children and families in Guatemala. It has been amazing to see the organization strategically grow and have greater impact without losing its laser focus on results. I have been inspired to hear about all the programs and services that are making a difference - especially the work with the moms. I am proud to support Mil Milagros.
March 31, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

I've routinely given to different causes throughout my young adult and adult life and Mil Milagros stands apart as an organization, such that I felt compelled to give them more of my own time and energy. The negative things that can come up with non-profits, not playing well with each other, swooping in and then departing before the persistent problems are addressed, and short-circuiting local development and motivation through hand outs- none of that is in play here. Their work is in respectful, strategic collaboration with other non-profits and with the communities they serve. Their work is about fundamentally changing lives and that is what they are accomplishing. I feel fortunate to be able to support the important work they do, building community capacity and the capacity of women and children to alter the course of their lives for the better.
March 30, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 30, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

As the adoptive parents of a child born in Guatemala, my husband and I had been looking for a meaningful way to "give back" and improve life for all children in that country. When we became involved in Mil Milagros, we had no idea we would find an organization that would also change our lives. From the start, we were impressed with founder Margaret Blood's vision, commitment and passion for improving health, hygiene and educational outcomes for the children of Guatemala. While I have served as a volunteer, my husband serves on the Board, and we have devoted a significant share of our charitable giving to Mil Milagros. We have just returned from our first trip with our daughter to Guatemala and could not be more impressed or inspired by the work that Margaret and her staff are doing in the beautiful but achingly poor Mayan Highlands. We visited all of the schools, met with mother leaders, observed classes, meal preparation and cultural presentations. Best of all were the warm welcomes, smiles and expressions of deep gratitude and appreciation from the children, parents and teachers. Outcomes have improved dramatically in the communities served by Mil Milagros, but there are so many more in dire need of our program and support (as I write, there is a waiting list of some 14 other schools). I cannot recommend this organization highly enough. Please consider lending your support to Mil Milagros!
October 9, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I am continually inspired by the work of Mil Milagros. Over 5 years ago, I attended a house party that was selling beautiful jewelry and bags made by artisians in Guatemala. I was hooked, once I saw the smiling faces of the children who were benefitting from the money raised at this event. I couldn't beleive how this non-profit, Mil Milagros, was able to do so much with so little. The fact that they were a group who listened to how the local people viewed their needs and built programs to help meet those needs, was refreshing. This group didn't just go in to a village and tell the people who were living there, what they would do to "fix" their challenges. They listended and engaged the local people so that the programs developed will be able to be sustained for years to come. To now see the pictures of the children with their mothers and grandmothers standing side by side as they eat a healthy lunch and learn is wonderful. I consider it an honor to be even a little part of the wonderful work that Mil Milagros does on a daily basis. I hope some day to be able to travel to this beautiful country and see first hand the results of the hard work that goes in to making Mil Milagros a wonderful non-profit.
October 1, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I visited Mil Milagros this summer and was awed by the work they are doing to give hope to the families there. I have been working with Artesenia sales for five years, raising money and telling the story, and am re-committed to helping in any way I can to support the work that is being done. To see the smiles on the faces of the children and their mothers as they welcomed us was humbling. The staff works tirelessly to find the nutritious food and transport it to the schools where the mothers prepare and serve their children. We helped to deliver and facilitate water filters to a homeless community and to weigh and measure preschoolers and distribute nutrition supplements to aid in battling malnutrition. To realize that you can feed and educate a child for a $1 a day is inspiring. The success in graduating children from 6th grade, offering the hope for a better life shows how meaningful the work of Mil Milagros is in helping to change the world.
September 27, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

Mil Milagros is a model program for combating malnutrition. It has sparked amazing changes. I've seen the program in action on visits to participating schools over several years. There is always a buzz in the kitchen where the moms are preparing carefully planned nutritious lunches and snacks. Hand washing, tooth brushing, and giggles are standard additions. The kids' smiles are only a partial reflection of their improved health. The real transformation is in the palpable energy of the pride and hope in children, mothers, fathers, teachers, and town councils working with the program. In my 50 years of experience living in and writing about Guatemala, I can say that Mil Milagros is the best of programs that demonstrate all that can be accomplished by respecting, listening to, and working with the people on the ground.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 23, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I volunteered to lead a group of dentists from Boston University to help provide dental care and dental education for children in Guatemala served by Mil Milagros. we very much enjoyed working with the Mil Milagros staff. What impressed me the most was that not only was education and nutrition supported directly but that it was sustained by involving the mothers in the community in nutritional education and, during our mission, oral hygiene education. Involving the community in carrying out the mission of Mil Milagros has the potential for long lasting benefit over and above direct services to the children. The staff of Mil Milagros are dedicated to the mission to the point of joyful passion. a nonprofit well deserving of our investment.
September 18, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

After deciding I was financially able to donate a fair amount of money to help the less fortunate I made Guatemala my focus. I spent a year or so researching non-profits and the whole realm of charitable organizations- the good they do and the problems and pitfalls. I spent many weeks visiting and evaluating 10-12 organizations working in Guatemala and have now ended up working with and donating to 3 or 4 on a regular basis.
Mil Milagros is an inspiring organization. It is small (and growing) non-profit with a clear, well-reasoned and attainable mission. To achieve their goals Margaret and her wonderful employees and volunteers focus on what I and many others know are the key problems in combating relentless poverty- lack of access to healthcare and education. They don't just dump food and money on the doorstep of needy families and walk away, rather, they require the involvement of the parents, teachers, administrators and the kids themselves to realize and carryout the mission of MM- success in school via meal programs, nutrition, hygiene, classroom/teacher support, women's health education and so much more. I also admire that they cooperate with other non-profits that work in other areas (medical, dental, building construction, etc.) rather than possibly spreading themselves to thin.

Donating to MM does a great deal of good and benefits so many people, including myself. I am inspired and buoyed in my daily life by being involved with them and what they are able to accomplish! A better organization I haven't found! Thanks to MM for all their good work.
September 18, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

When I volunteered with with Mil Milagros in 2010 and 2013, I visited 23 families living in rotary club tents and cooking together in an outdoor kitchen in a village high above Lake Atitlan after a huge mud slide had destroyed their homes and school. I also visited a small school in Pana where madres and abuelas were making a nutritious lunch for all of the children. At an incredibly inspiring party for Mil Milagros last week in Newton (sept, 2014), many Waltham-Guatemalan families enjoyed dinner, dancing to marimba playing and gave so much of their spirit and support so that Mil Milagros can continue the work in their homeland. All of the 23 families are now living in cinder block homes through connections made by Mil Milagros!!! I also met a BU dental surgeon and his wife who brought 5 dental students to San Juan on Lake Atitlan last Spring to provide a year's worth of floride treatment to 250 children while he did more complex dental work.
What a difference one visionary and caring person can make in the lives of children and families!!!
Thank you to Margaret Blood and her dedicated board members and volunteers!!
Count me in to return next year!!
Sandy Sachs, Child Development Specialist, Family Nurturing of MA
September 17, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

Mil Milagros is doing amazing work in Guatemala by partnering with schools, teachers and mothers, to make sure that children have a healthy meal at school each day. In August 2014, my wife, son, and I visited four of the five schools where Mil Milagros is engaged and saw first-hand the close connections and many consequences of the remarkable work by this group. The school-lunch program provides an entry point for Mil Milagros to explore broader development efforts, which vary depending on the needs of each community and school. We were deeply impressed by the passion and the results of Mil Milagros, and by the dedication of the mothers who cook the food each day. We hope that the organization will expand its miracles to other schools and communities.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers