Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

Midwives for Haiti understand the cycle of dignified work to support an individual that in turn supports a family, that in turn supports children in school. Work that supports a community by caring for the women during pregnancy is a step to seeking care for their children. Children surviving infancy can seek an education. With an education , there is an opportunity to lift poverty of the next generation. Opportunity for the next generation creates a better community. It is a slow process, but a potential for making a difference. MFH starts at the humble beginning, caring for women in pregnancy, equipping and supporting Haitian men and women to be birth attendants. All of this supports families. The cycle is embraced.
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

I have been following Midwives for Haiti since the earthquake in 2014. What started as my 5 yo daughter's focus on the people of Haiti soon became mine. This organization is doing such valuable work in maternal-infant care: Reducing maternal-infant mortality, increasing breastfeeding success rates, providing the disadvantaged with the basic human right of healthcare during pregnancy and beyond. And it takes so little to support this organization in their efforts!

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

This is a wonderful organization that works! My wife and her best friend volunteered in Haiti with Midwives for Haiti and so were able to bring back stories from the "front lines." MFH is dedicated in all the right ways to help Haitian moms and babies. Crucial healthcare and empowering education work together to raise up hope for the future. I encourage you to support them in their efforts-we can make a difference!
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I am very careful where I send my money because I feel like many times it doesn't trickle down to those who need it most. I have stayed in the MFH house and have seen firsthand what they do and how they spend their funds. I am so moved by the work that they do and the lives that they affect directly and indirectly. I'm so happy to have found a wonderful and trustworthy place to send my support that has such and incredible impact.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

Midwives for Haiti is helping a cause very dear to me: helping mothers having their babies in a safe environment with trained professionals. I belong to a small Church of the Brethren in Herndon, Virginia and last year our women's bible study decided to organize a yard sale for raise funds for Midwives for Haiti. It was very successful so we are doing it again this year, actually this coming Saturday, September 20th and we hope it will be good again. Midwives for Haiti is a great organization worthwhile our support and Haiti needs it so much. Thank you for everything you do.
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

Midwives for Haiti is a partnership with the Hatian people . It helps by providing training to Haitian women to take care of Haitian women. It is not charity is an organization working with a country that is in need of partners, not charity. I will be returning to Haiti again this year because I support the work this amazing organization is doing. At the end of the trip as a volunteer you return home with a deeper understanding of global health and a deeper appreciation for the wonderful country.
Claudia
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

Amazing!!!!!!! I have volunteered several times and have had great experiences each time. I love the students and staff and patients. Great organization
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

My trip to Haiti in August of 2013 was the most rewarding trip I've ever taken. Jut to witness the work MFH is doing opened my eyes to fully comprehend the scope of their mission . Their outreach is so vast and their goal so genuine. One of my most memorable experience of the trip is the mobile clinic. Explaining this to full comprehension is almost impossible. "Se la pou w la" is a Haitian saying. It means you have to be there, as nothing in life prepared me for such experience. Having been educated abroad, I was in awe to see how well prepared those midwives were by MFH. The trip itself through unpaved roads and shallow rivers to arrive at this shack to meet these pregnant women, these new mothers and their newborns in their Sunday best patiently waiting while we set up to take their weight, test their urine and educate them on safe care was an experience. They were like sponges, in need of water, absorbing in all , so grateful. It broke my heart when we said goodbye at the end of the day knowing that they would not receive any care for another month. The next day belongs to another town. With suitcases of supplies, they embark to another journey, as there are more waiting for the same. MFH, you are amazing!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Equip it with a dozen more jeeps, provide supplies and materials necessary to educate more midwives

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 27, 2012

I have been volunteering RIchmond (not yet in Haiti) with Midwives for Haiti for a couple months now. I could not be more proud of the work that they do, and am happy to be plugged into whatever proje... more

May 3, 2013

Great organization doing great work -- truly sustainable and inspiring.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2012

I have been volunteering RIchmond (not yet in Haiti) with Midwives for Haiti for a couple months now. I could not be more proud of the work that they do, and am happy to be plugged into whatever projects or tasks the organization needs to help keep moving forward. The work they are doing in Haiti is so important, and so beneficial to a growing network of communities - I can't wait to finish nursing school and head down!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

One of the best overseas aid programs one could support! Amazing U.S. midwives go to Haiti to train midwives there. They in turn help women who would otherwise have no prenatal care and no help with their deliveries. I have a midwife friend who goes to Haiti every year, and she shares her experiences and photographs with the rest of us in our Quaker meeting. This is the real deal.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers