Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
1234.888895
Previous | Next
Write A Review
May 3, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 27, 2012

I have been volunteering RIchmond (not yet in Haiti) with Midwives for Haiti for a couple months now. I could not be more proud of the work that they do, and am happy to be plugged into whatever proje... more

May 3, 2013

Great organization doing great work -- truly sustainable and inspiring.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2012

I have been volunteering RIchmond (not yet in Haiti) with Midwives for Haiti for a couple months now. I could not be more proud of the work that they do, and am happy to be plugged into whatever projects or tasks the organization needs to help keep moving forward. The work they are doing in Haiti is so important, and so beneficial to a growing network of communities - I can't wait to finish nursing school and head down!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

One of the best overseas aid programs one could support! Amazing U.S. midwives go to Haiti to train midwives there. They in turn help women who would otherwise have no prenatal care and no help with their deliveries. I have a midwife friend who goes to Haiti every year, and she shares her experiences and photographs with the rest of us in our Quaker meeting. This is the real deal.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I learned of this wonderful organization through a midwife friend who went with them to Haiti. MFH has a clear mission and integrity -- two of the most important attributes that make a non-profit worthy of support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I have volunteered as a nurse midwife clinical instructor on 4 trips in 3 years. I am so very pleased to see constant improvement in quality of student education, curriculum content and continuing education of graduates. I see immense gratitude and respect from the community (and now the Haitian government, too) toward Midwives for Haiti and their graduates. ~Bobbi. Fort Mill, SC

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

Making a difference in the lives of women and communities in Haiti. Midwives for Haiti works in partnership with women to train them as skilled birth attendants and then helps women find employment. They provide prenatal care services and in hospital staffing for St Therese in Hinche, Haiti.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

Ever since I volunteered with Midwives for Haiti in 2006, I have been impressed with the quality of the work they are doing. They have grown quickly and stayed true to their mission. They provide salaries for many Haitians, and most of the money goes directly into services to Haitians. My volunteer experience definitely changed the way I view my work on a daily basis, and I am sure it has done the same for many midwife volunteers. I love the way we use our volunteers to empower the Haitian people to help themselves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

Haiti has the highest maternal-infant mortality rate in the Western Hemisphere. Midwives for Haiti was established in 2004 to educate Haitian nurses to become skilled midwives. In the beginning, professional midwives volunteered to teach midwifery skills but now they are used to augment classroom and clinical teaching as much of the teaching is now done by experienced graduates of the program. Midwives for Haiti assures volunteer safety, providing comfortable housing and meals along with translators to help with both spoken and cultural transactions. It was sobering to witness the deprivations experienced on a daily basis by Haitians I met. At the same time, it was spiritually uplifting to encounter the courage and determination I experienced when observing Haitians working hard towards improving their lives. Although midwives are essential volunteers, there are other niches for non-professionals to fill: volunteering at orphanages, feeding centers, and community improvement projects.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

As a 1st time volunteer last year I was amazed to so quickly be utilized and involved with Haitian midwives, student midwives and mothers and get right in to the heart of midwives For Haiti and so close to Haitian life. I planned my return even before I left

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers