Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
86 Reviews
1234.941865
Write A Review
June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

As a two year member of the Symphony orchestra and a 3 year member, I can honestly say that MYA is the best decision I have ever made. The combination of great teachers, great musicians, great music, and great friends makes MYA I will forever advise and anybody and everybody.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 1, 2014

more

May 1, 2014

Our son has been in MYA's jazz program for the last two years, and it's been a fantastic experience! He has learned so much, met some great people, and even travelled overseas with the group.

I've also volunteered periodically with the organization, so have seen the great work done by all
of the support staff as well. Their focus is completely on bringing musical learning and enjoyment to the participants as well as the surrounding community, and they seem to focus on doing it as efficiently as possible, so are great stewards of the dollars made available to them.

Top notch organization overall, and expect to continue contributing to them as best we can, even when our son has moved on to college.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 30, 2014

more

April 30, 2014

We have been members of MYA for the past 7 years. The quality of their high level jazz, orchestra, and chamber ensemble programming (theory, too) is well worth our weekly two hour road trip. Kudos, MYA!
April 30, 2014

more

April 30, 2014

Passionate, talented people make MYA what it is: a great place to advance musical skills in ways not provided through private lessons or highschool orchestras. I have great memories, and had outstanding mentors and teachers who only wanted the best for all of us. The MYA family was crucial to my development as a musician, and though I didn't pursue music as my ultimate career path, I still carry a deep appreciation for music, theory, and playing my instrument. That wouldn't be nearly as true without my experience with MYA.
December 27, 2013

more

December 27, 2013

MYA is a really good place for chamber and orchestra ! There's 6 different level orchestras to choose from.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unsure

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 6, 2013

more

December 6, 2013

it's ok. the symphony sometimes plays very well. i like it

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 16, 2013

My daughter was a part of MYA throughout her high school years. Being a part of MYA gave her so much. She went on tour to China and South Korea. She learned what it means to be an artist. She played... more

October 16, 2013

MYA is a great organization especially as music in the public schools is being cut. The organization helped my daughter become a serious musician and a great collaborator in a large group (Symphony) and a smaller group (chamber). MYA has an upbeat feel and Allan and Karen Dennis are the best for organizing events and activities that promote fun while still demanding kids to reach for the stars and do their very best. MYA promotes long term relationships and learning and helps high schoolers decide on college choices.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it locate closer tomy home. MYA also needs to expand their physical facilities since there is such high demand for their services.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 16, 2013

My daughter was a part of MYA throughout her high school years. Being a part of MYA gave her so much. She went on tour to China and South Korea. She learned what it means to be an artist. She played concerts in Chicago's Orchestra Hall and on the Lyric Opera stage. She made so many life long friends. MYA is the best Youth Orchestra in the country.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve the performance and rehearsal facilities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

MYA is one of the most unique and extraordinary arts organizations for young people certainly in the Chicago area and maybe in the world. It provides an experience for a young musician that is so high quality it is hard to describe. It is educational and disciplined yet warm and welcoming full of friendships that last a lifetime. The orchestra produces music at the highest level in venues that even most professional musicians would envy like The Lyric Opera House and Symphony Hall. The group tours and presents concerts around the world. My daughter went to China and South Korea with MYA.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2013

more

August 30, 2013

I had known about MYA for quite a long time, but it didn't occur to me to join the program until my brother had joined and until I heard last year that the Symphony Orchestra was doing Mahler's "Titan" Symphony No. 1. First of all, it is my absolute favorite Mahler symphony and it was a thrill for me to think that a youth orchestra would be able to play such music. So I went to hear it and this was a great inspiration for me to want to join and so, this year, I'm finally in MYA, along with several of my good friends from High School and from elsewhere. Thank you MYA!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 10, 2013

MYA creates a wonderful community for the parents as well as for the young musicians. My daughter learned so much musically, had a great time, and found the organization to be very supportive. My daug... more

August 30, 2013

My daughter is now a sophomore in college; looking back, going to MYA is one of our happiest memories. My daughter loved the music; I loved the fact that she was doing something wholesome. We both made some lasting friendships. MYA is for the student who wants to study music as a career and for the person who wants music to be a lifelong hobby. We had great times there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

keep it as it is

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 10, 2013

MYA creates a wonderful community for the parents as well as for the young musicians. My daughter learned so much musically, had a great time, and found the organization to be very supportive. My daughter is in college now and I am still good friends with several of the parents. We owe a lot to MYA and I am so happy we found this fine organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been involved in MYA for more than half my life. In that time, MYA has helped me become the person I am today.

Every part of the organization and the people who run it are wonderful. There are few more committed, expert, or capable groups of professionals anywhere.

The
music is top-quality, as is the music education. And best of all, MYA sees itself as more than a collection of orchestras - it sees itself as a home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger, but not too big.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers