Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
76 Reviews
1234.934215
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
December 27, 2013

more

December 27, 2013

MYA is a really good place for chamber and orchestra ! There's 6 different level orchestras to choose from.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unsure

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 6, 2013

more

December 6, 2013

it's ok. the symphony sometimes plays very well. i like it

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 16, 2013

My daughter was a part of MYA throughout her high school years. Being a part of MYA gave her so much. She went on tour to China and South Korea. She learned what it means to be an artist. She played... more

October 16, 2013

MYA is a great organization especially as music in the public schools is being cut. The organization helped my daughter become a serious musician and a great collaborator in a large group (Symphony) and a smaller group (chamber). MYA has an upbeat feel and Allan and Karen Dennis are the best for organizing events and activities that promote fun while still demanding kids to reach for the stars and do their very best. MYA promotes long term relationships and learning and helps high schoolers decide on college choices.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it locate closer tomy home. MYA also needs to expand their physical facilities since there is such high demand for their services.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 16, 2013

My daughter was a part of MYA throughout her high school years. Being a part of MYA gave her so much. She went on tour to China and South Korea. She learned what it means to be an artist. She played concerts in Chicago's Orchestra Hall and on the Lyric Opera stage. She made so many life long friends. MYA is the best Youth Orchestra in the country.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve the performance and rehearsal facilities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

MYA is one of the most unique and extraordinary arts organizations for young people certainly in the Chicago area and maybe in the world. It provides an experience for a young musician that is so high quality it is hard to describe. It is educational and disciplined yet warm and welcoming full of friendships that last a lifetime. The orchestra produces music at the highest level in venues that even most professional musicians would envy like The Lyric Opera House and Symphony Hall. The group tours and presents concerts around the world. My daughter went to China and South Korea with MYA.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2013

more

August 30, 2013

I had known about MYA for quite a long time, but it didn't occur to me to join the program until my brother had joined and until I heard last year that the Symphony Orchestra was doing Mahler's "Titan" Symphony No. 1. First of all, it is my absolute favorite Mahler symphony and it was a thrill for me to think that a youth orchestra would be able to play such music. So I went to hear it and this was a great inspiration for me to want to join and so, this year, I'm finally in MYA, along with several of my good friends from High School and from elsewhere. Thank you MYA!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 10, 2013

MYA creates a wonderful community for the parents as well as for the young musicians. My daughter learned so much musically, had a great time, and found the organization to be very supportive. My daug... more

August 30, 2013

My daughter is now a sophomore in college; looking back, going to MYA is one of our happiest memories. My daughter loved the music; I loved the fact that she was doing something wholesome. We both made some lasting friendships. MYA is for the student who wants to study music as a career and for the person who wants music to be a lifelong hobby. We had great times there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

keep it as it is

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 10, 2013

MYA creates a wonderful community for the parents as well as for the young musicians. My daughter learned so much musically, had a great time, and found the organization to be very supportive. My daughter is in college now and I am still good friends with several of the parents. We owe a lot to MYA and I am so happy we found this fine organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been involved in MYA for more than half my life. In that time, MYA has helped me become the person I am today.

Every part of the organization and the people who run it are wonderful. There are few more committed, expert, or capable groups of professionals anywhere.

The
music is top-quality, as is the music education. And best of all, MYA sees itself as more than a collection of orchestras - it sees itself as a home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger, but not too big.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 25, 2013

more

May 25, 2013

I was a part of MYA for seven years. Six years later I can still say it was one of the greatest opportunities I have had. It taught me discipline, dedication and an appreciation and love for performing and listening to classical music that will last me a lifetime.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

January 7, 2013

more

January 7, 2013

As a graduate of MYA after six years, I notice the influence of the social and musical enrichment that MYA provides each day. MYA provides so many opportunities for young musicians, from jazz to chamber music, along with qualified coaches. Undoubtedly, MYA has been the greatest influence in my life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

Thinking back on my childhood, my best memories were made at MYA. It is where I met life-long friends who I cherish to this day. Learning the repertoire we did at such a high level is an unparalleled experience to anywhere else I have come into contact with in my time as a young professional. I can honestly say this was a place where I could look forward to learning in a safe, warm, loving environment that nurtured me as a whole person and a as a musician. MYA gave me my first job in my field. Through it I got tons of practical work experience that gave me confidence as a young professional and carry me through my line of work. Life lessons cultivated through my time there have helped me beyond measure. To know I am part of the MYA family is an honor. MYA is the absolute best!!!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

There is not a day that goes by that I am not reminded of the awesome influence MYA had on my life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move it to be closer to where I am now!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

My parents found it when I was a child and encouraged me to become actively involved around the age of 8. I'm so glad they did.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

I learned how to be a musician, teacher, friend and professional through my time there.

October 18, 2012

more


1 previous review
January 21, 2011

Our children have been involved in the orchestras, music theory and chamber music program for many years. Absolutely top notch in every way. The highest quality instruction in the most nurturing env... more

October 18, 2012

Our children's love of music has been nurtured in this amazing place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 21, 2011

Our children have been involved in the orchestras, music theory and chamber music program for many years. Absolutely top notch in every way. The highest quality instruction in the most nurturing environment. Our children never ever want to miss a rehearsal, even for a vacation. All of the faculty are highly talented musicians. The staff is completely dedicated. But what is most amazing is the way they wrap their arms around these young musicians, get them to work hard and achieve their very best, without the stressful competition you might expect. It is an amazing place.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Results! Wow! Just listening at a concert. But also, I have had the opportunity to see the gift of MYA given to a foreign exchange student from China who was given a scholarship at MYA for her year in America. She had never been in an orchestra. It was wonderful to see her joy in her experience with MYA. She was given a gift that was truly priceless, and she hopes someday to share her gift with others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't want it to change a bit. It is perfect. Unless of course you could somehow bottle the magic that is here and offer it to all the kids everywhere who want to have music in their lives.

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers