Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
76 Reviews
1234.934215
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 18, 2013

more

August 18, 2013

Hello, I play piano in the Jazz Program at MYA, and I have had a great time since I started here just over 3 years ago. The directors are great, and I have learned a lot. Right now I am in the top band in my high school and I could not have made it here without playing with MYA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change the location. A lot of people seem to agree that Fort Sheridan, while nice, is a long drive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 28, 2012

Our daughter has been involved with MYA for six years, and it has been the best experience of her childhood. Dr. Dennis creates a highly supportive and cooperative environment through positive reinfor... more

July 11, 2013

My daughter just finished her seventh year with MYA. She loved every minute of it, and I'm convinced that it helped her to get a music scholarship in college. But the most important part was the sense of community and cooperation that exists there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2012

Our daughter has been involved with MYA for six years, and it has been the best experience of her childhood. Dr. Dennis creates a highly supportive and cooperative environment through positive reinforcement. It is truly a special place, and I could not recommend an organization more highly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

I've been part of the MYA community for the past 7 years. My oldest son started playing in one of their orchestras 7 years ago, and his brother began last year. It is a truly amazing place, where learning, community, and above all, music are nurtured in young people. Saturdays are orchestra rehearsal days, and they have been my sons' favorite day of the week since they began playing there. There is a place where everyone can feel comfortable, and while excellence is valued, and the standards are very high, it is an inclusive, non-elitist place. High standards apply equally to how you treat others, as well as how you play your instrument. In addition to all the great qualities of community and character building, MYA offers unparalleled musical opportunities - master classes with renowned musicians, orchestra performances in world-class venues, weekly coaching for chamber music, as well as orchestra, opportunities to connect with both peers and mentors every single week. It's a musical home away from home!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

MYA offers such a wonderful musical opportunity for children in this area. It is always so much fun and such a satisfying experience when I volunteer- its like being part of a family of like minded individuals - from the director to the instructors to the children - all dedicated to one goal - learning and spreading the joy of music!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 7, 2013

more

January 7, 2013

Every time I volunteer for Midwest Young Artists it makes me feel like Snoopy when he's doing the happy dance!!! Being able to give my time to an organization that ALWAYS puts their students first has been so rewarding for me.

We are so blessed to have such outstanding teachers/mentors
in the MYA faculty and staff (and alumni!) for our young musicians!!! Our daughter has been a member of their Orchestra program since the beginning of 6th grade and upon graduation from High School this year, can't wait to begin her undergrad in music performance. MYA has giving her the tools and confidence to take her to this next stage of her life and I couldn't bee more proud of her.

I will continue to voluneer even after she has graduated. YES, they are that good!



More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

MYA is not only the reason I was able to qualify for a scholarship to college, but a huge part of why I was able to get in the first place. If it wasn't for the 1st class musical education I received there, my playing ability wouldn't have been anywhere near impressive enough to qualify for a scholarship. If it wasn't for the 1st class mentoring and personal attention I received I would never have matured enough to be successful as an undergraduate. This is by far the best K-12 private music school in the Midwest, and maybe the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

Their is no finer organization for any age youth. We drove 4 hours each way every Saturday for 10 years to expose our two daughters to MYA and had no regrets. The faculty is outstanding truly caring. Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

October 13, 2012

more

October 13, 2012

It is just a great organization that help young students grow and experience music!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

Midwest Young Artists offers incredible opportunities for your advanced music students to explore everything they can about making music. We are truly blessed to have MYA so close by. Don't miss an opportunity to expose your child to this fantastic organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

Midwest Young Artists provide so much for the community in terms of personal development and increased classical music access for not only local young people but also for entire families. My experiences at MYA have greatly impacted my life and will forever stay with me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers