Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
86 Reviews
1234.941865
Write A Review
May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Midwest Young Artists provides an amazing musical experience for young people who live in the Chicago area. My children love spending their weekends at the MYA center in Highwood, IL in orchestra rehearsals and chamber music sessions with amazing teachers who really care. They have learned so much, and they have developed lifelong friendships with other children and mentors who share their love of music.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

MYA made me who I am. It builds the character of all it's music students, molding them from young children to responsible adults. MYA makes this world a more beautiful place by educating it's students in every way so they can make a positive impact on everything they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Our 3 children attended this program from very humble beginnings, including a rented rehearsal space. Our 2 boys traveled to foreign lands and learned so much more than music! We continue to enjoy the varied programs offered, the wonderful concerts and the casual nights at the fort. The kids who attend this program are talented and committed to excellence, not a bad start in life!!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The structure and opportunities given to my children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to provide their own performing venue instead of having to rent space.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Word of mouth back in the '90's.

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Midwest Young Artists is one of the most incredible, life changing programs out there. I met some of my best friends, some of my most inspiring teachers, and some of my most motivating peers in this organization. When I joined, I thought that a serious young musicians' orchestra would be a fun and eye-opening experience. As a graduating high school senior, MYA has come to mean family, love, and community. I now realize that music is essential to my very being, and cannot imagine doing anything else more rewarding in life than sharing my newfound passion for music with the world. Thank you so much, MYA, for opening the right door to my future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

MYA made a real difference in the life of our daughter. During her time in MYA, she grew as a musician and matured as a person. Everything MYA does, it does as well as or better than anybody else.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I had the lucky experience to participate for two years and it was a phenomenal experience! The caliber of musicians in MYA is staggering and I am blessed to be around some of the best musicians in the country. Dr. Dennis is doing a fantastic job of making MYA not just a stellar music institution, but also a warm, nurturing atmosphere that always makes Saturdays my favorite day of the week. I've participated in many youth orchestras but MYA is definitely the most talented and has a very unique family-like atmosphere. Literature like Ein Heldenleben, Scheherazade, Prokofiev Symphony 5, Bartok Concerto for Orchestra, and working with world class Chicago Symphony Orchestra musicians is amazing!!! MYA will always be in my heart!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Our high school aged daughter aspires to be a professional musician. When we moved to the Chicago area 2 years ago, we looked for opportunities to promote her growth as a musician and found Midwest Young Artists. We couldn't have found a better youth orchestra. Like all youth orchestras, it strives to provide it's members with the opportunity to play advanced symphonic literature and to be challenged by playing alongside other musicians who strive to be the best they can be. What makes it special is the degree of respect and caring exhibited by all the adults charged with teaching these young musicians. It is an environment of constructive teaching, not only of musicianship, but of citizenship. We could not be more pleased.....bravo MYA!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

MYA shapes both future musical artists and future audiences by fostering a love and appreciation for all types of music in a supportive, well-administered, nurturing, yet professional environment. Our son is now pursuing a career as a professional musician. This would likely not have happened without his experience at Midwest Young Artists.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my son's musical growth

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add more scholarships for underprivileged youth

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

none - it was great

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

met new people

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

like I had a small part in helping a great organization

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

I joined MYA back in 2003 when I was a freshman in high school. My first rehearsal in the symphony orchestra was a disaster, not being able to play on the same level as my peers around me. Declaring to my parents my intention to quit, they took me to speak with Dr. Dennis, the director, in person. He encouraged me to stay, telling me that he wouldn't have accepted my audition into the orchestra had he thought I wouldn't be able to handle it. His encouragement didn't fully convince me, but I decided to stay. The next four years rushed by me. I had a great network of friends that I've made through MYA, along with a formidable professional network with the staff of MYA who all were very accomplished musicians themselves. Through MYA I had the opportunity to encounter different cultures abroad in Spain and Portugal, to discover great classical music, to perform along with world-class musicians such as Pepe Romero and Leonard Slatkin IN world-class venues such as Symphony Center in Chicago, among so many other things. I still keep in contact with Dr. Dennis among other MYA staff. The passion, love, time, and energy they put into this organization and its students cannot be measured. Even now as I begin to pursue music as my career, switching from medicine, I know I have the full support of MYA, its staff, my peers from MYA, and its wonderful director Dr. Dennis.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

February 12, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 12, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I was a member of the Midwest Young Artists Symphony Orchestra and chamber music programs for 4 years from '98-2002. Simply put, this organization provides the finest and most comprehensive music education available for pre-college students.

In addition to seemingly limitless musical
opportunities (world travel, celebrity masterclasses taught by current CSO musicians, etc) MYA offers students a place to hang out and be themselves.

Everyone can be comfortable in their own skin at the home-like MYA center. There is no judgement, and the prevailing attitude is that of tolerance and understanding. There is no need for anti-bullying talks, because there are no bullies at MYA.

Having performed in an Illinois State University Symphony Orchestra in college, I can certify that the level of instruction at MYA meets and generally exceeds that of the MYA orchestra program. The best preparation for college and conservatory level coursework is practice, proper nutrition and Midwest Young Artists.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Preparing me for University level music performance

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the space and find a way to have an MYA concert hall.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers