Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
1234.939025
| 1 2 3 4...8 |
Write A Review
January 7, 2013

more

January 7, 2013

I was first introduced to MYA in 1999 when I brought my first chamber ensemble from Columbus, Ohio to the Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition. I was so impressed by the MYA student support in the audience to those performing on the stage. They cheered each other and genuinely showed care and respect for each ensemble. Over the years, our friendship grew at each Fischoff competition with the students from MYA, as well as from all over the USA, competing in this prestigious competition and then at the Discover National Chamber Music Competition. What a wonderful event MYA has created to support young artists enjoying the process of making chamber music together! The past few years, over 60 students, friends, and family from CMC (Chamber Music Connection) have traveled to the Chicago area to participate or observe this marvelous event hosted by MYA. Approximately three years ago, I was invited to teach at the MYA Chamber Music Summer Institute. They greet the artists, the students, and the staff with open arms showing great respect and gratitude for each musical milestone accomplished. The MYA organization is a model for other nonprofits to look up to and to learn from. Bravo MYA! Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

MYA is a fantastic organization that provides training and encouragement to musicians on a much higher level than is available at any school.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

MYA is not only the reason I was able to qualify for a scholarship to college, but a huge part of why I was able to get in the first place. If it wasn't for the 1st class musical education I received there, my playing ability wouldn't have been anywhere near impressive enough to qualify for a scholarship. If it wasn't for the 1st class mentoring and personal attention I received I would never have matured enough to be successful as an undergraduate. This is by far the best K-12 private music school in the Midwest, and maybe the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I have been involved with MYA since it's beginning 20 years ago. MYA has continued to improve and provide a great learning experience for all involved. The education the students get is top notch.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

Their is no finer organization for any age youth. We drove 4 hours each way every Saturday for 10 years to expose our two daughters to MYA and had no regrets. The faculty is outstanding truly caring. Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

Thinking back on my childhood, my best memories were made at MYA. It is where I met life-long friends who I cherish to this day. Learning the repertoire we did at such a high level is an unparalleled experience to anywhere else I have come into contact with in my time as a young professional. I can honestly say this was a place where I could look forward to learning in a safe, warm, loving environment that nurtured me as a whole person and a as a musician. MYA gave me my first job in my field. Through it I got tons of practical work experience that gave me confidence as a young professional and carry me through my line of work. Life lessons cultivated through my time there have helped me beyond measure. To know I am part of the MYA family is an honor. MYA is the absolute best!!!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

There is not a day that goes by that I am not reminded of the awesome influence MYA had on my life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move it to be closer to where I am now!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

My parents found it when I was a child and encouraged me to become actively involved around the age of 8. I'm so glad they did.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

I learned how to be a musician, teacher, friend and professional through my time there.

October 18, 2012

more


1 previous review
January 21, 2011

Our children have been involved in the orchestras, music theory and chamber music program for many years. Absolutely top notch in every way. The highest quality instruction in the most nurturing env... more

October 18, 2012

Our children's love of music has been nurtured in this amazing place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 21, 2011

Our children have been involved in the orchestras, music theory and chamber music program for many years. Absolutely top notch in every way. The highest quality instruction in the most nurturing environment. Our children never ever want to miss a rehearsal, even for a vacation. All of the faculty are highly talented musicians. The staff is completely dedicated. But what is most amazing is the way they wrap their arms around these young musicians, get them to work hard and achieve their very best, without the stressful competition you might expect. It is an amazing place.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Results! Wow! Just listening at a concert. But also, I have had the opportunity to see the gift of MYA given to a foreign exchange student from China who was given a scholarship at MYA for her year in America. She had never been in an orchestra. It was wonderful to see her joy in her experience with MYA. She was given a gift that was truly priceless, and she hopes someday to share her gift with others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't want it to change a bit. It is perfect. Unless of course you could somehow bottle the magic that is here and offer it to all the kids everywhere who want to have music in their lives.

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

My daughter joined Midwest Young Artists when she was eight years old and stayed until she finished high school. Midwest Young Artists was where she was motivated to be a musician, where her friends were and where she always felt at home. I am so grateful that Midwest Young Artists was there for her during the difficult middle school years and during the happy successful high school years.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

From a Millenium Park concert with the Lang-Lang scholars, to a CPS school tour of “Peter and the Wolf,” I can say without question that Midwest Young Artists has been the most significant musical experience of my life. Starting as a clueless 8th grader, I played some of the great symphonies, participated in chamber groups, and was introduced into the expansive world of music theory. By creating opportunities for improving musically, growing socially, and giving back, MYA has allowed me to begin to reach my own true potential. In music, you can’t cut corners. I have been shown not only how to cue and play in tune, but how to work and be successful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

This organization inspires young people to be and do their best. MYA is a home where music students can reach far beyond their comfort zone and feel like they have a safety net. Continually striving for excellence in music performance, students support each other in the attempt.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers