Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
86 Reviews
1234.941865
| 1 2 3 4...8 |
Write A Review
April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

I've been part of the MYA community for the past 7 years. My oldest son started playing in one of their orchestras 7 years ago, and his brother began last year. It is a truly amazing place, where learning, community, and above all, music are nurtured in young people. Saturdays are orchestra rehearsal days, and they have been my sons' favorite day of the week since they began playing there. There is a place where everyone can feel comfortable, and while excellence is valued, and the standards are very high, it is an inclusive, non-elitist place. High standards apply equally to how you treat others, as well as how you play your instrument. In addition to all the great qualities of community and character building, MYA offers unparalleled musical opportunities - master classes with renowned musicians, orchestra performances in world-class venues, weekly coaching for chamber music, as well as orchestra, opportunities to connect with both peers and mentors every single week. It's a musical home away from home!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

MYA offers such a wonderful musical opportunity for children in this area. It is always so much fun and such a satisfying experience when I volunteer- its like being part of a family of like minded individuals - from the director to the instructors to the children - all dedicated to one goal - learning and spreading the joy of music!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 7, 2013

more

January 7, 2013

Every time I volunteer for Midwest Young Artists it makes me feel like Snoopy when he's doing the happy dance!!! Being able to give my time to an organization that ALWAYS puts their students first has been so rewarding for me.

We are so blessed to have such outstanding teachers/mentors
in the MYA faculty and staff (and alumni!) for our young musicians!!! Our daughter has been a member of their Orchestra program since the beginning of 6th grade and upon graduation from High School this year, can't wait to begin her undergrad in music performance. MYA has giving her the tools and confidence to take her to this next stage of her life and I couldn't bee more proud of her.

I will continue to voluneer even after she has graduated. YES, they are that good!



More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 7, 2013

more

January 7, 2013

As a graduate of MYA after six years, I notice the influence of the social and musical enrichment that MYA provides each day. MYA provides so many opportunities for young musicians, from jazz to chamber music, along with qualified coaches. Undoubtedly, MYA has been the greatest influence in my life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 7, 2013

more

January 7, 2013

I was first introduced to MYA in 1999 when I brought my first chamber ensemble from Columbus, Ohio to the Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition. I was so impressed by the MYA student support in the audience to those performing on the stage. They cheered each other and genuinely showed care and respect for each ensemble. Over the years, our friendship grew at each Fischoff competition with the students from MYA, as well as from all over the USA, competing in this prestigious competition and then at the Discover National Chamber Music Competition. What a wonderful event MYA has created to support young artists enjoying the process of making chamber music together! The past few years, over 60 students, friends, and family from CMC (Chamber Music Connection) have traveled to the Chicago area to participate or observe this marvelous event hosted by MYA. Approximately three years ago, I was invited to teach at the MYA Chamber Music Summer Institute. They greet the artists, the students, and the staff with open arms showing great respect and gratitude for each musical milestone accomplished. The MYA organization is a model for other nonprofits to look up to and to learn from. Bravo MYA! Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

MYA is a fantastic organization that provides training and encouragement to musicians on a much higher level than is available at any school.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

MYA is not only the reason I was able to qualify for a scholarship to college, but a huge part of why I was able to get in the first place. If it wasn't for the 1st class musical education I received there, my playing ability wouldn't have been anywhere near impressive enough to qualify for a scholarship. If it wasn't for the 1st class mentoring and personal attention I received I would never have matured enough to be successful as an undergraduate. This is by far the best K-12 private music school in the Midwest, and maybe the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I have been involved with MYA since it's beginning 20 years ago. MYA has continued to improve and provide a great learning experience for all involved. The education the students get is top notch.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

Their is no finer organization for any age youth. We drove 4 hours each way every Saturday for 10 years to expose our two daughters to MYA and had no regrets. The faculty is outstanding truly caring. Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

Thinking back on my childhood, my best memories were made at MYA. It is where I met life-long friends who I cherish to this day. Learning the repertoire we did at such a high level is an unparalleled experience to anywhere else I have come into contact with in my time as a young professional. I can honestly say this was a place where I could look forward to learning in a safe, warm, loving environment that nurtured me as a whole person and a as a musician. MYA gave me my first job in my field. Through it I got tons of practical work experience that gave me confidence as a young professional and carry me through my line of work. Life lessons cultivated through my time there have helped me beyond measure. To know I am part of the MYA family is an honor. MYA is the absolute best!!!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

There is not a day that goes by that I am not reminded of the awesome influence MYA had on my life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move it to be closer to where I am now!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

My parents found it when I was a child and encouraged me to become actively involved around the age of 8. I'm so glad they did.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

I learned how to be a musician, teacher, friend and professional through my time there.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers