Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
76 Reviews
1234.934215
| 1 2 3 4...7 |
Write A Review
October 18, 2012

more


1 previous review
January 21, 2011

Our children have been involved in the orchestras, music theory and chamber music program for many years. Absolutely top notch in every way. The highest quality instruction in the most nurturing env... more

October 18, 2012

Our children's love of music has been nurtured in this amazing place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 21, 2011

Our children have been involved in the orchestras, music theory and chamber music program for many years. Absolutely top notch in every way. The highest quality instruction in the most nurturing environment. Our children never ever want to miss a rehearsal, even for a vacation. All of the faculty are highly talented musicians. The staff is completely dedicated. But what is most amazing is the way they wrap their arms around these young musicians, get them to work hard and achieve their very best, without the stressful competition you might expect. It is an amazing place.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Results! Wow! Just listening at a concert. But also, I have had the opportunity to see the gift of MYA given to a foreign exchange student from China who was given a scholarship at MYA for her year in America. She had never been in an orchestra. It was wonderful to see her joy in her experience with MYA. She was given a gift that was truly priceless, and she hopes someday to share her gift with others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't want it to change a bit. It is perfect. Unless of course you could somehow bottle the magic that is here and offer it to all the kids everywhere who want to have music in their lives.

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

My daughter joined Midwest Young Artists when she was eight years old and stayed until she finished high school. Midwest Young Artists was where she was motivated to be a musician, where her friends were and where she always felt at home. I am so grateful that Midwest Young Artists was there for her during the difficult middle school years and during the happy successful high school years.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

From a Millenium Park concert with the Lang-Lang scholars, to a CPS school tour of “Peter and the Wolf,” I can say without question that Midwest Young Artists has been the most significant musical experience of my life. Starting as a clueless 8th grader, I played some of the great symphonies, participated in chamber groups, and was introduced into the expansive world of music theory. By creating opportunities for improving musically, growing socially, and giving back, MYA has allowed me to begin to reach my own true potential. In music, you can’t cut corners. I have been shown not only how to cue and play in tune, but how to work and be successful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

This organization inspires young people to be and do their best. MYA is a home where music students can reach far beyond their comfort zone and feel like they have a safety net. Continually striving for excellence in music performance, students support each other in the attempt.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

Midwest Young Artists is a place full of inspiration. It goes above and beyond many organizations whose mission is solely great musicianship (though that is a worthy goal); their mission is to build a home. And in that, they are a pillar for their community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

Midwest Young Artists has been a home away from home, an educational center, and a place where values are demonstrated and taught. Everyone is accepted and nurtured, home school students are treated equally and no one is bullied or made fun of for expressing themselves. It is a cultural oasis for young people and families who wish for a sanctuary. Everyone gets along, no one is excluded. Dare I say utopia? This is more than just a music school. Now that I am graduated, I canstill come back for the alumni concert every year and keep connected with my talented colleagues. A+ for MYA

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

Private teacher

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Learning how to function in an orchestra and chamber group - humility - teamwork - winning and losing with grace -

October 13, 2012

more

October 13, 2012

It is just a great organization that help young students grow and experience music!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

Midwest Young Artists offers incredible opportunities for your advanced music students to explore everything they can about making music. We are truly blessed to have MYA so close by. Don't miss an opportunity to expose your child to this fantastic organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

Without Midwest Young Artists, I would not be the musician and performer that I am today. MYA not only had the quality of excellence for music performance, but also the warmth and love of a family. Each time I went to rehearse at MYA, I felt like I was going home. It is a little pricey, but this organization can be very generous with financial aid and scholarships (MANY competitions are held throughout the year for scholarships). Overall, I highly recommend MYA for any young musician, and I would do it all over again if I could.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 27, 2012

more

August 27, 2012

Without a doubt in my mind, I can say that I would not be where I am today if it weren’t for Midwest Young Artists. I joined MYA when I was in seventh grade playing the violin. In addition to playing in orchestra, I was part of a unique chamber group in which every violinist had to take a rotation on viola. Because of my positive experience learning a new instrument, and the wonderful guidance and support of my chamber coach, I continued to play viola in the MYA Symphony Orchestra. My chamber music experience opened many doors- including that to the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign on a viola scholarship.

The chamber music program at MYA is extraordinary. Every one of my coaches had us look beyond the score. We looked at theory, history, and ultimately what made our piece unique. In addition to classical literature, I had the opportunity to perform the latest hip-hop/rock quartets. This allowed me to explore the wide range of repertoire that is available in chamber music and share it with audiences. Sunday Soirees at MYA allowed my chamber groups to showcase what we had been working on throughout the year. One of my chamber groups performed our hip-hop quartet as part of an MYA outreach program in Chicago. I was so fortunate to be part of an outreach program that could bring music to everyone.

From local performances at some of the greatest venues in the Chicago area, to international tours, I had opportunities of a lifetime with MYA. One trip in particular was the 2005 tour to Spain & Portugal. Hands down, this was one of the best trips of my life. I didn’t know I could see so many places, make that many memories, and perform that many concerts in just three weeks. There is no better way to see the world than to travel and perform with your friends and fellow musicians.

I may have “graduated” from MYA, but I know that the door is always open anytime. Annual alumni concerts, and events allow me to keep in touch with my MYA family throughout the years. The guidance, support, and encouragement I received from Dr. Dennis and the rest of the faculty put me where I am today. I am currently an elementary & middle school orchestra director. I would not be where I am today if it weren’t for my wonderful experience in Midwest Young Artists.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers